Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => Tutorials and Creative Uses => Topic started by: Audionut on July 08, 2014, 05:19:32 AM

Title: Intervalometer
Post by: Audionut on July 08, 2014, 05:19:32 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intervalometer

Quote
An intervalometer is a device which counts intervals of time. (Other names include interval meter and interval timer). Such devices commonly are used to signal, in accurate time intervals, the operation of some other device. For instance, an intervalometer might activate something every 30 seconds.


With Magic Lantern, there is no need for an external device, we have an intervalometer built right in.

You will find it in the Shoot menu.
(https://s15.postimg.cc/naisy9c97/shoot_menu.png)



The Options

(https://s15.postimg.cc/ocszgsfmz/Intervalometer.png)


Take a pic every:

Start trigger:

Start after:

Stop after:

Manual FocusRamp:



Hints:


Power Saving:
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: barepixels on July 08, 2014, 05:34:06 AM
thnx for the tut..  waiting on the tut for "Don't click me"

hmm interval to ramp silence pics?  i guess that would be a good plan "B" if exif info for silence pics is not doable.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: Audionut on July 08, 2014, 02:35:44 PM
AETTR discussion moved here:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12588.0

hmm interval to ramp silence pics?  i guess that would be a good plan "B" if exif info for silence pics is not doable.

This (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=8431.0) will do ramping.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: homemadefrog on November 03, 2017, 04:57:48 PM
I'm looking to shoot a multi-day time-lapse and only record during the daytime (for plant growth).  Any chance ML will ad a start/end time or even just a go for X hours then pause for X hours cycle duration?

Thanks

Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: Walter Schulz on November 04, 2017, 12:20:13 AM
As written before: I cannot recommend to rely on ML (or any software at all) for long term use. Think about some device using a watchdog timer (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watchdog_timer) taking care things running as planned. ML may or maybe not take part in this operation.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: ONiLX on March 10, 2019, 06:30:15 AM
Is there a way to turn on autofocus while the intervalometer is running. I’d like to stick my camera at the end of a runway and have it track the models as they walk toward and away from my camera.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: Walter Schulz on March 10, 2019, 06:48:37 AM
Yes, there is (Shoot -> Shoot Preferences) but ATM the feature is buggy. See issue #2923 (https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/2923/feature-use-autofocus-breaks).
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: jesusvpct on April 22, 2019, 06:10:58 PM
Hi! I have a question about "Take a pic every" setting. I want to make a timelapse for night sky, I set Take picture setting to 20", and I set the shutter to 15", but it's not working. It ignores the time between pictures of 20", there isn't a gap between pictures.

I have a Canon EOS 550D with 1.1.0 firmware and Nightly.2018Jul04.550D version of MagicLantern (from this https://bitbucket.org/daniel_fort/magic-lantern/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jul04.550D110.zip (https://bitbucket.org/daniel_fort/magic-lantern/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2018Jul04.550D110.zip)).

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: Walter Schulz on April 22, 2019, 08:05:40 PM
Make sure to disable "Long exposure noise reduction".
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: jesusvpct on April 23, 2019, 10:49:26 AM
Make sure to disable "Long exposure noise reduction".
It's disabled, so that's not the problem.

Enviado desde mi ONEPLUS A6013 mediante Tapatalk

Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: Walter Schulz on April 23, 2019, 10:58:02 AM
Zip content of ML/Settings, upload zipped file somewhere for public access, link it here and give info about cam settings in use:
Mode M?
Remote Trigger in use?
Shoot mode (Single, Continuous, ...)?
No bracketing configured in Canon menu?
AF off?
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: jesusvpct on April 23, 2019, 02:31:10 PM
Configuration: Mode M, Single without remote trigger, Without bracketing.

ML Settings: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AhkX69vyW8arlCy0LiMblmQISwfS
Canon Settings: https://photos.app.goo.gl/Kaey1tNV779euH4J9 (this is a sample but on night ISO 800-1600 and lower F)

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: a1ex on April 23, 2019, 02:55:37 PM
Your settings, summarized:

- Take a picture every 15 seconds
- Capturing one picture takes at least 20 seconds (22 would be more realistic)

Let's say you have a daily job. Your boss asks you to work for 35 hours every day (yes, every single day, i.e. every 24 hours). What are you going to do?

Or, in your case, what are you expecting ML intervalometer to do?
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: Walter Schulz on April 23, 2019, 03:02:06 PM
Just what the man said.
You explained your settings: Interval timer 20 s, exposure setting = 15 s. This will work. Without Long exp. noise reduction.
Actual setting in Magic.cfg: Interval timer 15 seconds.
See https://wiki.magiclantern.fm/camera_help#intervalometer
Common error, though.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: jesusvpct on April 23, 2019, 03:21:34 PM
Just what the man said.
You explained your settings: Interval timer 20 s, exposure setting = 15 s. This will work. Without Long exp. noise reduction.
Actual setting in Magic.cfg: Interval timer 15 seconds.
See https://wiki.magiclantern.fm/camera_help#intervalometer
Common error, though.
I'll try it! Thanks!

Edited: I now understand ML intervalometer configuration. I have to set 35 seconds instead of 15, because i want a gap of 15 seconds and picture duration is 20 seconds, so 15+20. This is not the same that i have on external intervalometer, but now I know how to setup on ML the same behaviour.
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: jesusvpct on April 23, 2019, 03:29:56 PM
Your settings, summarized:

- Take a picture every 15 seconds
- Capturing one picture takes at least 20 seconds (22 would be more realistic)

Let's say you have a daily job. Your boss asks you to work for 35 hours every day (yes, every single day, i.e. every 24 hours). What are you going to do?

Or, in your case, what are you expecting ML intervalometer to do?
Well, i came from external intervalomter, and It shoots a picture and when finished, then there is a time configured to shoot again (i.e. 15sec). The behaviour is: take a picture (i.e. 20secs of pic), after picture is taken, then there is a countdown of time gap configured (i.e. 15 seconds), and then after finished the countdown, another picture is taken using the time configured. I though that this was the same behaviour on ML, but I'm wrong.

Enviado desde mi ONEPLUS A6013 mediante Tapatalk

Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: a1ex on April 23, 2019, 03:39:18 PM
I have never used an external intervalometer, so I did not try to copy one when implementing the above. I've rather used LiveView (i.e. constant frame rate, regardless of the exposure time) as reference.

Is the phrase "Take a picture every N seconds" not clear enough? Can you suggest a better wording?
Title: Re: Intervalometer
Post by: jesusvpct on April 23, 2019, 09:32:43 PM
I have never used an external intervalometer, so I did not try to copy one when implementing the above. I've rather used LiveView (i.e. constant frame rate, regardless of the exposure time) as reference.

Is the phrase "Take a picture every N seconds" not clear enough? Can you suggest a better wording?
I'm not criticizing the term, I just did not understand the function, but now I know how It works, so now I can use it as I want :-).

Sorry if I didn't understand at the beginning.

Enviado desde mi ONEPLUS A6013 mediante Tapatalk