Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => Raw Video => Topic started by: handbanana on May 16, 2013, 11:00:55 PM

Title: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: handbanana on May 16, 2013, 11:00:55 PM
So I've noticed that the RAW video tests are happening mostly on the 5Dmk3 and mk2, with a few people also playing with the 600D. I have a 550D and a 60D and I'd love to test it out, but I don't know where to begin to compile an autoexec.bin that will run on them (the 5Dmk2 one didn't run on the 60D at least). If anyone has tried it, or cares to, I'd laod the file onto my cams to test it out.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: kslau8 on May 16, 2013, 11:09:13 PM
A number of others (including me) have asked in the different threads and it seems like that's not available yet.  I'd love to test it out, too.

I think it's probably something that will eventually come down the road but I think a lot of work is going into testing and making the current builds for the 4 cameras (5D2&3, T3i, 6D) more stable.  I hope one of the devs will respond to this thread though, but I'm assuming the answer will be that the builds will come sometime...
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: payne on May 16, 2013, 11:54:08 PM
I would also love to help test for a 60D. I am under the impression that the internals are identical to a 600D so I don't imagine it should be an issue. Has anyone tried installing a 600D build on a 60D?
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: kslau8 on May 17, 2013, 01:29:32 AM
Didn't work for me.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: cobyalon on May 17, 2013, 10:08:40 AM
Yeah , I wouldn't mind to test it out on my 60D too. ML , you're the best thing happened to me since I've bought my camera :) keep up the good work.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: seanturco on May 17, 2013, 12:19:15 PM
Hello me too, I hope for something for the 60D.
I think the module section is desactivate right now, but I wait for future updated firmware.

(sorry for my bad english, im french :) )
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: gerk.raisen on May 17, 2013, 01:36:06 PM
Dear developers,

is there is something that I can do helping finding the constraints needed? (unfortunately I'm not a coder, but I can do test and more)
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: payne on May 17, 2013, 09:57:25 PM
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5469.msg36379;topicseen#msg36379

N/A was able to get 1280x400 in 640x480 mode so I'm sure we'll be able to at least that on the 60D in the future.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: CFP on May 17, 2013, 10:32:27 PM
Hi

Here's what I'm getting with my EOS 600D and a SD-card that reaches the 21 MB/s limit at 24p:

- 1280 X 720 | stops after  71 frames
- 1280 X 400 | over 1500 frames
- 720 X 720 | over 1500 frames
- 960 X 540 | over 1500 frames

Since the 600D is very similar to the 60D I'm sure that you will get almost the same results. But don't worry, even 960 X 540 RAW videos have way more detail then the default 1080 X 1920 H.264. And of course, working with them is amazing. The dynamic range is just insane!
Getting overexposure with that raw videos seems to bee impossible :D
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: ashtrai on May 17, 2013, 11:54:53 PM
Hi

Here's what I'm getting with my EOS 600D and a SD-card that reaches the 21 MB/s limit at 24p:

- 1280 X 720 | stops after  71 frames
- 1280 X 400 | over 1500 frames
- 720 X 720 | over 1500 frames
- 960 X 540 | over 1500 frames

Since the 600D is very similar to the 60D I'm sure that you will get almost the same results. But don't worry, even 960 X 540 RAW videos have way more detail then the default 1080 X 1920 H.264. And of course, working with them is amazing. The dynamic range is just insane!
Getting overexposure with that raw videos seems to bee impossible :D

Would be great if you could shoot a chart or a detailed scene of some sort with both 960 x 540 RAW and the default 1080p h.264 so we can see the difference between them. I'm on a 550D atm, and my fingers are itching for some raw footage.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: payne on May 18, 2013, 12:08:32 AM
O:\20_WorkBench\Netflix\06_Delivery\GimmieTHePower).
Hi

Here's what I'm getting with my EOS 600D and a SD-card that reaches the 21 MB/s limit at 24p:

- 1280 X 720 | stops after  71 frames
- 1280 X 400 | over 1500 frames
- 720 X 720 | over 1500 frames
- 960 X 540 | over 1500 frames

Since the 600D is very similar to the 60D I'm sure that you will get almost the same results. But don't worry, even 960 X 540 RAW videos have way more detail then the default 1080 X 1920 H.264. And of course, working with them is amazing. The dynamic range is just insane!
Getting overexposure with that raw videos seems to bee impossible :D

Considering that the 60D (and I'm assuming the 600D) both take SDXC cards with 95 MB/s transfer rates I'm sure we get get up to 1280x720 at least by the time they push the hack as far as it can go. I will definitely be donating if they get a 60D build up and running. So excited at the possility!
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: CFP on May 18, 2013, 01:21:40 AM
Considering that the 60D (and I'm assuming the 600D) both take SDXC cards with 95 MB/s transfer rates I'm sure we get get up to 1280x720
1280 X 720 would require ~ 39 Megabyte/s write speed. But the SD-controller of the 550D, 600D and 60D seems to have a max. write speed of 21 Megabyte/s. And since there's absolutely no way to compress the files inside the camera, I doubt that we'll see 1280 X 720 on these cameras. A least not at 24p :(

7D, 6D, 700D/650D and EOS M might handle 1280 X 720 since they seem to have different SD-controllers and the 7D even takes CF cards ...

