Author Topic: Canon 1100D / T3  (Read 829481 times)

Arcanemon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #625 on: April 04, 2013, 08:24:59 PM »
I'd checked the file consts.h in the 1100D source code, and in the video section I've seen this:
Code: [Select]
#define VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3 0x70C0C
#define FRAME_ISO (*(uint16_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0x8))
#define FRAME_SHUTTER (*(uint8_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0xa))
#define FRAME_BV (*(uint8_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0xb))
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_TIMER (*(uint16_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0xC)) // not sure

So, as I notice, there is not constant there for the APERTURE. After that I checked the same file but for the 600D. And I found this at the same section:
Code: [Select]
#define VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3 0x70AE8 // notation from g3gg0
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_TIMER (*(uint16_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0xC))
#define FRAME_ISO (*(uint8_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0x8))
#define FRAME_APERTURE (*(uint8_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0x9))
#define FRAME_SHUTTER (*(uint8_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0xa))
#define FRAME_BV ((int)FRAME_SHUTTER + (int)FRAME_APERTURE - (int)FRAME_ISO)

So you can see in the 600D:
#define FRAME_APERTURE (*(uint8_t*)(VIDEO_PARAMETERS_SRC_3+0x9))
 there is a constant for the aperture, could be that the problem?.
Also FRAME_BV is defined different:
#define FRAME_BV ((int)FRAME_SHUTTER + (int)FRAME_APERTURE - (int)FRAME_ISO).


I hope that it has been helpful.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12353
  • Emergencies only
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #626 on: April 04, 2013, 08:51:41 PM »
From these, you can override ISO (as in HDR video) and shutter (via FRAME_SHUTTER_TIMER). Aperture... I couldn't change it from there on my cameras, but it's worth trying on 1100D.

Aperture is changed via exposure override (CONTROL_BV constants). With expo override enabled, ISO and shutter are working?

Other things worth trying:
call("aewb_enableae", 0)
LVAE_MOV_M_CTRL=1

or... just unscrew the lens a bit :P

zagi988

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Personalized text
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #627 on: April 06, 2013, 07:09:24 PM »
Tried the new nightly, ran some test and this is what I got...

CRASH DUMP >> https://www.box.com/s/vg8945cdrjgyru2e8m8t

Also, screenshot still doesn't work.

47Crows

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Peace, love & good happiness stuff.
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #628 on: April 07, 2013, 02:14:15 PM »
Hi good people, long time lurker here. Great job on the firmware!
On behalf of your 6th of April 2013 nightly, I am hereby dumping some crashlogs:

https://mega.co.nz/#!KcchmKIY!Enbsuk0kANdg1Br8MzFTvzN_bEMvvjmyY3QADi9wxJM

This is probably not any news, but the crashes don't actually crash the camera (i.e. nothing freezes), but are mild nuisances, or they probably affect the background jobs. Again, another possibly known fact is that I've always been informed by the firmware that there is not enough memory (for malloc, not space on card), on every nightly since December (which is when I started testing ML).

Same as:
Tried the new nightly, ran some test and this is what I got...

CRASH DUMP >> https://www.box.com/s/vg8945cdrjgyru2e8m8t

Also, screenshot still doesn't work.

Also, this seems to have been reported earlier by a gentleman, movie restart doesn't work. I've tried modifying the 'Powersave in LiveView' settings, under ML and the 'Auto power off', under the normal Canon menu (should they affect the restart in any way), but still no success: the movie ends at ~ 4GB (as it should due to the FAT32 limitations) and if left alone, the mirror flips back and the camera enters stand-by.

Again, though, marvelous job on the firmware, it's been a lot of fun so far, hopefully I'll be able to help out in about 2 years when I'll know enough C.

Peace out!

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the crashlogs are generated ONLY in LiveView in these cases: 1) when I turn on LiveView and 2) when I press the autofocus button (at first it was only the half-shutter, but then I decided to modify its function into AE lock and to autofocus with the former AE lock button).

mikatrash

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #629 on: April 07, 2013, 02:21:29 PM »
Thanks for the reminder about movie restart not working ;)
EOS 5D MkII | EOS 40D | EOS 1100D | EF 24-70 L f/2.8 | EF 50 f/1.8 II

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12353
  • Emergencies only
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #630 on: April 07, 2013, 07:06:57 PM »
For movie restart, one has to check ErrCardForLVApp_handler (or wait_for_lv_err_msg).

