Battery life and intervalometer - 50D

Started by arthurdent, May 05, 2014, 11:20:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

arthurdent

Apologies if I have missed a whole load of material on this topic - some of the threads I found were old and inconclusive, also I am new to this! I hope Battery Life isn't a taboo question.

I am using ML v2.3 on a 50d and even following all the rules I am finding unwanted battery drain for stills/standby e.g. I left the camera for a week on a fresh charge, with it in the OFF position on the selector switch, and I took it out and found it only had 1 bar left. Only 3 shots taken on that charge - and no more than 10 seconds of live view, although the card in the camera does NOT yet have ML on it (its a new card, will do soon :-) ). Before ML I have to say I never even bothered with the off switch and mostly left the camera to auto sleep -- and never saw the battery drain noticeably as a result of that.

I don't think this was the premature card removal issue because I always wait for the extra red blink - and perhaps if it was, my battery would have been even more drained (this was after all a week!) ? I was wondering if this is all about the intervalometer features, and whether this can be turned off for example if the only thing i normally use ML for is video. Perhaps such a feature toggle has already been done in a nightly build and I need to get closer to head, as it were since 2.3 looks quite old these days ?

Perhaps I just need ML on all cards.

[ Do the intervalometer features being enabled correspond to the little IR remote symbol on the display by the way ? don't think I saw that before the ML install ]

dmilligan