Magic Lantern Forum

Developing Magic Lantern => General Development => Topic started by: scrax on December 27, 2012, 06:23:10 AM

Title: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on December 27, 2012, 06:23:10 AM
Inspired by Pel, I've moved around something in the photo info display of the 600D to make space for copyright and other info:
(http://images.wikia.com/magiclantern/images/a/a5/Info_Shoot_600D.png)

Now WB shift will not conflict with WB bracketing icon and bottom space is free for copyright info, need to understand how to add them now.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: 1% on December 27, 2012, 04:37:21 PM
We can draw over them but then it flashes.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on December 27, 2012, 05:47:01 PM
Quote from: 1% on December 27, 2012, 04:37:21 PM
We can draw over them but then it flashes.
Yep first idea was to put HDR brk info over exp comp. box but each time AE were measured it was flashing.

Have you see this for 7D? I've moved things around to free the space in the borders:
(http://pel.hu/down/ML7D.png)
what i still don't get is where are defined those two prop added by Pel, in canon firmware maybe?:
PROP_ARTIST_STRING
PROP_COPYRIGHT_STRING
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Pelican on December 28, 2012, 05:04:07 PM
I've answered in the other topic.
It was in the source, in property.h
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on December 28, 2012, 06:52:08 PM
Thanks to Pel, this is how it looks on 600D now:
(http://images.wikia.com/magiclantern/images/b/b8/VRAM0.png)
Little bug: Artist name is set to 0123456789ABCDE in camera so you can see the first 3 char are not show.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on December 28, 2012, 07:02:24 PM
What is displayed in the empty field next to AWB?
We can display the selected AF point.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on December 28, 2012, 07:20:07 PM
Quote from: Greg on December 28, 2012, 07:02:24 PM
What is displayed in the empty field next to AWB?
We can display the selected AF point.
It's for WB+/-,
here a more full screen:
(http://images.wikia.com/magiclantern/images/a/a5/Info_Shoot_600D.png)
other two are flash mode and flash exp comp (the bigger one), like 500D maybe
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on December 28, 2012, 07:31:08 PM
Quote from: scrax on December 28, 2012, 07:20:07 PM
It's for WB+/-,
On the 500D also, I've never used the  ;) I only photos in RAW
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on December 29, 2012, 06:44:34 AM
Last update:
(http://images.wikia.com/magiclantern/images/7/75/Color_scheme_2_600D.png)

(http://images.wikia.com/magiclantern/images/f/f5/Color_scheme_4_600D.png)

note: after posting, date has been raised one pixel to avoid overlap with the grey border.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: 1% on December 29, 2012, 06:20:01 PM
I like it but can "author's name" be turned off?
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Pelican on December 29, 2012, 09:34:21 PM
I'm thinking to make it configurable what do you want to see in the four corners...
Like:
Header left options (Off, Artist name, Copyright , Date , Lens name, ML version, ...)
Header right, Footer left, Footer right with the same options


(http://pel.hu/down/ML7Dinfo.png)
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on December 29, 2012, 10:02:40 PM
Quote from: Pelican on December 29, 2012, 09:34:21 PM
I'm thinking to make it configurable what do you want to see in the four corners...
Like:
Header left options (Off, Artist name, Copyright , Date , Lens name, ML version, ...)
Header right, Footer left, Footer right with the same options
That would be better than on off option i was thinking. By the way on 7D the first 3 char of artist name are shown ok? I still can't find why on my camera they are not shown.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Pelican on December 29, 2012, 10:06:11 PM
On the 7D it is working fine.
Have you checked the property value with the property spy?
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 02, 2013, 05:15:11 AM
Quote from: Pelican on December 29, 2012, 10:06:11 PM
On the 7D it is working fine.
Have you checked the property value with the property spy?
Found the problem, prop is correct but it say 40 for len so i've changed those and now it works:


-char artist_name[63]="                                                               ";
+char artist_name[64]="                                                               ";


-extern char artist_name[63];
e+xtern char artist_name[64];
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on January 06, 2013, 04:24:25 PM
Someone recently changed something in the code for the 500D?
I compiled commit 0e83427

(http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/5006/vram0.png)
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 06, 2013, 04:29:14 PM
Quote from: Greg on January 06, 2013, 04:24:25 PM
Someone recently changed something in the code for the 500D?
I compiled commit 0e83427