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #631 on: April 07, 2013, 07:49:47 PM »
Movie restart fix pushed, wrong stubs found on the 1100D, 650D and EOSM
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

mikatrash

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #632 on: April 07, 2013, 08:16:58 PM »
Nice, thannks. I hope current nightly-builds are stable enough for my basic use :)
EOS 5D MkII | EOS 40D | EOS 1100D | EF 24-70 L f/2.8 | EF 50 f/1.8 II

astonealive

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #633 on: April 08, 2013, 02:27:33 AM »
Hi everyone, I'm testing the lastest nighty build on 1100d , 07 april 2013,  the fonts are better than the "non nightly" version, and the user interface is more clear, and pratical, but I have a problem and a question:

The problem is:
It always crashes on liveview. The functions that works are the intervalometer and the bracketing, but everytime I launch liveview it crashes.
Screenshots doesn't work and get the camera mad, need to restart.

The question is:
Will it be an Audio Shoot trigger like is written in the manual?
I will find it very useful

I'm a student of New Tecnologies for Arts and I very appreciate your project! Keep on! my 1100d needs to "unleash the beast" :)
All the Best

astonealive
Canon Eos 1100d

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #634 on: April 08, 2013, 07:32:04 AM »
Do you have logs on the card?
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

47Crows

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Peace, love & good happiness stuff.
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #635 on: April 09, 2013, 07:24:46 PM »
Hi, I'm here to report that the 2013Apr09 nightly does not work when updating.
Here's what happens:

I go to enable the bootflag from the menu, it manages to show the success screen with the green text and when I try to start the camera again, the red LED lights up and stays lit indefinitely, the screen remains black and no button seems to work. Turning off the camera changes nothing, as the LED is still lit, so the only option is to take out the battery and format the card externally.

For some reason, when I first tried the nightly, the camera refused to start even without a card (which is when I panicked), but for some reason the 2nd time worked just well.
I've used both the original Canon battery and a replacement, both fully charged.

No files have been created on the card after the incidents.

tone718

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #636 on: April 11, 2013, 12:51:46 AM »
i had the same problem, luckily i had the last version of the nightly build that i put on my 1100D, on my computer and i put the files back on my card and it works again

astonealive

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #637 on: April 11, 2013, 01:35:08 PM »
Do you have logs on the card?
sure. it's in the spoiler

[spoiler]
[39] AeWb: NULL PTR (0,e1a00000)
pc=ff07dbd4 lr=ff07dbd4 stack=137058+0x4000
entry=ff1ee5d8(9b9680)
e1a00000 e59ff005 e59ff014 e59ff014
e59ff014 e1a00000 e59ff010 e59ff010
[39] AeWb: NULL PTR (0,e1a00000)
pc=ff07dbd4 lr=ff07dbd4 stack=137058+0x4000
entry=Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013Apr07.1100D105
Mercurial changeset   : a70a44f9b6e8+ (unified) tip
Built on 2013-04-07 02:03:38 by nanomad@magiclantern.fm.
Free Memory  : 303K + 364K

[/spoiler]

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #638 on: April 11, 2013, 03:41:52 PM »
Alrite, should be fixed already. Try with tonight's build
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

NNR

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #639 on: April 11, 2013, 06:19:03 PM »
Hi, I'm here to report that the 2013Apr09 nightly does not work when updating.
Here's what happens:

I go to enable the bootflag from the menu, it manages to show the success screen with the green text and when I try to start the camera again, the red LED lights up and stays lit indefinitely, the screen remains black and no button seems to work. Turning off the camera changes nothing, as the LED is still lit, so the only option is to take out the battery and format the card externally.

For some reason, when I first tried the nightly, the camera refused to start even without a card (which is when I panicked), but for some reason the 2nd time worked just well.
I've used both the original Canon battery and a replacement, both fully charged.

No files have been created on the card after the incidents.

It has been the same! I almost died! I format the SD and the problem was solved. I dare you to try other versions in evidence until it is the final version.
Thanks for a great job!
(Sorry for the orthography. Google Traductor)

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #640 on: April 11, 2013, 06:27:57 PM »
I'll investigate the issue, but I suspect it is related to all the NPE we are now catching (bugs in canon code)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Brand Brand

