[WONTFIX] TIFF 16 Bit From CMOS 14bit Sensor B&W data

Started by modator, February 02, 2014, 03:21:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

modator

Hello everybody,
I'm new to this form, but I'm searching information and possibility to implement this unique feature:

Supposing I have a canon DSLR compatible with Magic Lantern,  the CMOS is modified with the REMOVAL OF BAYER CFA mask !!
there would be very usefull instead of using external programs to generate a B&W TIFF 16 bit image from the raw data of the sensor without
any color interpolation (without bayer filter array every pixel sees black and white) this feature is interesting also for unmodified cameras..

Now there are many enthusiasts of CFA Bayer scraping / stripping that have done the modification to obtain a monochrome camera, specifically for astro photography or infra red photography i think this feature would help !

let me know Your opinion, best regards,  Domenico.

chmee

You just need a "simple" Converter, rewriting the tif-header, saying its not a bayer-field but a blackwhite-picture. not that complicated.

regards chmee
[size=2]phreekz * blog * twitter[/size]

ItsMeLenny

Get your hands on a cheap point and shoot camera and try scraping it first.

modator

Well, i know the procedure to extract the b&w TIFF from the raw with dcraw and other astronomic software,  and I allready swiped away the bayer CFA from my eos 600d,  the next step Is the integrati on of this with the firmware, if is possibile to save a TIFF from magic lantern it would be very usefull..

The next is to trasform also the rawdata from the debayered CMOS into a standard jpg....

The question is:  it's possibile to do All this operatiion inside the camera by the aid of a Magic Lantern plugin ??

Best regards, Domenico.

dmilligan