Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => General Help Q&A => Topic started by: skrull on May 01, 2013, 03:52:08 AM

Title: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 DOES NOT prevent downgrade!
Post by: skrull on May 01, 2013, 03:52:08 AM
Hi guys,

According to Canon Australia, once you upgraded your 5D3 to 1.2.1, you cannot rollback... (https://www.canon.com.au/Personal/Support-Help/Support-News/Firmware-Updates/EOS-5D-Mark-III-Firmware-Update-1-2-1 (https://www.canon.com.au/Personal/Support-Help/Support-News/Firmware-Updates/EOS-5D-Mark-III-Firmware-Update-1-2-1))

Also, there's some issues with third party batteries not working anymore. See http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=14354.msg262650#msg262650 (http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=14354.msg262650#msg262650)

I'm not going to upgrade until ML team speaks about 1.2.1.
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: 1% on May 01, 2013, 04:08:09 AM
Someone else said they downgraded. I don't have a 5d3 so I can't tell you for sure. If you want ML I'd stay with 1.1.3 until the repo is upgraded.
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: Christian on May 01, 2013, 04:24:00 AM
I saw this post but no details as to where to find  ???

I just tried to downgrade the 1.2.1 firmware back to 1.1.3, won't work! Bastards!

EDIT: Finally got it to work. I downloaded 1.1.3 from another Canon server and reformatted the card.
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: Audionut on May 01, 2013, 07:34:17 AM
It took all of 5 seconds to search the Canon Europe site.

http://www.canon-europe.com/Support/Consumer_Products/products/cameras/Digital_SLR/EOS_5D_Mark_III.aspx?type=download&page=1

Also, there's some issues with third party batteries not working anymore.

Yeah, lots of people have been saying that third party batteries either don't work at all, or don't report battery level.

What's the quickest way to make people buy your batteries?  Fix the firmware!
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: squig on May 01, 2013, 09:02:41 AM
Someone else said they downgraded. I don't have a 5d3 so I can't tell you for sure. If you want ML I'd stay with 1.1.3 until the repo is upgraded.

I downgraded but it took a few attempts and I'm not quite sure why. On the final attempt I re-downloaded the 1.1.3 firmware from the Canon UK server and reformatted the card and it worked. I did a stills job with it today and everything worked ok. I had to pull the battery on the first few downgrade attempts.
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: skrull on May 01, 2013, 03:18:00 PM
I'm glad to hear that downgrade is possible.

I have two Pisen batteries and I'm going to wait until someone can confirm it works or not.

They are all the same firmware (USA/UK/Australia). Besides, I couldn't find download link for 1.1.3 on Canon Australia.

root@nas:/dev/shm# md5sum eos5d3*
c6a0b9d3b194500d2964fc34291d6d7d  eos5d3-v113-win.zip.uk
c6a0b9d3b194500d2964fc34291d6d7d  eos5d3-v113-win.zip.usa
37f1f4eca9cd56880c242a8db084c073  eos5d3-v121-win.zip.aus
37f1f4eca9cd56880c242a8db084c073  eos5d3-v121-win.zip.uk
37f1f4eca9cd56880c242a8db084c073  eos5d3-v121-win.zip.usa
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: 1% on May 01, 2013, 04:20:27 PM
Lol, downgrading not possible because canon pulled the firmware in au?
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: bidjoman on May 02, 2013, 06:47:52 PM
NOT TRUE!!!! i upgraded to 1.2.1 and i downloaded the firmware 1.1.3 and made the downgrade very SUCCESSFUL. dont worry  8)
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: CalBoy87 on May 03, 2013, 08:44:19 AM
Same here, done upgrade/downgrade 3 times, no problem. Only problem is, now ML doesn't work. Hope new Alpha for 1.2.1 will come soon...
Title: Re: 5D Mark III Firmware 1.2.1 prevents downgrade!
Post by: JohnN on May 07, 2013, 09:37:44 PM
Confirmed here too - downgrade is possible.

1.2.1 does advise about third party batteries but allows them anyway (or at least mine did) - I do wonder if this could be overridden though.