Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => Raw Video => Topic started by: Andy600 on July 13, 2013, 01:22:15 PM

Title: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: Andy600 on July 13, 2013, 01:22:15 PM
I saw a comment in the Cinema DNG topic that warrants an announcement.

Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 has been released and features improved DNG support

http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/media/5802892/DaVinci_Resolve_Lite_9.1.5_Windows_ReadMe.pdf (http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/media/5802892/DaVinci_Resolve_Lite_9.1.5_Windows_ReadMe.pdf)

I've just tried it and it works with raw files converted to 14bit DNG with Rawanizer (although I'm happy to stick with Chmee's raw2cdng app) :)

Now you can convert for Resolve with any of the raw2dng apps.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: sarotaz on July 13, 2013, 01:47:20 PM
yes it works perfectly. But doesn't remove bad pixel. 60d owners are still stuck to ACR  >:(
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: AnotherDave on July 13, 2013, 01:52:36 PM
Awesome!  I really like the RAW Magic app for OSX, but this is great!

They are clearly open to supporting the hacked DSLRs.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: Chpouky on July 13, 2013, 10:13:29 PM
Is it normal that I got incredibly noisy footage ? I'm shooting in Night Clubs at ISO10 000, and with H264 it is totally usable, but with RAW it looks awful. Bad interpretation of Resolve ? Or is it normal ? ( I use a 5D Mk III )

(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimage.noelshack.com%2Ffichiers%2F2013%2F28%2F1373745562-capture.png&hash=44fc30574b9f531e29ca6e659456cc4b)
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: martareis on July 13, 2013, 10:16:01 PM
Same as Sarotaz... works great but I have lots of bad pixels. The funny thing is with ACR the clip is perfect, free of artifacts or bad pixels/pink dots. Any clue?

Camera used: 60D
Build: ML-RAW-60D-hourly_2013-07-12_13-00
Raw2dng
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: Danne on July 13, 2013, 10:43:20 PM
ACR work with automated stuck/dead pixel removal. It,s baked in...
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: CLS105 on July 14, 2013, 01:58:57 AM
this is my favorite workflow now.
convert .raw's to dng using batchelor (raw2dng)
bring those into resolve and make my editable footage (dnx175x).
This makes things much easier for me.  I am cutting on Avid.
thank you, for all the hard work that has made this quality possible.
WINDOWS 7 - 5d mkIII RAW
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: budafilms on July 14, 2013, 02:31:59 AM
I donĀ“t understand you guys, New Da Vinci WorkFlow works with Raw2DNG?

Or only r PC software?
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: mageye on July 14, 2013, 04:22:23 AM
I just thought that I would mention that if you want to save some disk space you can convert your CinemaDNG sequences (from RAWMagic) back into 'normal' DNG files with Adobe DNG Converter and the sequence (as individual DNG files) will now be compatible with DaVinci Resolve.

I have done this and it has saved a lot of space because Adobe DNG Converter uses non lossy compression.

NOTE: These files will obviously no longer be CinemaDNG files (I have had no apparent problems with this so far).
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: fatpig on July 14, 2013, 12:49:24 PM
@mageye:
this is exactly what BATCHelor does automatically, also a lot faster than standard adobe DNG converter because of automatic multithreading ;) try it. lossy and lossless compression implemented. :)
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: mageye on July 14, 2013, 01:15:07 PM
@ fatpig
Which is fine and fantastic but I am running on the Mac. ;)
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: robmbrown on July 14, 2013, 09:19:44 PM
Anybody find a good way to white balance in Resolve? I'm guessing curves would be better than the color wheels. It's hard to beat Camera Raw for that as it nails it dead on. I'm just saying this because I found some tungsten raw stuff I shot pretty hard to get looking right but ACR got it with one click.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: Mei Lewis on July 14, 2013, 11:03:07 PM
What's the update mechanism for Resolve? I have 9.1.3 but can't find an update menu option.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: togg on July 15, 2013, 12:32:45 AM
What's the update mechanism for Resolve? I have 9.1.3 but can't find an update menu option.

Thanks.

You have to redownload it from their site.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: Mei Lewis on July 15, 2013, 09:35:56 AM
Thanks togg!
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: pavelpp on July 15, 2013, 11:42:36 AM
What's the benefit of using Resolve over Lightroom?
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: sarotaz on July 15, 2013, 12:25:35 PM
What's the benefit of using Resolve over Lightroom?

Resolve is a professional color correction software oriented to video. It has many feature like tracker, power window designed specially to have more control on your project. Lightroom is used for still photo. It works good anyway. However the really difference is in operator and not in the software ;-)
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: eatstoomuchjam on July 15, 2013, 05:33:38 PM
What's the benefit of using Resolve over Lightroom?

Resolve has good GPU support and is able to play back raw footage in real-time even on my older core2quad system since I have a decent graphics card in it.  It also exports a lot faster in my experience than AE or LR. 
Though it's also a lot harder to use than ACR or the LR adjustments.  After poking at it for a few hours, I'm still at caveman level where I was pretty good at LR in about the same amount of time.  I'll probably end up watching some tutorials!
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: Videop on July 15, 2013, 06:16:47 PM
I installed LR5 and Resolve lite this weekend and will try to get the hang of them to see what it gives. Also have raw2dng and Rawmagic installed.

So far my 5d3 raw video looks like crap but I guess it's the Pilot to blame.. :-)

Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: sarotaz on July 15, 2013, 06:17:28 PM
I want share with you this fantastic resource. It is a complete basic tutorials of Resolve (from interface to delivering). Hope this help.

http://ae.tutsplus.com/tutorials/workflow/davinci-resolve-fundamentals-part-1/
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: duncanidaho25 on July 17, 2013, 06:25:40 AM
@sarotaz

wow, what a great resource.  Thanks.  I'm new to Resolve but this is getting me up and running.

