Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => Hardware and Accessories => Topic started by: cboillot on January 06, 2019, 04:41:36 PM

Title: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: cboillot on January 06, 2019, 04:41:36 PM
Hi there and sorry if the question has aleady been asked.
Most of the crop modes work with the preview broken and I wonder if using an external monitor would fix this? Or does the same greyscale than in Liveview would be shown on the Ext. monitor while shooting ?
Many thanks for your help and happy new year !
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: Lars Steenhoff on January 08, 2019, 11:11:45 AM
It fixes it  :)

external is in color
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: a1ex on January 08, 2019, 11:59:54 AM
It fixes it  :)

external is in color

Was that supposed to be trolling?!

If it's broken on the internal LCD, it will be just as broken on the external monitor.
If it's color and real-time on the internal LCD, it will be color and real-time on the external monitor as well.
If it's grayscale or slow on the internal LCD, change the preview options and start over.

Generally speaking, external monitor support is more difficult, as it requires 6 times more bandwidth (1920x1080 vs 720x480). For this particular issue, it's a matter of figuring out how to alter Canon's previewing pipeline (or how to reprogram it from scratch on the image processing hardware, rather than on the main CPU, which is very slow).
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: Lars Steenhoff on January 08, 2019, 12:27:48 PM
I may have remberered it wrong, I will double check when I get home

Edit yes its broken on the external
too if its broken on the internal, sorry It was because I rembered something about the 5x zoom being balck and white on the back lcd and in color on extrernal. and I thought this applied to the other crops too
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: cboillot on January 08, 2019, 04:02:29 PM
Was that supposed to be trolling?!

If it's broken on the internal LCD, it will be just as broken on the external monitor.
If it's color and real-time on the internal LCD, it will be color and real-time on the external monitor as well.
If it's grayscale or slow on the internal LCD, change the preview options and start over.

Generally speaking, external monitor support is more difficult, as it requires 6 times more bandwidth (1920x1080 vs 720x480). For this particular issue, it's a matter of figuring out how to alter Canon's previewing pipeline (or how to reprogram it from scratch on the image processing hardware, rather than on the main CPU, which is very slow).

Many thanks for your answer A1ex. I won't invest in any external monitor and keep playing with the internal LCD then!
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: Dmytro_ua on January 08, 2019, 04:11:29 PM
I won't invest in any external monitor and keep playing with the internal LCD then!

I don't have an ext.monitor, but I'd like to know:

When we use crop module with 50/60fps, our preview with overlays always with poor quality and lags. But, when we turn overlays off with "info" button - we can see regular Canon preview without lags and in color - but it is stretched. Can we enable anamorphic squeeze (on ext.monitor) to get right proportions?
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: Lars Steenhoff on February 11, 2019, 08:23:40 AM
Maybe this will give you an idea re: 5D3.123...

Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor 5x zoom
Post by: davethedude on February 25, 2019, 11:24:42 PM
Is there a way to get the same image on an external monitor in crop mode that is on the live view?  When I am shooting 3.5 K in 2.35:1 and use an external monitor, the monitor is showing the 5x zoom.  Is there a way around this?
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: dck_studio on April 22, 2019, 06:52:01 PM
Is there a way to get the same image on an external monitor in crop mode that is on the live view?  When I am shooting 3.5 K in 2.35:1 and use an external monitor, the monitor is showing the 5x zoom.  Is there a way around this?


Hi , i m search exactly same information, cuz i saw with  5*zoom on my hdmi preview too ..its not too confort for composition.
I use a lilliput a7 ( by the way i knew the signal out of mk3 are 8 bit HD)
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: PaulHarwood856 on December 01, 2019, 04:30:56 PM
Has anyone found a way of displaying grayscale ML Raw on an external monitor? I keep seeing 5x in color, but cannot get grayscale to show.
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: vastunghia on April 14, 2022, 09:03:05 AM
Maybe this will give you an idea re: 5D3.123...

So I guess it is confirmed that in 3.5 1:1 x5 mode, the rear LCD will show the correct framing but the external monitor will be heavily cropped on an approximatively 4:3 centered rectangle. Right?

May still be useful to check for correct focus while relying on rear LCD for composition...

Thank you

Sergio
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: kpn on April 16, 2022, 04:23:10 PM
Yeah I'm having the same issue, I can get normal preview on a phone-usb-camera with mlv1080 mode but not 5.5k anamorphic. Both modes in canon menu give a distorted view. It's usable for focusing, but proper preview would be amazing.
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: dream951 on May 18, 2022, 09:27:50 PM
Hi guys!
Like all 5D3 owners, I also have a broken liveview
There is a build of crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2022Apr07.5D3123 from Bilal
I hope the guys can solve this problem ;)

https://dropmefiles.com/mOseU (https://dropmefiles.com/mOseU)

(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=https%3A%2F%2Fdropmefiles.com%2FmOseU&hash=bb34f6b8664343b14df94d569d93d1d7)
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: Walter Schulz on May 18, 2022, 10:17:06 PM
Bilal building for 5D3? You may confuse him with Danne...
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: dream951 on May 18, 2022, 11:29:02 PM
Bilal building for 5D3? You may confuse him with Danne...
Its here...
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=26443.msg238349#msg238349
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: Walter Schulz on May 18, 2022, 11:35:58 PM
Test this one:
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern_dannephoto_git/downloads/
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: dream951 on May 18, 2022, 11:44:46 PM
Test this one:
https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern_dannephoto_git/downloads/
Thanks!
Tomorrow will test it ;)
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: theBilalFakhouri on May 19, 2022, 12:15:22 AM
Its here...
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=26443.msg238349#msg238349

I just have updated download links to latest Danne build.
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: dream951 on May 19, 2022, 07:27:01 AM
I just have updated download links to latest Danne build.
I understand you...
I hope liveview is not broken
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: theBilalFakhouri on May 19, 2022, 11:37:04 AM
I understand you...

Yeah, I know that :)
That reply was to for other users to stop confusion.

I hope liveview is not broken

LiveView will be stretched in "anamorphic" modes on 5D3, that's how it works currently.

Unfortunately, nothing to do right now. You need to use "Framing" preview from RAW video submenu, but, as far as I know "Framing" preview won't work with HDMI as in your case.

You need to stick with LCD screen if you want to use crop mode presets with high resolutions (which doesn't have correct real-time preview).
Title: Re: 5D Mark iii in crop mode with external monitor
Post by: dream951 on May 19, 2022, 01:08:19 PM
Yeah, I know that :)
That reply was to for other users to stop confusion.

LiveView will be stretched in "anamorphic" modes on 5D3, that's how it works currently.

Unfortunately, nothing to to right now. You need to use "Framing" preview from RAW video submenu, but, as far as I know "Framing" preview won't work with HDMI as in your case.

You need to stick with LCD screen if you want to use crop mode presets with high resolutions (which doesn't have correct real-time preview).

Thanks Bilal!
It's a pity that I'm not good at coding and I can't help you with solving this problem:(
But I am always ready to help with testing!