Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => General Help Q&A => Topic started by: squig on May 22, 2013, 02:50:12 PM

Title: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 22, 2013, 02:50:12 PM
Thinking to create a backup file (a few K), and if saving the footer fails, ML would delete the backup file and try again. In theory, this should succeed without knowing how much free space is left.

Good plan.

A mate of mine came around tonight with his spanky new MK3 and I spent like an hour trying to get ML running on it and every attempt failed. It had 1.1.3 on it but I even re-installed it, I tried reformatting cards, tried the pre raw alpha, everything I could possibly think of. The same cards all ran ML on my MK3. I'm perplexed. ??? He was devastated.   :'(
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: sergiocamara93 on May 22, 2013, 03:08:36 PM
Good plan.

A mate of mine came around tonight with his spanky new MK3 and I spent like an hour trying to get ML running on it and every attempt failed. It had 1.1.3 on it but I even re-installed it, I tried reformatting cards, tried the pre raw alpha, everything I could possibly think of. The same cards all ran ML on my MK3. I'm perplexed. ??? He was devastated.   :'(

I would suggest the possibility of Canon blocking ML after the RAW hack, but it's practically impossible for them to have done it that fast (I mean in logistic terms). Have you tried re-installing 1.1.3 or reseting camera settings?
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: Danne on May 22, 2013, 04:31:47 PM
Good plan.

A mate of mine came around tonight with his spanky new MK3 and I spent like an hour trying to get ML running on it and every attempt failed. It had 1.1.3 on it but I even re-installed it, I tried reformatting cards, tried the pre raw alpha, everything I could possibly think of. The same cards all ran ML on my MK3. I'm perplexed. ??? He was devastated.   :'(

And of course you made the card bootable? Just in case...
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 22, 2013, 05:04:53 PM
Yeah I tried every trick in the book. He's had it for a couple of months so it's not a raw block.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: bumkicho on May 22, 2013, 05:26:57 PM
Perhaps you already have, but if not, have him try with your cards.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 22, 2013, 05:35:54 PM
Perhaps you already have, but if not, have him try with your cards.

That's the first thing I tried and when that didn't work I did a clean build, then I re-installed 1.1.3, tried a pre raw alpha build too. I'm wondering if there's been some kind of hardware change that ignores ML  ???
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: RenatoPhoto on May 22, 2013, 07:02:27 PM
That's the first thing I tried and when that didn't work I did a clean build, then I re-installed 1.1.3, tried a pre raw alpha build too. I'm wondering if there's been some kind of hardware change that ignores ML  ???
Was Firmware downgraded?  When?
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 22, 2013, 07:17:23 PM
Was Firmware downgraded?  When?

No it hasn't been, funny thing is mine has.  ???
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: RenatoPhoto on May 22, 2013, 08:05:42 PM
A fluke or... its coming from the hardware...  Maybe a good idea to write the serial no. for future reference
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: Danne on May 22, 2013, 11:37:36 PM
No it hasn't been, funny thing is mine has.  ???

A year ago when I bought a later version of the 5d mark 2 I had to reinstall the same firmware for the camera which was already installed from factory to get magic lantern to work. I,m not sure if you tried to reinstall the canon original firmware yourself or if you only tried on the factory-installed version?
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 23, 2013, 12:16:22 AM
I reinstalled the firmware, no cigar.

Yeah if there's any more reports of this we'll have to start tracking serial numbers.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: a1ex on May 23, 2013, 12:23:38 AM
So the alpha 3 doesn't load? what is the exact reaction? (LED blinks etc)
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 23, 2013, 12:37:56 AM
Correct, Alpha 3 wouldn't load either. I don't have it here in front of me but the Canon firmware just loaded up as usual, no CF card check etc..
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: aaphotog on May 23, 2013, 01:15:02 AM
I believe I read somewhere of an issue as such(don't quote me), and the fix was to "reset to factory settings"
Try resetting to factory settings, reinstalling 1.1.3 then resetting factory settings again, then try installing ML
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 23, 2013, 01:39:35 AM
I reset and reinstalled but didn't reset a second time.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: a1ex on May 23, 2013, 07:24:40 AM
Can you post a video of the process?

Be sure to include the firmware menu before and after loading ML FIR, and the card contents.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 23, 2013, 07:46:25 AM
I'm not sure I want to go through that painful experience all over again. Is there any reason you can think of why a card with a working build wouldn't work on another camera? I know it's not the CF card slot because I was able to reload 1.1.3 with it. I used a genuine battery and nothing else was attached to the camera except a Leica prime.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: a1ex on May 23, 2013, 07:47:51 AM
Yes, the bootflag has to be enabled in the camera first.

Also worth trying the SD card.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: scrax on May 23, 2013, 07:50:53 AM
Also worth trying the SD card.

