Magic Lantern Forum

Developing Magic Lantern => General Development => Topic started by: escho on May 27, 2013, 07:45:17 PM

Title: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: escho on May 27, 2013, 07:45:17 PM
Hallo

I want to compile magic lantern for my 600d with modules enabled, but my camera seems not to be very happy with my work. Let´s have a closer look to that, what I have done:

I´m working on Linux OpenSuse 12.3. Using ML with the zip-files of 1% runs like a charm. But now I see a little problem, which I would like to test out, changing the source code ( I´m no programmer, but I´m not afraid of doing some simple things...). So I cloned ML to my harddisk

hg clone -r unified https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern

Than I copied makefile.user.default to makefile.user and did some changes in makefile.user. See the part of makefile.user, I´ve changed:

# Build configuration - untested and debug stuff handy for devs
CONFIG_PYMITE       = n
ifndef CONFIG_RELOC
CONFIG_RELOC        = n
endif
CONFIG_TIMECODE     = n
CONFIG_PTP          = n
CONFIG_PTP_CHDK     = n
CONFIG_PTP_ML       = n
ifndef CONFIG_GDB
CONFIG_GDB          = n
endif
CONFIG_GDBSTUB      = n
CONFIG_PLUGINS      = n
ifndef CONFIG_CONSOLE
CONFIG_CONSOLE      = y
endif
CONFIG_DEBUGMSG     = 0
CONFIG_CCACHE       = n
CONFIG_PICOC        = n
CONFIG_TCC          = y
CONFIG_MEMCHECK     = n
CONFIG_MODULES      = y
CONFIG_TINYPY       = n


The next step was a nice make clean, followed by a make 600D. Some warnings appeared, but the autoexec.bin was generated. Now I went to modules/raw_rec and did make clean and make.

I copied autoexec.bin from /platform/600D.102 to ML2.3. Than I created a folder MODULES in ML and copied raw_rec.mo into this folder. Now I took the latest MAGIC.SYM from the zip-file of 1% and copied it into the folder MODULES (didn´t find another MAGIC.SYM...)

I copied this whole stuff to my sd-card. But inserting the card into the 600D makes my camera blinking. three times long, three times short, three times longs, three times short and so on, till I remove the akku. I don´t know, what i´m doing wrong. By the way, compiling this whole stuff without modules enabled works without problems on my camera.

Where is my fault?

Edgar
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: 1% on May 27, 2013, 08:06:41 PM
Bin too big. You need to take more allocate mem (redo boot process)
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: escho on May 27, 2013, 08:33:56 PM
Is this too big?

edgar@linux-dfco:~/magic-lantern/platform/600D.102> du -b autoexec.bin
533712  autoexec.bin


And I can do, what I want, my camera don´t want to boot. She is only blinking.

Edgar
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: deletedAcc.0021 on May 27, 2013, 08:58:58 PM
Quote from: escho on May 27, 2013, 08:33:56 PM
Is this too big?

edgar@linux-dfco:~/magic-lantern/platform/600D.102> du -b autoexec.bin
533712  autoexec.bin


And I can do, what I want, my camera don´t want to boot. She is only blinking.

Edgar


Exact same thing happened to me.  Alex suggested turning off some features in features.h to free up some memory.

I did  not try it, as I'm not really that familiar with coding. 

I'm still trying to figure out why the latest commits would cause this and why its required to turn off features in order for the firmware to load.  Seems like it kinda defeats the purpose.

I didn't try the latest nightly, maybe you could give that a try instead of compiling your own build.

Good luck!
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: 1% on May 27, 2013, 09:03:28 PM
On my repo its not a problem... I have 640K to use.

Default is 512k.. so yes, thats too big.
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: deletedAcc.0021 on May 27, 2013, 09:07:22 PM
Quote from: 1% on May 27, 2013, 09:03:28 PM
On my repo its not a problem... I have 640K to use.

Default is 512k.. so yes, thats too big.

1%, what is the average available memory (checked within ML menus),  I noticed I have quite a bit more available in 2.3 Stable than in 5-18 build.

And what is considered too low?
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: 1% on May 27, 2013, 09:10:48 PM
You have like 2 or 3MB of allocate mem available... you can put a bin in there... the boot process in the repo only limits bins to 512k.

I changed it to take more allocate mem (640K) and use shoot_malloc for the bvram mirror.
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: deletedAcc.0021 on May 27, 2013, 09:13:28 PM
Quote from: 1% on May 27, 2013, 09:10:48 PM
You have like 2 or 3MB of allocate mem available... you can put a bin in there... the boot process in the repo only limits bins to 512k.

I changed it to take more allocate mem (640K) and use shoot_malloc for the bvram mirror.

got it ... thanks
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: escho on May 28, 2013, 08:46:25 PM
Quote from: dslrrookie on May 27, 2013, 08:58:58 PM

I didn't try the latest nightly, maybe you could give that a try instead of compiling your own build.

Good luck!

ThankYou for the tip. But I want to work with raw-rec, which the nightly doesn´t support.

compiling ml ( modules=n): no problem
compiling tl2.0 (modules=y): no problem
compiling ml ( modules=y): autoexec.bin is made, but camera is only blinking.

I ´m compiling on my local drive. So I don´t understand, why .bin bigger than 512k is a problem. I´m on my harddisk, not in a repo.

Edgar
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: scrax on May 28, 2013, 09:53:08 PM
Quote from: escho on May 28, 2013, 08:46:25 PM
ThankYou for the tip. But I want to work with raw-rec, which the nightly doesn´t support.

compiling ml ( modules=n): no problem
compiling tl2.0 (modules=y): no problem
compiling ml ( modules=y): autoexec.bin is made, but camera is only blinking.

I ´m compiling on my local drive. So I don´t understand, why .bin bigger than 512k is a problem. I´m on my harddisk, not in a repo.

Edgar
All is working good, compilation went fine and ML is working but since it has a check for not loading if the file is too big you will get the blinking warning.
TL2 has not the 512 limit, what you cloned from the repo has the limit so ML will refuse to load because is too big with also module compiled,
I have the same problem, so far to use module you can compile from TL2 the autoexec and from source the modules I suppose
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: escho on May 29, 2013, 12:06:04 AM
Quote from: scrax on May 28, 2013, 09:53:08 PM
I have the same problem, so far to use module you can compile from TL2 the autoexec and from source the modules I suppose

ThankYou for explaining.

Compiling from TL2 or using the zip-file of 1% is what i´m doing normally. raw_rec - module from TL2 sometimes doesn´t run for me how expected, so I use the module, I made from ML-unified.

Edgar
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: 1% on May 29, 2013, 12:49:32 AM
You should be able to swap in any module as long as big things like memory allocation or stubs didn't change.
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: escho on May 30, 2013, 10:34:04 PM
I tried again to get a running autoexec.bin out of ml. So I commented some debugging- and overlay-stuff out in all-features.h. the result was an autoexec.bin with 504k. But inserting the card into my camera made it blinking agein, 3 times long, 3 times short and so on.

I read your comments about .bin too big. But I have to say, I do not really understand this (my english isn´t good enough to understand all, what you say). I think, I give up for the moment.

Edgar
Title: Re: compiling for 600D makes my camera blinking
Post by: 1% on May 31, 2013, 12:54:50 AM
Bin > 500KB = 3 blinks.