Magic Lantern Forum

Magic Lantern Releases => Camera-specific discussion => Topic started by: drivetheone on August 25, 2013, 02:20:06 AM

Title: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: drivetheone on August 25, 2013, 02:20:06 AM
or isn't possible? :(

because i'm deciding about buying a cinecamera professional for Video, Commercial, Events..etc...and so, i've choosen C100 instead of 5DMkIII for both targets that i've to do...

Now, i'm thinking...but it's possible to hack my C100 (or to have slow-mo/422rec)? :)

I hope it.

ps: this is an another special post for Pelican :)
F
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: Walter Schulz on August 25, 2013, 02:58:19 AM
It doesn't need Pelican to kill your hopes. If you do a search on this topic you will find this:
The developers are adamant about keeping their brains of the professional stuff. This includes all Canon EOS 1D cameras and all C-stuff. Period.

And ML is not firmware. It's just a program running on top of Canon's OS.

Ciao, Walter
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: drivetheone on August 25, 2013, 11:50:30 AM
It doesn't need Pelican to kill your hopes. If you do a search on this topic you will find this:
The developers are adamant about keeping their brains of the professional stuff. This includes all Canon EOS 1D cameras and all C-stuff. Period.

And ML is not firmware. It's just a program running on top of Canon's OS.

Ciao, Walter

for respect to products pro? (1D and C team)

are you sure about "Period"? :D

F
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: Walter Schulz on August 25, 2013, 11:51:51 AM
As I said: Do a search, you haven't to believe me.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: drivetheone on August 25, 2013, 07:36:43 PM
As I said: Do a search, you haven't to believe me.

I've done it but I don't find anything about this argument or this thing that you've said.

ps: Anche io sono Italiano :D
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: 1% on August 25, 2013, 07:39:58 PM
1. None of us have a c100/c300

2. Canon will be pissed when C100 becomes a C500.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: Walter Schulz on August 25, 2013, 08:25:58 PM
I've done it but I don't find anything about this argument or this thing that you've said.

Go to forum "New ports" and look for the headlines.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=4050.msg28332#msg28332
Reply 4 from g3gg0.

Ciao, Walter
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: drivetheone on August 26, 2013, 12:21:29 AM
Go to forum "New ports" and look for the headlines.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=4050.msg28332#msg28332
Reply 4 from g3gg0.

Ciao, Walter

okay, strictly "NO" from a member's dev  :-X

Thank you,
Bye.
F
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: zuzukasuma on September 04, 2013, 01:53:59 PM
well, since you haven't looked deep enough on the net, here are some results about touching 1D X will kill magic lantern development forever results.

http://nofilmschool.com/2013/01/canon-legal-team-modify-hack-firmware-1d-x-1d-c/

http://www.eoshd.com/content/9432/1d-x-has-traces-of-1d-c-firmware-but-magic-lantern-will-never-touch-1d-series-as-canon-threatens-potential-hackers-with-legal-trouble

http://petapixel.com/2013/05/31/canon-1d-c-firmware-update-is-service-center-only-has-photogs-wondering/

Canon has to keep some stuff secret. I'm sure 5D Mark III and 1D X have similarities (5D mark III has digic5+, 1D X has 2 of them, 5D mark III already shooting over 2K RAW at a decent speed, 1D X has 2 cpus for that thing.) if & when a1ex or someone else tries to port some of the same codes to 1D series I'm sure canon's legal team already watching this forum to take action against any further development.

I'd love to have a Dual ISO kicker 4K capable RAW camera for $6800 though.

