Author Topic: Problem with DCRAW  (Read 7052 times)

aldy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Problem with DCRAW
« on: January 28, 2014, 11:59:44 PM »
I can't start postprocessing workflow. The message from WinXP:


Luiz Roberto dos Santos

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • be.net/LuizRoberto vimeo.com/luizroberto
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 11:05:22 AM »
aldy, several factors may have influenced so that this problem, is hard to say exactly what it is.
First you are using an outdated OS. Have you tested directly at the command line without this GUI? What is the file you are trying? Perhaps a conversion to dng?
Try something like this, if you do not give, upload the file you're trying to modify, and I maybe try to analyze and see if it's something physical on file, if not, maybe is your OS... try VirtualMachine with Win8.

aldy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 11:35:14 AM »
aldy, several factors may have influenced so that this problem, is hard to say exactly what it is.
First you are using an outdated OS. Have you tested directly at the command line without this GUI? What is the file you are trying? Perhaps a conversion to dng?
Try something like this, if you do not give, upload the file you're trying to modify, and I maybe try to analyze and see if it's something physical on file, if not, maybe is your OS... try VirtualMachine with Win8.

There is no doubt for me, the problem is with DCRAW, may be it is incompatible with my WinXP SP3. I started postprocessing without any GUI. The result is the same. After double-clicking DCRAW the message is the same. DCRAW is not a valid Win32 application.  I have not the same problem with CR2HDR.

Luiz Roberto dos Santos

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • be.net/LuizRoberto vimeo.com/luizroberto
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 02:40:49 PM »
Maybe your compilation of dcRAW is 64bit and you run o OS 32bit? Anyway, try VM with Win8 and you will get the response...

aldy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2014, 05:18:53 PM »
I downloaded cd2hdr.zip from first post of Alex in the Topic: Dual ISO - massive dynamic range improvement:

Postprocessing

- For CR2 files: cr2hdr.c (Windows:cr2hdr.exe). It requires dcraw and (optional) exiftool in your executable path (they are in the zip). Drag and drop the CR2 files over cr2hdr.exe.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7139.0

I changed DCRAW with another dcraw from OriginalDLL.com and received several DNG files. I opened them in IrfanView but the images are very dark.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2014, 03:24:25 AM »
I opened them in IrfanView but the images are very dark.

If you exposed for the highlights, then yes, they will be dark.  The advantage with dual_iso is that the shadows will be clean.

Start tone mapping.

aldy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2014, 10:41:00 AM »
My output Dual ISO files .CR2 are OK, the thumbnails of .DNG, which I see by FastStone, are OK too, but very small. The new problem persists only after converting .DNG to .JPG.

engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2014, 11:01:44 AM »
Quote
the thumbnails of .DNG, which I see by FastStone, are OK too, but very small.

If you mean that when you open the image in Faststone you only get a 1024px image, it's because it's displaying the preview rather than the full image.

aldy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2014, 12:41:25 PM »
If you mean that when you open the image in Faststone you only get a 1024px image, it's because it's displaying the preview rather than the full image.

Yes, the preview is small but OK, not very dark. May be this .DNG is not ordinary .DNG. I can't open it with PS CS3.

engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
Re: Problem with DCRAW
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2014, 07:15:36 PM »
If you want to use bleeding-edge technology like this, you're going to have to be a little more willing to work to overcome any obstacles you encounter. The difference between 32-bit and 64-bit versions of dcraw, the fact that the converted .dngs are dark, and the size of the previews are all really simple things to figure out on your own, especially using the search feature of this forum.

You started this thread partly because you are using an OS from more than a decade ago. Why do you think using CS3 might be a problem?