Author Topic: 600D Audio Controls?  (Read 142639 times)

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #250 on: August 04, 2012, 04:03:15 PM »
Just working headphone monitoring.   1%'s code is very helpful Thankyou 1%.
I will check more combination for another settings. And will cleanup codes.


miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #251 on: August 05, 2012, 05:53:19 AM »
@scrax
I learned balance things. balance is equal to differential . so I reverted EXT balance input.
I'm not sure PDF p70 relation is need or not.  Need testing.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #252 on: August 05, 2012, 06:38:49 AM »
Good
I've finished merge with your code, and now need to sleep, later will try it more.
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #253 on: August 05, 2012, 02:48:10 PM »
@All
Do you know what is most reasonable USB-3.5pin cable?(MagicLantern supported one)
If you know good item , please let me know the URL.
Suscom is a little expensive for me.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #254 on: August 05, 2012, 05:37:18 PM »
@miyake, take a look at my audio.h, I've added a lot of register setting, and fixed some names and values.

for example analog gain were updated some days ago link
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #255 on: August 05, 2012, 05:50:16 PM »
Checked it. But I think those new items are not used in this time.(some item never used)
never used item is also need a memory. So I think , we need to add CONFIG_600D_AUDIO_OPTIONAL. And I will try to chose those item.
So please make a pull request to me.
(I want to see pull request behavior )
 

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #256 on: August 05, 2012, 05:55:18 PM »
 :-\???
Is "define" entry only for use in compiler???
Don't need memory ? I guess.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #257 on: August 05, 2012, 06:04:33 PM »
Right, I'm adding all I can understand from the datasheet, for now just to have all things ready if needed. When the basic audio set is done we can remove from audio.h all registers not used and put a CONFIG_600D_AUDIO_OPTIONAL for them.

(done pull request)
not sure about this (line 768):
-    "ML_HP_AMP_OUT_CTL",
+   "ML_HP_AMP_OUT",

and if we need definitions for spkr or headphones volume value.

:-\???
Is "define" entry only for use in compiler???
Don't need memory ? I guess.

I think that to, if understood right your question.
All things not defined will be not in the compiled code (so no space filled for nothing)


About the differential mic, is this the same as balanced?
I can't understand well the differences from cold connection, hot or both.
Maybe just a link to more info will be great.
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #258 on: August 05, 2012, 06:39:04 PM »
If a lot of definitions don't need a memory, it's not so bad in this audio.h.
Good work.

Differential mic issue.
I understand from Japanese web site.
So I guess you can google with this word "balanced unbaranced audio differential" on your mother langage.
(Does your mother language English?)

see:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balanced_audio

HOT and COLD described in spec sheet. It's not related in balance issue. IC chip mic port has two(Plus/Minus) port.
Audio guys say + is HOT - is COLD.
So I rename HOT and COLD.  I don't know clearly, that is HOT plug is actually connected INTernal mic.
I can't confirmed yet. So name was changed to HOT/COLD.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #259 on: August 05, 2012, 06:59:49 PM »
I've fixed the merge and pull request, pulling it again.
that ML_HP_AMP_OUT_CTL was your addition, was thinking I removed it, so now it's back.

English is not my mother language too, it's Italian


EDIT: I can't keep monitor on when headphone connected anymore, is it the same for you?
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #260 on: August 05, 2012, 07:29:41 PM »
Ah, I see.
If HP_AMP_OUT only, I can't understand this define has a volume value or control switch. So I added _CTL.

Ciao!

Embeded LCD will black out when we connect RCA-USB.
I was thinking, Special USB cable has some pins disabled. So LCD ON/OFF will not occur.
But I have no Special USB-3.5pin cables.
Is this a my miss-understanding? Someone let me know who is using a  USB-3.5minipin on 550D or 60D or 5D2.

P.S. lost URL, but some YouTube is using USB-RCA audio monitor with HDMI monitor. So basically LCD is black out, I guess.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #261 on: August 05, 2012, 07:44:49 PM »
I'm using the canon cable usb to rca red white and yellow, and it worked with monitor on since this commit:
Revision: 4362
Changeset: 310cba4fa53da76b7376468458267b79b2e651b3 [310cba4fa53d]
Parents: 4361
Date: 04 agosto 2012 05:21:29 GMT+02:00
Branch: unified

save miss

then I did a merge and after that merge don't works anymore.
but I can't figure out why...
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #262 on: August 05, 2012, 07:49:37 PM »
there is something strange, now also some commits that were working don't works anymore for headphone monitor ...

