Complete noob, asking help for timelapse astrophotography

Started by Nautilus, January 21, 2014, 11:45:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nautilus

Hey guys,

I'm kind of an semi-experienced video shooter but a beginner in terms of photography. So please bear with me. I have found a very good corner of nature for timelapse videos. No residential areas around and no light pollution! So I would like to know more about timelapse shooting at night sky.

First of all, how can I do it in post production? The camera takes pictures in certain time intervals, yeah i get it. But how can i get these pictures together in Premiere Pro to make a fluid movie? That's the part i don't understand.

Secondly what are the safe values for astrophotography? The highest iso i can set, right exposure settings etc...

Edit: There also people who shoot HDR timelapse. How do you do it?

Is there anything else I should know?
Canon 650D w/18-55 Kit lens | Sigma 30mm f1.4 | CarrySpeed VF-4 Viewfinder | Rode VideoMic Pro | Manfrotto MVH502A Fluid Head + MVT502AM Tripod System

mageye

I am assuming that you will be shooting your images in RAW? You will won't you!

Anyway I don't really know about compiling a time lapse in Premiere Pro (maybe it's possible?) but I personally use After Effects. I think that many people use this method because it allows you to use ACR to change settings in your images as you import them.

It's pretty simple to do once you learn the few steps involved.

I found a little video that covers the process. There may be many more videos for the same task but I think this one just about covers how to do it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mRxyMZfSMqY

Also it's possible to use Quicktime Pro to compile image sequences but it can't handle the RAW files directly so if you converted them from RAW to TIFF or PNG or something then you can easily create a compiled movie file from that.

To be honest the compiling of the sequence is the easy part of time lapse!