Magic Lantern Forum

Developing Magic Lantern => General Development => Topic started by: MarkJW on July 29, 2012, 07:08:37 AM

Title: Compiling issues, toolchain doesn't matter.
Post by: MarkJW on July 29, 2012, 07:08:37 AM
I've tried three different toolchains in Ubuntu 12.04 x64, all with the same results. Midway through make halts on:
[ CC       ]   lens.o
[ CC       ]   picstyle.o
[ CC       ]   cfn.o
[ CC       ]   lcdsensor.o
[ CC       ]   zebra.o
[ CC       ]   shoot.o
../../src/shoot.c: In function 'display_trap_focus_info':
../../src/shoot.c:5362:105: error: 'DISPLAY_TRAP_FOCUS_MSG_BLANK' undeclared (first use in this function)
../../src/shoot.c:5362:105: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
make[1]: *** [shoot.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/ubuntu/magic-lantern/platform/500D.111'
make: *** [500D] Error 2
ubuntu@Ubuntu-Latitude-D830:~/magic-lantern$

I actually went and commented out the offending line and another halt showed up a little later, but I can't be sure they're not related so I'll save that for next post.  :-X
Title: Re: Compiling issues, toolchain doesn't matter.
Post by: vtrandal on July 31, 2012, 12:34:17 PM
I too am now getting this error since I added mlong-calls to CFLAGS in Makefile.inc. At least the build seems to take a little longer to fail.

As an alternative I installed Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS 32-bit, and I guess it builds ML OK.

But the build just stops as follows:
Found 40 symbols
rm testplug.bin.reloc
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/vtrandal/magic-lantern/plugins/testplug'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vtrandal/magic-lantern/plugins'
vtrandal@ubuntu:~/magic-lantern$

And I can't quite tell exactly what or where the output is. Using locate I find a lot of new autoexec.bin files but no new .fir files.
Title: Re: Compiling issues, toolchain doesn't matter.
Post by: jcreedon on August 01, 2012, 10:43:25 AM
This is being caused by DISPLAY_TRAP_FOCUS_MSG_BLANK being commented out in the consts.h for the 500D. Someone had commented it out by mistake, but it seems to have been fixed, just do an hg pull and an hg update to fix it.