Thanks again.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: mdfaisal on July 17, 2013, 09:48:18 AM
Is it normal that I got incredibly noisy footage ? I'm shooting in Night Clubs at ISO10 000, and with H264 it is totally usable, but with RAW it looks awful. Bad interpretation of Resolve ? Or is it normal ? ( I use a 5D Mk III )


same here... really noisy...
still using adobe camera raw to do noise reduction and basic correction, in resolve lite they dont have NR
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: duncanidaho25 on July 18, 2013, 04:27:01 PM
Same here.  I'm struggling with noise.  Are we not exposing correctly?  I'm trying to use ETTR but, I'm not sure I'm using it correctly. 
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: arturochu on July 21, 2013, 05:03:20 AM
First of all 10000 iso is not a good iso to use in raw, you should use 6400 or 12000, and always expose ettr, in resolve or acr lifting up any exposure (low, mids, highs or exp en general) will produce noise.
I dont think iso 6400 is usable in h264, 6400 en raw is ok, but i wouldn't go all the way up to 12000. (5d mark III)
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: LB on July 23, 2013, 04:19:53 AM
First of all 10000 iso is not a good iso to use in raw, you should use 6400 or 12000,

Nah, once you are beyond ISO3200 it is all just direct 1/3 stop pushes from then on up and the whole ISO125, ISO250 stuff doesn't apply any more. (On many bodies it doesn't apply above ISO1600).
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: F.T.I. ARMY on July 23, 2013, 04:54:13 AM


Check out this guys work flow with Davinci. His LUT is nice.

I'm still getting a lot of noise? Any answers?

Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: filmthatsheet on July 24, 2013, 09:23:36 AM
New version of Resolve crashes often on import.  Using the July 11th build on the Mark 2.

Since some files would import fine and other's wouldn't, I did a quick test, and oddly enough with the camera set to the highest 16x9 resolution and with "1880" turned ON, those clips would import fine!  Everything else that was filmed under the same settings, but with "1880" being turned OFF, would freeze resolve, and crash my computer.  Not good..

I film in the highest resolution that I can access on my Mark 2 (in crop mode) and it seems to be hit or miss.

All clips were filmed with FPS override ON, set to 23.976 (EXACT FPS), and I've been converting all of my .RAW files through RawMagic.  ALL clips import into AE CS6 perfectly fine.  WHY?

I don't recall this ever happening before I upgraded, and I don't know what to make of it.  My system is fine.  All of my drives are in good health.  But it's the weirdest thing... Thinking of doing a few more tests with other resolutions. 

Can anyone offer their expertise?
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: sebamax on July 24, 2013, 09:38:38 AM
New version of Resolve crashes often on import.  Using the July 11th build on the Mark 2.

Since some files would import fine and other's wouldn't, I did a quick test, and oddly enough with the camera set to the highest 16x9 resolution and with "1880" turned ON, those clips would import fine!  Everything else that was filmed under the same settings, but with "1880" being turned OFF, would freeze resolve, and crash my computer.  Not good..

I film in the highest resolution that I can access on my Mark 2 (in crop mode) and it seems to be hit or miss.

All clips were filmed with FPS override ON, set to 23.976 (EXACT FPS), and I've been converting all of my .RAW files through RawMagic.  ALL clips import into AE CS6 perfectly fine.  WHY?

I don't recall this ever happening before I upgraded, and I don't know what to make of it.  My system is fine.  All of my drives are in good health.  But it's the weirdest thing... Thinking of doing a few more tests with other resolutions. 

Can anyone offer their expertise?
me too same thing with 5d Mark III - resolve crash when import clips converted with raw2dng 0.13 - in ACR is always ok
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: vikado on July 25, 2013, 09:41:13 AM
white balance question:

under color panel, master settings, does switching "decoding using" from "project" to "clip" and changing the color space to "BMD" properly white balance the footage?

i know about the auto color tool, but it doesn't seem to white balance it properly.
am i doing something wrong?
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: mdfaisal on July 29, 2013, 03:32:24 PM
white balance question:

under color panel, master settings, does switching "decoding using" from "project" to "clip" and changing the color space to "BMD" properly white balance the footage?

i know about the auto color tool, but it doesn't seem to white balance it properly.
am i doing something wrong?

You have to doit manually.
There is no a kelvin color ballance.
Use the rgb parrade and waveform monitor to know what is your video color dominance and try to add or substract the color using color wheel
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: PlayIt on July 29, 2013, 04:34:24 PM
I, also, have  this crashing problem with the new version of resolve, using 5D markII (7-11 build) raw files. I did some tests, here are my first conclusions:

frame size (25FPS)   1880

1856x1004                off
1856x1044                off
1872x1054                off     crash
1880x1058                on
1880x1016                on
1872x1012                off
1856x1114                off     crash
1880x1128                on
1600x900                  off
1600x900                  on
2152x1076                on
2144x1076                off
2048x1076                off

Using Rawmagic 1.0 beta 7b. I will recheck tonight, and test other resolutions.

Hope this helps.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: vikado on July 30, 2013, 01:49:40 AM
You have to doit manually.
There is no a kelvin color ballance.
Use the rgb parrade and waveform monitor to know what is your video color dominance and try to add or substract the color using color wheel

wow, as great as Resolve is, they sure cocked up a couple of key features found in other color grading software.
Title: Re: Davinci Resolve 9.1.5 now works with DNG
Post by: Shasterface on July 30, 2013, 03:57:54 AM
It's right there in clip decoder settings. Temp and Tint, same as any other.