Ok maybe is this one the last one working:
Revision: 4360
Changeset: 2bfc031eddf2967b6c0a06a452041ad578cadff5 [2bfc031eddf2]
Parents: 4357
Date: 04 agosto 2012 04:51:32 GMT+02:00
Branch: unified

add monitoring framework
with the next one "missed framework . solved it/" I can't no more keep camera display on...
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #263 on: August 05, 2012, 08:11:47 PM »
Headphone monitor is working when:
 - headphone is connected(Connected message shown)
 -On/Off toggled.

So If your LCD is displayed. first trigger is not do it.
Then, "microphone_connected" is false. Then, audio monitor is not working.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #264 on: August 05, 2012, 08:15:42 PM »
Headphone monitor is working when:
 - headphone is connected(Connected message shown)
 -On/Off toggled.

So If your LCD is displayed. first trigger is not do it.
Then, "microphone_connected" is false. Then, audio monitor is not working.

can you post me a PM with your autoexec.bin?
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #265 on: August 05, 2012, 08:18:45 PM »
Will read more original codes. I need sleep.
Good night.

P.S. If we finish this audio things. I want to eat delicious pizza and beer with you  ;)

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #266 on: August 05, 2012, 08:21:46 PM »
can you post me a PM with your autoexec.bin?

Sent your gmail check it. But It's same as yours. I guess.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #267 on: August 05, 2012, 09:06:44 PM »
        audio_monitoring_update();
 is what makes it work. but need more work so far..
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #268 on: August 05, 2012, 09:53:20 PM »
partially solved, now it works when changing it on and off, but not when cable is connected, so you have to toggle the option with the screen off...

pushing it
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #269 on: August 06, 2012, 04:59:20 AM »
It would be nice to have headphones working at start-up.  I wonder why that is not working, its going to be important for shoots. I'm testing the functions now. Need a little tuning and some more options but much more usable now.

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #270 on: August 06, 2012, 05:10:40 AM »
@scrax
Quote
audio_monitoring_update();
 is what makes it work. but need more work so far..
My ifdef miss. solved it. it for other cameras.

analog_gain():
MIC_IN_VOL is agree. but mic boost need to discussion.
1: a lot of if need a CPU instruction for comparing the values. switch is only 1 CPU instruction. So changed it.
2: My understanding from spec sheet.
    V2=0 V1=0    0db
    V2=0 V1=1    +9.75db
But your code is


Just understand 2nd issue. (lol It's really mysterious values. Thankyou for your correction.

Quote
solved, now it works

What's point you let me know?

1%:
I think. If headphone not connected. The camera will be mic-in through the Speaker. So I think, that only working on Headphone connected. How do you think?
or Do you know any other problems?

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #271 on: August 06, 2012, 05:13:16 AM »
Yes it's starting to be usable, I have a lot of pops with audio monitoring at start of rec, and also if changing some option like wind filter.

If they are not connected they will not work, maybe calling
        audio_monitoring_update();
in the right place will work
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #272 on: August 06, 2012, 05:18:24 AM »
@scraxMy ifdef miss. solved it. it for other cameras.

analog_gain():
MIC_IN_VOL is agree. but mic boost need to discussion.
1: a lot of if need a CPU instruction for comparing the values. switch is only 1 CPU instruction. So changed it.
2: My understanding from spec sheet.
    V2=0 V1=0    0db
    V2=0 V1=1    +9.75db
But your code is


Just understand 2nd issue. (lol It's really mysterious values. Thankyou for your correction.
 
What's point you let me know?
good miyake, I've added the if because was an easy way for me to show what I was thinking about it, I was about to ask you to make it better , this is a new lesson for me. :)
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

miyake

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #273 on: August 06, 2012, 05:18:42 AM »
1% and scrax;

Sorry for my miss coding. Just understand and solved it now.(LCD black out issue)


MSG added
hmm,  We are now calling audio_monitoring_update(). But LCD is balck out.
Is this a same on your side?

MSG added2
I'm added audio_monitoring_update() when headphone connected. But this function is something wrong on 600D.
How do you think? Is this a timing issue?

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: 600D Audio Controls?
« Reply #274 on: August 06, 2012, 05:23:31 AM »
np, I've had similar problem yesterday  :P
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-