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • ATLANTA
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #641 on: April 14, 2013, 04:47:44 AM »
OK, since my most recent post did not receive a response- on to the next one. This manual aperture control issue in video mode that has been a big topic for T3 owners, is really strange because for me since I own the 50mm prime lens, the exposure override ON option works perfect for me when I want to manually control the aperture when recording with the 50mm in use. The only time exposure override does not manually control the aperture is when I use the 18-55mm II or my other kit lens that is listed below. It seems to be just the kit lenses that seems to not work properly, at least for me.   
Canon EOS Rebel SL1/100D | Canon EOS Rebel T3/1100D | EF 50mm III | EF-S 18-55mm IS II | EF-S 18-55mm IS II/ STM | EF-S 55-250mm IS II | Sima LED Camera Light | Zoom H1

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #642 on: April 14, 2013, 09:52:25 AM »
I can confirm that. It works fine with the other non-kit lenses I have .. ... but they are all primes :P
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Brand Brand

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • ATLANTA
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #643 on: April 14, 2013, 03:35:21 PM »
I can confirm that. It works fine with the other non-kit lenses I have .. ... but they are all primes :P

Yes my friend, confirm indeed. It is peculiar. Is it not?  8)
Canon EOS Rebel SL1/100D | Canon EOS Rebel T3/1100D | EF 50mm III | EF-S 18-55mm IS II | EF-S 18-55mm IS II/ STM | EF-S 55-250mm IS II | Sima LED Camera Light | Zoom H1

snakesanti

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #644 on: April 14, 2013, 08:28:56 PM »
Hi there

Have to report same bug.

Don't know why, a few weeks since last update in my camera, today i've downloaded latest nightly, and my 1100D do not start in any way.

When i close the batt door, red light goes on (with no blinking) and I cant do anything else. Tried with set button, in P mode....no way. I tried also formatting sd card in my pc, then, formatting on camera (starts well without ML), and then reinstalling ML: same problem; red light on, camera dead.

I had to ger off ML and use original firm with card formatted...

Any solution?

Brand Brand

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • ATLANTA
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #645 on: April 14, 2013, 09:31:07 PM »
Hi there

Have to report same bug.

Don't know why, a few weeks since last update in my camera, today i've downloaded latest nightly, and my 1100D do not start in any way.

When i close the batt door, red light goes on (with no blinking) and I cant do anything else. Tried with set button, in P mode....no way. I tried also formatting sd card in my pc, then, formatting on camera (starts well without ML), and then reinstalling ML: same problem; red light on, camera dead.

I had to ger off ML and use original firm with card formatted...

Any solution?

The latest nightly build that works for me without any obvious incident (other than exposure override option not working with my kit lenses) is the March 31st nightly build. Other than that all of the April nightly builds give me the same experience you have had  8)
Canon EOS Rebel SL1/100D | Canon EOS Rebel T3/1100D | EF 50mm III | EF-S 18-55mm IS II | EF-S 18-55mm IS II/ STM | EF-S 55-250mm IS II | Sima LED Camera Light | Zoom H1

47Crows

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Peace, love & good happiness stuff.
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #646 on: April 15, 2013, 08:19:50 AM »
Quote
The latest nightly build that works [...] is the March 31st nightly build.

Maybe somebody did an April's Fools joke and forgot about it? ;D

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #647 on: April 15, 2013, 10:48:59 AM »
That's actually a very valuable information. I can bisect and hopefully find the offending code
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

FluidMovementMovies

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #648 on: April 16, 2013, 10:49:46 PM »
Hi!!

I've got a problem:
When I want to format the card, my camera says: "shoot_malloc error: Retrying" and it beeps. When it beeps 5 or 6 times, it says "Restart your camera (shoot malloc error)
If I format the card, (even choosing keep ML) it deletes Magic Lantern.
Free Memory: 301K + 442K and it says "Not enough free memory"

All in magiclantern-v2.3.NEXT.2013Mar08.60D.550D.600D.50D.500D.5D2.1100D

Thanks!
Canon EOS 70D     |       Canon 18-55 EF f/4-5.6 II      |       Canon 50mm f/1.8 STM    |       Tokina 12-24 f/4           |          Canon 24-105 f/4

47Crows

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Peace, love & good happiness stuff.
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #649 on: April 16, 2013, 10:52:57 PM »
Hi!!

I've got a problem:
When I want to format the card, my camera says: "shoot_malloc error: Retrying" and it beeps. When it beeps 5 or 6 times, it says "Restart your camera (shoot malloc error)
If I format the card, (even choosing keep ML) it deletes Magic Lantern.
Free Memory: 301K + 442K and it says "Not enough free memory"

All in magiclantern-v2.3.NEXT.2013Mar08.60D.550D.600D.50D.500D.5D2.1100D

Thanks!

Same here, for quite a while, I can't pinpoint the version.