Author Topic: Canon 1100D / T3  (Read 1125273 times)

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #200 on: September 19, 2012, 12:37:35 PM »
unfortunately the rc2 is the current state of the art build of ml for our camera. I'm a bit busy with exams right now and i couldn't work on any bug fixes...
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

snobaakp1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #201 on: September 19, 2012, 01:30:43 PM »
wow , you're a student? haha me too, high school :)) anyways i got that bug about video flickering, a very slow one though, i know its not about the shutter speed. this happens rarely though, but can be a problem.

Acpawa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #202 on: September 20, 2012, 09:33:16 PM »
Manual video exposure: Working (...)

Thanks, Nanomad! The thing is that I might get a T3 or a T1i and I wanna know which is better for video with ML, definitely no 1080p is a con for the T3, the T1i has 1080 but then max at 20FPS, I've read somewhere else in the forum that it can't be modified but at least I thought it was possible to tweak the codec to just add 4 more frames to make it 24FPS like with the 600D/60D at 35 FPS or as fast as the latter cameras. Do you think it might be possible in the future? Or nobody's working on it.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #203 on: September 20, 2012, 10:15:54 PM »
I've got no idea, honestly.
But if you are into videos I suggest to save some money and go for the 550D or the 600D instead of the 1100D
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Acpawa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #204 on: September 21, 2012, 12:21:30 AM »
Cool, nanomad, thanks!

gabezermeno

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #205 on: September 21, 2012, 09:21:13 PM »
i would recommend getting a refurbished one from canon. you save a couple hundred bucks

Entracte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #206 on: September 23, 2012, 05:14:40 PM »
I would like to say thank you to nanomad and the other people who made this 1100D ML version possible !

I have a few questions :

I know that the 1100d doesn't have "spot metering" option , is it a functionnality added by Magic lantern ?

Does magic lantern add control of the Bit Rate and in fact what is the maxium reachable on the 1100D with a fast SD card like a Class 10  ?

Thanks a lot and keep up this great work !

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #207 on: September 23, 2012, 06:02:00 PM »
Bitrate control works, but the maximum depends on YOUR card.
Spot metering is missing. I'd love to enable it (I've got a 600D but I couldn't identify it in the firmware) but I'm still fighting with liveview image corruption....
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Entracte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #208 on: September 23, 2012, 07:10:40 PM »
Thank you nanomad  :)
Yes spot metering is a big miss  , if you can do it it will be a major add for the T3  8)

For the Bitrate ok i will test it for myself when my T3 will come .

And what is the problem with the liveview image corruption ?

I forgot to ask if there is a list of all options that work on the 1100d ?

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #209 on: September 23, 2012, 07:42:32 PM »
The beauty of the T3 is that everything, except audio controls, is working.
The "liveview corruptions" happens when you have zebras (of focus peaking) enabled and you take a shot. After that the image needs to be cleaned up (e.g. by pressing display)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #210 on: September 23, 2012, 07:49:48 PM »
Can you check the value of DLG_SIGNATURE? (print it with a NotifyBox from zebra.c where it's referenced).

Entracte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #211 on: September 23, 2012, 07:53:35 PM »
The beauty of the T3 is that everything, except audio controls, is working.

Sounds good ! but so spot metering is another thing that doesn't work , right ?

The "liveview corruptions" happens when you have zebras (of focus peaking) enabled and you take a shot. After that the image needs to be cleaned up (e.g. by pressing display)

Thanks for your answer and your great work  :)

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #212 on: September 24, 2012, 01:13:36 AM »
Dumping it here since it may come handy later on...
Code: [Select]

Dry> memmap
== ITCM ==
00000000 : DRY_VECTOR_ADDR
000004b0 : DRY_HANDLER_ADDR
           0x00000214(532)
000006c4 : DRY_HANDLER_END_ADDR
000006c4 : DRY_IRQ_STACK_START
000006c4 : DRY_RESET_STACK_START
           0x0000093c(2364)
00001000 : DRY_IRQ_STACK
00001000 : DRY_RESET_STACK
00001000 : ITCM_END_ADDR