Do we have a way to check if the bootloader code is the same? can we dump it?
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: a1ex on May 23, 2013, 08:09:31 AM
Yes, I can try the dumper that we used for EOS M and 650D. First I want to see if the FIR is loading properly.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 23, 2013, 08:16:39 AM
I'll give it another shot next time I see him.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 23, 2013, 08:57:54 AM
If anyone is planning to buy a new MK3 in the next week don't be too alarmed, I was doing this very late last night and I'm just a dummy so there's always the chance I missed something.  ;D
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: Kabuto1138 on May 23, 2013, 07:25:07 PM
If anyone is planning to buy a new MK3 in the next week don't be too alarmed, I was doing this very late last night and I'm just a dummy so there's always the chance I missed something.  ;D

Hey Squig,

I'll probably be getting a MK3 this weekend, any news? Were you able to make it work?
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 24, 2013, 02:33:25 AM
I haven't seen him yet but I think I probably just messed up setting the bootflag.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: hirethestache on May 24, 2013, 03:26:43 AM
I've had to send my Mk3 into Canon for repairs, I'm hoping to death they don't send it back with a block. The camera was restored to 1.1.3 prior to shipping it off, so fingers crossed.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 24, 2013, 03:31:17 AM
They'll most likely update the firmware but you can reinstall 1.1.3.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 24, 2013, 06:26:53 PM
Got the 17 May build going.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: hjfilmspeed on May 24, 2013, 06:33:32 PM
Do you think you could post the may 17th build?
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 24, 2013, 06:37:41 PM
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/34113196/Camera%20stuff/ML/ML-5D3-RAW_VIDEO-f686b8c.zip
Don't replace the ML folder, only the modules are in there.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: aaphotog on May 24, 2013, 06:43:54 PM
Got the 17 May build going.

So why wasn't it working?
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 24, 2013, 06:55:25 PM
So why wasn't it working?

Bad memory allocation in the crash test dummy MK3 :D
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: hjfilmspeed on May 24, 2013, 08:19:12 PM
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/34113196/Camera%20stuff/ML/ML-5D3-RAW_VIDEO-f686b8c.zip
Don't replace the ML folder, only the modules are in there.

Thank You! Im assuming i also need to put the bootflag.fir in there too. right? sory just a noob
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: squig on May 25, 2013, 03:36:37 AM
Affirmative.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: SF Film on May 27, 2013, 05:52:12 AM
I have attempted to load the firmware onto my Canon 5D Mk iii with absolutely no success at all. Perhaps someone can tell me where I am going wrong?

Updated the firmware in the camera to 1.2.1
OEM Canon battery is charged to 100 percent
All accessories are removed
Cleared all camera settings
Camera set to M
Transcend SDHC 8 GB class 10 card; formatted within camera. Wait 5 sec to open cover.
No CF card in slot. (Tried both ways)
Down loaded alpha 3 software from ML site and unzipped.
SDHC card placed in a card reader and ml-5D3-113.fir copied to card.
Card ejected and with camera off placed in the camera.
Camera on and menu to Firmware ver.
Set button pressed.
Camera inicated with orange looking for firware (does not show firmware), LCD screen is than dark.
Light on set button red steady than off four seconds, than on, than off four seconds...
Camera turned off and red light remains steady.
Camera battery ejected, card removed.
Camera battery back in place, camera turns on and operates normally.

I am out of ideas and not sure where I am going wrong.
Any assistance is appreciated.
Thank you
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: lourenco on May 27, 2013, 06:05:02 AM
I have attempted to load the firmware onto my Canon 5D Mk iii with absolutely no success at all. Perhaps someone can tell me where I am going wrong?

Updated the firmware in the camera to 1.2.1

It only works on 1.1.3. You need to go back to 1.1.3 to make ML work. Given you updated to 1.2.1 it is not compatable to ML.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: SF Film on May 27, 2013, 06:10:47 AM
Thank you
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: macvanp on July 26, 2013, 09:30:06 PM
I have been having this same problem and after speaking with Canon last night, I honestly think that they have quietly re-engineered the firmware to disallow the cameras ability to downgrade the firmware. Similar to the earlier poster, I am getting the flashing red light and a black screen.  Can anyone provide a detailed fix; I wanna shoot RAW too.  :)
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: macvanp on July 26, 2013, 10:09:49 PM
Okay, there is an update to my most recent post for those of you that are interested.  I went back to the Cinema 5D website and used the following link to get the Canon firmware version 1.1.3 and it worked.  Please see the link below:

http://www.cinema5d.com/news/?p=17898

My next step is unknown at this point but I will check back in as soon as I get everything loaded.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: macvanp on July 27, 2013, 03:27:42 AM
SUCCESS.  Everything is loaded.  Now I need to put something together.

Thanks to all of the posters for all of the input throughout this forum.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: soundhound on August 03, 2013, 05:25:25 AM
I'm having a similar problem. I used to have a nightly build on my camera, and RAW worked perfectly. I temporarily upgraded the firmware to 1.21 to do a video shoot, and then downgraded back to 1.13 (obtained from  the Cinema5D site). After I did this, the nightly build wouldn't run at all after performing the firmware update with ML.

I have downloaded the latest nightly build (Aug 2, 2013), and this won't work at all either. After performing the ML firmware upgrade process, I get the "bootflag enabled" notice and a smiley face. Checking the firmware, I see the ML firmware is installed. Everything as it should be except that when I press the trashcan to bring up the menu, nothing....

