Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => Hardware and Accessories => Topic started by: WaltMarsh on July 13, 2012, 02:13:45 PM

Title: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: WaltMarsh on July 13, 2012, 02:13:45 PM
While recording long events it would be great if there is a shortcut to disable one side of the battery grip, open the compartment door, replace battery, close compartment door, enable battery port, all while recording.

Is this possible?
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: Malcolm Debono on July 13, 2012, 02:22:40 PM
What kind of grip do you have? When I open mine, both batteries come out, so it definitely wouldn't be possible.
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: nanomad on July 13, 2012, 02:22:56 PM
Do you mind uploading a macro shot of the battery grip door?
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: ilguercio on July 13, 2012, 03:13:54 PM
My BG is a clone but i guess every one of them is pretty much the same.
If i start the camera with the batteries inside but with the door open everything is fine.
Then, when you close the door, the switch triggers and you lose power for the amount of time the spring takes to come back into place.
This contact can probably be faked, i don't know, it would be a nice feature for hardcore movie users.
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: WaltMarsh on July 13, 2012, 03:16:20 PM
I'm not sure of the name, but this is where I purchased it.

http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Canon-Digital-Camera-BG-E6/dp/B003FHNDF4/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header

(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fecx.images-amazon.com%2Fimages%2FI%2F51kNqyjWGYL.jpg&hash=2a2028d674c45b987d85ca91ce3191e4)
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: nanomad on July 13, 2012, 04:26:47 PM
Can you confirm that this works?:
- Start with the lid open and two batteries
- Power up camera
- Hotswap one battery
- Camera doesn't shutdown

If so, I'll have a look at the firmware to see if I can spot something
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: ilguercio on July 13, 2012, 04:36:33 PM
Can you confirm that this works?:
- Start with the lid open and two batteries
- Power up camera
- Hotswap one battery
- Camera doesn't shutdown

If so, I'll have a look at the firmware to see if I can spot something
It wors for me with 50D and BG-E2 clone :)
I bet every BG works the same ;)
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: WaltMarsh on July 13, 2012, 04:57:38 PM
Can you confirm that this works?:
- Start with the lid open and two batteries
- Power up camera
- Hotswap one battery
- Camera doesn't shutdown

If so, I'll have a look at the firmware to see if I can spot something

Yes this works.
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: Malcolm Debono on July 13, 2012, 05:26:30 PM
I bet every BG works the same ;)

Unfortunately it won't work with newer grips since now the compartment opens from the side, and you need to eject the tray containing both batteries to replace any one of them (see picture below).

(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.e-wintech.com%2Fshop%2Fcomponents%2Fcom_virtuemart%2Fshop_image%2Fproduct%2FUsed_Canon_Batte_4feafa629de91.jpg&hash=a1f5a7cfdd6397dd19aa7ba8cfd84ca2)
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: ilguercio on July 13, 2012, 06:52:00 PM
Unfortunately it won't work with newer grips since now the compartment opens from the side, and you need to eject the tray containing both batteries to replace any one of them (see picture below).

(https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.e-wintech.com%2Fshop%2Fcomponents%2Fcom_virtuemart%2Fshop_image%2Fproduct%2FUsed_Canon_Batte_4feafa629de91.jpg&hash=a1f5a7cfdd6397dd19aa7ba8cfd84ca2)
That's for rebel only, am i correct?
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: KeeganBaird on July 13, 2012, 07:02:26 PM
That's for rebel only, am i correct?

My Meike brand grip for my 60d slide out like this...
Title: Re: Swapping Batteries in Battery Grip
Post by: 1% on July 14, 2012, 12:50:39 AM
Both of my grips slide out to the side. I don't think there is even anything besides +/- on the grip anyway.

Does the battery meter even work with most grips? I think on my 400D it seems to and its a tavor grip. On the 600D my meike grip reports full.. hardly ever 2 bars and then "change the battery pack."