Would be great if you could shoot a chart or a detailed scene of some sort with both 960 x 540 RAW and the default 1080p h.264 so we can see the difference between them. I'm on a 550D atm, and my fingers are itching for some raw footage.
Well, at the moment I don't have a shot with many details on my Notebook. But here's something to see how much more Dynamik range the raw files have:

- 720 X 720 DNG Frame (https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1Hu7J2NCF4vMFpEUWQ4RF9Jczg/edit?usp=sharing)
- 1920 X 1080 H.264 Video (https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1Hu7J2NCF4vY0NBOEkzVmhCczg/edit?usp=sharing)

Both shot on 600D at 24p, no editing, exact same settings. That DNG frame is just one single frame of a whole sequence with 632 frames.

Just download them and try to recover the sky in Lightroom or CameraRaw or whatever ;)

I apologize for the colorful borders. That are the CAs of my Canon 50mm 1.8 II  :-[
Tomorrow I'll see what I can do for detail, and I'll use my much better Sigma 50mm 2.8 Makro to avoid such ugly CAs ...

But anyway, nice dynamic range, right? :D I did some other tests too I think you'll need to have extremly bad lighting conditions to under- or overexpose a raw video ...

Hope that helped you a little bit. Let's see how much the great developers can improve that.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: Paul Abrahams on May 18, 2013, 05:12:57 AM
Seeing as the 60D's SD controller limits at 21mbs throughput speed do you think the 64gb SDXC Class 10 (45mbs) would be the card to get?

Going by the numbers so far with the 600D, we can look forward to getting at least these crops at 24/25 fps

- 1280 X 400
- 720 X 720
- 960 X 540

in raw. :)

Is this a fair assumption?
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: payne on May 18, 2013, 05:41:12 AM
Seeing as the 60D's SD controller limits at 21mbs throughput speed do you think the 64gb SDXC Class 10 (45mbs) would be the card to get?

Going by the numbers so far with the 600D, we can look forward to getting at least these crops at 24/25 fps

- 1280 X 400
- 720 X 720
- 960 X 540

in raw. :)

Is this a fair assumption?

I would be very happy with 1280x400 raw on the 60D as well!
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: bjacklee on May 18, 2013, 07:10:28 AM
Seeing as the 60D's SD controller limits at 21mbs throughput speed do you think the 64gb SDXC Class 10 (45mbs)


Is this a hardware limitation?
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: Audionut on May 18, 2013, 07:12:16 AM

Is this a hardware limitation?

Yes.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: bjacklee on May 18, 2013, 07:25:16 AM
Yes.

This doesnt sounds good..:( but maybe we could atleast have 1280x400? It would be far more better than 1080p h.264.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: gerk.raisen on May 18, 2013, 05:30:03 PM
Wake up folks!
Or will be the last platform to have RAW features ;D
How we can help? I can't wait...
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: a1ex on May 18, 2013, 06:08:57 PM
Follow the 500D/550D thread and do the same ;)
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: gerk.raisen on May 18, 2013, 09:54:29 PM
I took two screenshot of EDMAC one before and one after clicking the "don't click me button" as in 500d/550d thread
Can it help?

60D - P mode - no Liveview




(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimageshack.us%2Fa%2Fimg716%2F9242%2Fvram0z.png&hash=eb14015e8b218a7a9dd1201edfa45f9b)

(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fimageshack.us%2Fa%2Fimg534%2F7413%2Fvram1.png&hash=dd1cdb36feae341024c4962b4cb37b87)


Here http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5240.msg31998#msg31998
I read:

Well 600D already had mraw/sraw in a  similar form... I guess this one is easier to process and more supported.

>I think that register the same for many: It is used by LVx5_StopPreproPath
>There are 2 in there ... 08 and 208...
>600D and eos M are both c0f26208 from the looks of it.

c0f26208 also works for 60D, thanks 1%
-------------
So is the value RAW_LV_EDMAC  already found?




Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: a1ex on May 18, 2013, 10:24:05 PM
Yes, seems so. Now you need to enable FEATURE_SILENT_PIC_RAW, then go through raw.c and port each section.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: gerk.raisen on May 19, 2013, 02:31:15 AM
Thank you A1ex.

I created all the missing entries in raw.c
I have enabled FEATURE_SILENT_PIC_RAW
and added the .o modules
Now compiling is ok.

I enabled the
RAW_DEBUG   
RAW_DEBUG_DUMP

to find the Raw buffer size for photos

but I can't understand what do in-camera to generate the raw.buf required for guesspitch.

Is there a menu?

Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: a1ex on May 19, 2013, 08:01:33 AM
Try to take a silent pic.

BTW... now you can just read the pitch from the EDMAC screen, no need to guess it. Scroll to EDMAC #18 in LiveView.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: gerk.raisen on May 20, 2013, 09:24:02 AM
Seems that Marekk precede me  :(
Thanks of course :)
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: handbanana on May 20, 2013, 10:25:21 PM
I'm running a read/write test on my 60D and am getting (on a class 10 pny card)

Write speed (buffer=2048k): 17.1 MB/s
Read speed (same): ~18 MD/s

(auto power made it turn off after that >_<)

If someone has compiled an autoexec.bin for 60D I would load it up and see how it goes.
Title: Re: RAW Video on 60D? I wouldn't mind testing
Post by: Botasky on May 22, 2013, 10:24:00 PM
I hope 60D will get raw ability soon ;D