The weird thing is that I can install the Alpha 3 build and it works perfectly!

Any ideas?????
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: VisualPursuit on August 03, 2013, 10:30:26 AM
Canon has stated that 1.2.1 cannot be downgraded, which leads to the assumption that there might have been a silent HW update in the past. This in turn would explain that users have different experiences regarding 3rd party batteries and AFMA aberrations after up/downgrading.

I had the AFMA problem and will certainly not downgrade again.

Too bad that there is no word on development for the current firmware.
It seems like all effort is put into outdated firmware, and nobody offers
an answer about the reasons for that.

One would think that it would be much smarter to first port what was
achieved already in Alpha 3 to the latest firmware and then proceed from
there instead of later having to start all over.

If anybody knowledgeable reads this: Is there any development for the
current firmware going on?

I am not asking a release date!
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: a1ex on August 03, 2013, 10:47:34 AM
Will you stop asking the same thing over and over?

I'm not aware of any issues caused by downgrading. Can you show some evidence? not just speculation.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: soundhound on August 03, 2013, 05:41:39 PM
When I first upgraded to 1.21 with firmware I got from Canon''s website, a message on the screen said that the firmware could not be downgraded. That turned out to be false; I could easily downgrade to 1.13.

Anybody have any ideas on a possible solution on my not being able to use the RAW nightly builds, but Alpha 3 works fine?  I really could use the RAW capability again!
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: soundhound on August 06, 2013, 07:13:17 AM
Just wanted to follow up, as I found the problem.  It turns out that the ability to install ML (at least on my 5D MKIII) is SD card sensitive. I was originally using an 8GB SanDisk card which didn't work with ML, but when I replaced it with a 32GB HP card, I was able to install and run ML just fine.

I have no idea why this should be!  I'm not using the SD card for recording, just to hold the ML program. I formatted the original card both in the camera, on my computer, and the card just wouldn't work with ML (although I could use it to hold photo files etc just fine...).

Just wanted to throw this solution out there in case anybody else runs across this problem; try using another brand of SD card!
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: VisualPursuit on September 29, 2013, 01:44:19 PM
About the AFMA problem: Canon lists it in the description of the 1.2.1 firmware update as follows:
13. Fixes a phenomenon in which the camera changes the AF microadjustment value to -8.

I have had this problem and since sharp images are mission critcal for me I cannot go back to 1.1.3,
which is of course just my personal problem.

In two German forums with a total of 350.000 registered users a number of people have reported
two phenomena, that are immediately linked to up/downgrading firmware.

1) After the upgrade 3rd party batteries that previously worked have been refused.
Some report the batteries not working at all, others (like me) report the camera asks for
permission to use these batteries and then worked like it should. Some of those with
cameras that refused the batteries could not heal the problem by downgrading again.

2) Some People who did not have the AFMA -8 problem before upgrading had it after
downgrading. Given, there is a chance that they did have it but did not notice before.

Canon also states in the firmware upgrade descripion:
Notes:
´Żą Once the EOS 5D Mark III camera is updated to version 1.2.1, it cannot be restored
to a previous firmware version (Version 1.0.7 through 1.1.3).


They also mention a firmware revision 1.2.0 that was never rolled out as
standalone upgrade but obviously part of factory revision deliveries.

My theory now is that there have been silent hardware upgrades and they
have found a way to make 1.2.1 work on all hardware revision platforms.
Theory 2 is that there might be different versions of 1.1.3 firmware out there,
and downgrading to the standalone upgrade will cause problems on bodies
that have been shipped with a later silent hardware upgrade that included
an upgrade to 1.1.3 without a change of firmware revision numbers.

So - being able to downgrade to the standalone firmware 1.1.3 does not
necessarily mean that this is problem free. One might end up with a body
that has a silent hardware update running a firmware revision that was
written for a body without that update.

I might be wrong on all this, but why should people make up their reports?

Obviously their cameras display a different behaviour with firmware 1.1.3
after up/downgrading to Firmware 1.2.1 and back to 1.1.3. Which in turn
must mean that there must be different versions of 1.1.3, or 1.2.1 changes
things during the upgrade that are untouched by the downgrade.

However, this is too much uncertainty for me.

Please understand that I am not trying to bug anybody or push anybody
towards anything. I want to help, and I can wait for whatever comes our way,
ML 2.3 stable runs fine on my 5D MkII. It's just that the 5D MkIII sees little
video work for lack of a working ML on firmware 1.2.1.

But again, that is my personal problem, not yours. The main part of my work
remains photography, and AFMA -8 does not help that too much.

I appreciate your work, and I am a happy camper with the 5D MkII and 2.3 stable.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: Octavio79 on June 07, 2014, 11:57:13 AM
I stumbled upon this topic and I have the same exact problem. I have tried everything and at the moment have given up on installing ML on my 5DM3.
Title: Re: Problems installing ML on Canon 5D Mark III
Post by: Audionut on June 07, 2014, 03:32:05 PM
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=11017.0