Yes there are more thing shown but you have to fix position now.
Or post a screen shot with those setting:
D+ enabled
WB bracketing - and WB shift
Kelvin WB (more than 10000)
Audio Remote shoot on
ML HDR on
Drive mode SelfTimer
MLU on
AUTO ISO

by the way HDR and Audio release are not correct also on 600D, need to check the merge. fixed now, waiting pull request merge for the fix.
I'll suggest to look at this for positions:
(http://images.wikia.com/magiclantern/images/a/a5/Info_Shoot_600D.png)
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 06, 2013, 05:13:26 PM
Those are the position used in 600D:

#define MENU_DISP_ISO_POS_X 527
#define MENU_DISP_ISO_POS_Y 45

// for ML hdr display
#define HDR_STATUS_POS_X 560
#define HDR_STATUS_POS_Y 100

//fpr HTP mode on display
#define HTP_STATUS_POS_X 500
#define HTP_STATUS_POS_Y 233

#define MLU_STATUS_POS_X 316
#define MLU_STATUS_POS_Y 310

#define WBS_BA_POS_X 365
#define WBS_BA_POS_Y 260

#define WBS_GM_POS_X 365
#define WBS_GM_POS_Y 230

// Audio remote shot position info photo mode
#define AUDIO_REM_SHOT_POS_X 200
#define AUDIO_REM_SHOT_POS_Y 386

// position for displaying clock outside LV
#define DISPLAY_CLOCK_POS_X 440
#define DISPLAY_CLOCK_POS_Y 410

// for displaying TRAP FOCUS msg outside LV
#define DISPLAY_TRAP_FOCUS_POS_X 65
#define DISPLAY_TRAP_FOCUS_POS_Y 360
#define DISPLAY_TRAP_FOCUS_MSG       "TRAP FOCUS"
#define DISPLAY_TRAP_FOCUS_MSG_BLANK "          "
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on January 06, 2013, 05:28:08 PM
500D :
(http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/7413/vram1.png)

#define DISPLAY_CLOCK_POS_X 41
#define DISPLAY_CLOCK_POS_Y 259

#define DISPLAY_GB_POS_X 32
#define DISPLAY_GB_POS_Y 144


I think you still need to compensate for, but it would be good.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 06, 2013, 07:18:03 PM
separated clock and GB pos,
updated HDR position,
will move HTP down before the battery.
Do you have max ISO for AUTO on 500D?
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on January 06, 2013, 07:57:16 PM
Quote from: scrax on January 06, 2013, 07:18:03 PM
Do you have max ISO for AUTO on 500D?
No 500D does not have this feature.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 06, 2013, 10:59:10 PM
I've updated consts for 500D, check tomorrow if it's ok, there is a pull request still to be added to main tree for MLU position and HTP position.
Also found a problem in background with Screen Color 2 (the one with grey background you use) when Info screen settings are on, fixing now.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 07, 2013, 01:14:38 AM
Finished all the fix, when accepted you can check them on 500D.
Also put an icon for HTP.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on January 07, 2013, 03:04:30 AM
Why is the icon HTP? The same is D+?

500D:
http://img838.imageshack.us/img838/7621/vram2w.png
http://img827.imageshack.us/img827/7413/vram1.png

I forgot about the audio release:
http://img713.imageshack.us/img713/208/vram2.png
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 07, 2013, 03:32:29 AM
Quote from: Greg on January 07, 2013, 03:04:30 AM
Why is the icon HTP? The same is D+?

500D:
http://img838.imageshack.us/img838/7621/vram2w.png
http://img827.imageshack.us/img827/7413/vram1.png

Yes, when ML iso are shown on 600D D+ is hidden, and also ALO icon is obscured, so i've put D+ Icon there. If you think it's not need will remove it from 500D.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on January 07, 2013, 03:40:13 AM
ML iso on 500D in the shooting mode is very unstable. Automatically turns off after a short time.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 07, 2013, 03:51:47 AM
HDR background seems wrong, maybe sampled from the bottom of the screen?
K icon is nice, i've done one inverted, but your seems better, will try it but not white. :)
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: Greg on January 07, 2013, 06:25:10 PM
Quote from: scrax on January 07, 2013, 03:51:47 AM
HDR background seems wrong, maybe sampled from the bottom of the screen?
I think so too, a function previously displayed at the bottom.
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: deleted.account.01 on January 07, 2013, 10:39:27 PM
how u guys load  to ML that New interface look ?
Title: Re: 600D Photo info display, new layout
Post by: scrax on January 08, 2013, 12:09:21 AM
Quote from: MzytengaM on January 07, 2013, 10:39:27 PM
how u guys load  to ML that New interface look ?
it's in the nightlybuild
check for Info screen settings under Prefs menu