== DTCM ==
400006F8 : DRY_VECTOR_FUNC
           0x00000400(1024)
40000AF8 : DRY_VECTOR_ARG
           0x00000400(1024)
40001000 : DTCM_END_ADDR

== ROM  ==
FF810000 : text start
           0x004106d4(4261588)
FF6DF858 : romdata start
           0x00014BD0(84944)
FF6F4428 : romdata end

== DRAM ==
00001900 : data start
           0x00014BD0(84944)
000164D0 : bss start
           0x00067FA4(425892)
0007E474 : heap start
           0x000854E4(546020)
00103958 : DRY_HEAP_END
00103958 : DRY_SYS_OBJS_START
           0x000072A8(29352)
0010AC00 : DRY_SYS_MEM_START
           0x00104000(1064960)
0020EC00 : DRY_ERREX_STACK_START
           0x00000400(1024)
0020F000 : DRY_ERREX_STACK
0020F000 : DRY_EXCEP_STACK_START
           0x00001000(4096)
00210000 : DRY_EXCEP_STACK
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #213 on: September 25, 2012, 03:13:40 PM »
Uhm even after fixing the DLG_ the screen is kinda trashed. To me it looks like it's writing in the wrong vram buffer.
It happens with peaking but not zebras btw
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #214 on: September 25, 2012, 03:18:34 PM »
Can you post some screenshots?

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 2 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #215 on: September 25, 2012, 03:23:35 PM »
No need to, I've fixed it :P
Just used the 5D3 way of getting the HD buffers and it works like a charm

That method is so clean we should use it as a default IMHO
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #216 on: September 25, 2012, 04:02:34 PM »
RC3 is OUT
http://nanomad.magiclantern.fm/1100D/magiclantern-v2.3.1100D.RC3.zip

What's new:
- Quite a lot of stuff that comes from bleeding edge ML code
- Fixed live view corruption
- Enabled compiler optimizations

Since this build has optimizations enabled I'd like you to test it properly and report any bugs, even the most insignificant ones.

About bit-rate: I've noticed that the 1100D buffers struggles to keep up with modest BR with audio on so I suggest you use an external source
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

kaine

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #217 on: September 25, 2012, 06:55:31 PM »
hello,
I have canon eos1100d and i'm trying to install this RC3, but somehow when I try to update my firmware it shows me black screen and I have to remove the battery to restart. And I can't go any further. What could be the problem? Thank you

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #218 on: September 25, 2012, 07:14:57 PM »
Uhm, that's a first  :o
What firmware do you have on your camera? You need to update to canon's 1.0.5 first then use the "ML updater"
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

wave

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #219 on: September 25, 2012, 07:36:17 PM »
Nanomad for now is much better all about display problems

Grzld

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #220 on: September 26, 2012, 12:19:34 AM »
Ok, I've found 2 bugs

When your in live view mode while in a picture taking setting, if you try to change any settings in the magic lantern menu, they won't change and the menu closes.

Set camera to manual mode > click live view button > press av button to go to magic lantern menu > press ok on a setting > menu closes and setting isn't changed.

The second I haven't been able to duplicate reliably yet, but the screen likes to tint colors.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #221 on: September 26, 2012, 01:01:21 AM »
i can't reproduce any of them...
check that all files are not read only and make a video of the issues
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Grzld

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #222 on: September 26, 2012, 02:05:45 AM »
huh thats odd, I formatted my card, copied over all the ml files again from rc3, and made sure the files/folder were not read only, but I still get the glitch.

Heres a video of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=34Ike5gQDJ0

Samueljkang

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #223 on: September 26, 2012, 03:15:38 AM »
If you can mention the potential risks and current features that are working/supposed to be working I will be willing to help test.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3 *** RC 3 Now Available For Download ***
« Reply #224 on: September 26, 2012, 09:42:22 AM »
The only glitch is defishing not working because I forgot to disable it. Everything else should work

About the video: weird, it doesn't do that here. I'll upload a test version without the warning screen...you may have stumbled upon a bug in it
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5