Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => General Help Q&A => Topic started by: user1982743914 on December 08, 2021, 02:13:17 PM

Title: 700D: HDMI out with black bars on all four sides?
Post by: user1982743914 on December 08, 2021, 02:13:17 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm using my EOS 700D for the first time with HDMI out, and therefore installed MagicLantern to use the "Clear overlays: Always"-setting. This works as intended, however, I'm getting black bars on all four sides of the image. I've heard that it's impossible to get clean 16:9 1080p out of the camera, but rather something like 1620x1080 (3:2). However, in my case, it's more like 1320x745. Is this expected? Or am I missing something?

Furthermore, when using "Clear overlays", the internal screen displays a nice and crisp borderless 16:9 frame. What's the reason this is not possible over HDMI as well?

See screenshots of the HDMI-output and my camera display attached.

Thanks a lot in advance! And thanks for all developers who put awesome efforts in making Canon camera firmware a bit better!

(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=https%3A%2F%2Fabload.de%2Fthumb%2Fima_1cd7884mmkl2.jpeg&hash=5090f2cbeb9377535c78e58c07a2beba) (https://abload.de/image.php?img=ima_1cd7884mmkl2.jpeg) (https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=https%3A%2F%2Fabload.de%2Fthumb%2Fmpv-shot00010kj3q.jpg&hash=8d377c083ad5513054c3e05a43b49702) (https://abload.de/image.php?img=mpv-shot00010kj3q.jpg)
Title: Re: 700D: HDMI out with black bars on all four sides?
Post by: Walter Schulz on December 08, 2021, 05:22:40 PM
Q: Why is view in camera display scaled to fit and HDMI is not?
A: That's the way it works with Digic 4 and 5 (with exception to 5D3 with firmware 1.2.x (or up)). Nothing we can do about it ATM.

Please connect HDMI cable to TV set/monitor HDMI input. Try to calculate aspect ratio and resolutions for height and width.
Active area in photo mode and video mode are different. Photo mode should be 1620x1080 (3:2 ratio) but video should be 1620x912 (16:9 ratio).

If your TV set/monitor has aspect ratio other than 16:9 there is a chance scaling takes place.