@%1, I'm still laughing for your no.2 comment :D
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: mucher on September 04, 2013, 02:06:47 PM
When C100 becomes C500, all I can imagine is hearing some 4 letter words from Canon...... ;D
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: zuzukasuma on September 04, 2013, 02:13:40 PM
When C100 becomes C500, all I can imagine is hearing some 4 letter words from Canon...... ;D

I think we can ask nicely to Canon for reverse engineering their cameras. but, wait I think 5D Mark III shots better videos than C100 & C300 with Dual ISO and RAW add-on now :))
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: lorinczzoltan on September 09, 2013, 10:22:41 AM
However, if those who want to pay for development C100? even so we can not get a C100 with MagicLantern? :-)

Thanks
Marius
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: Stedda on September 09, 2013, 11:03:36 AM
this is a quote from a DEV... this is not a "maybe" or "usually not", but a strict no. sorry.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: nick.p on September 09, 2013, 01:45:10 PM
Pretty much they don't want to jeopardise their current work for the masses of dslr users just to benefit a few select users and risk legal action.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: feureau on September 09, 2013, 07:54:58 PM
You know, there have been several similar questions regarding the C-series and the 1D series, and ML will not touch then, and explicitly declares so soon after canon officials mentioned they would sic the lawyers on those who tinker with the 1D cameras.

That being said, ML is open source.

I wonder if people who could afford these bodies can, you know, put their money in a pot and hire someone who knows ARM programming to hack away on these cameras.

Just a thought.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: Andy600 on September 09, 2013, 08:17:26 PM
I can't see anyone wanting to risk the much pricier Canon cameras. Pro's have a different mindset. If they need more/better features they just get better gear. Canon would have to be totally onboard and it's clear that's not gonna happen.

Having said that, I'd love to see Magic Lantern make it's way on to Black Magic Cameras. I wonder if BMD might be susceptible to the idea? Grant Petty seems like an open minded chap and champions low budget film makers. Wishfull thinking!?  ::)
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: SDX on September 09, 2013, 08:35:49 PM
There is no maybe or wishful thinking here. Just a NO!

The pro model users are not part of the ML target group, they are expensive to mess around with and we already have quite some work to keep all current EOS models supported.

This applies to BM, C, 1D and the others.
If someone wants hacks for those, it would be a totally new project. And not be called ML nor developed by the same group of devs.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: Chucho on September 09, 2013, 09:45:24 PM
You know, there have been several similar questions regarding the C-series and the 1D series, and ML will not touch then, and explicitly declares so soon after canon officials mentioned they would sic the lawyers on those who tinker with the 1D cameras.

That being said, ML is open source.

I wonder if people who could afford these bodies can, you know, put their money in a pot and hire someone who knows ARM programming to hack away on these cameras.

Just a thought.

C100,C300,C500 don't use arm processor they use m32r processor. You have to rewrite and reverse engineer everything. Take this with a grain of salt but I was told the new 1dc firmware update will update the cipher.bin. *again I was told about the 1dc by someone with a 1dc that's going to send it in for the updated* Personally i don't believe it.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: cpreston on September 10, 2013, 07:58:28 PM
As a C100 owner, I can say that I don't really miss not having Magic Lantern on it.  It's firmware already covers most of the issues that Magic Lantern fixes for DSLR's trying to shoot video.  I am far more interested in having a fully tested and stable release for my 6D and EOS-M, irregardless of the hype around RAW video.  I feel completely at a loss when trying to shoot with a DSLR without Magic Lantern and I don't know how 1D-C and 1D-X users manage.  The only reason I shoot with Canon at this point is due to Magic Lantern and I will never understand why Canon ever made vague threats against the ML team.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: feureau on September 11, 2013, 07:00:24 PM
C100,C300,C500 don't use arm processor they use m32r processor. You have to rewrite and reverse engineer everything. Take this with a grain of salt but I was told the new 1dc firmware will update the cipher.bin.


What's cipher.bin
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: 1% on September 11, 2013, 07:11:13 PM
Probably they are changing the encryption used on the firmware. Let them keep their under performing 1DC.
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: arrinkiiii on September 11, 2013, 07:33:28 PM
Let them keep their under performing 1DC.

Exactly 
Title: Re: [CanonC100] Can you make a ML firmware for C100?
Post by: zuzukasuma on September 11, 2013, 08:44:59 PM
Probably they are changing the encryption used on the firmware. Let them keep their under performing 1DC.

its about time, they're changing it in every 3 years or so.