Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => General Help Q&A => Topic started by: 3dbybrunolopes on February 16, 2014, 10:09:19 AM

Title: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: 3dbybrunolopes on February 16, 2014, 10:09:19 AM
Hello,

Just a noob question, for installation puroposes we have to dial our cameras to manual mode, but after installation, can we use other modes, like Av, or Tv?


Thanks
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: Stedda on February 16, 2014, 10:10:29 AM
Is this a joke?

Of course you can...
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: 3dbybrunolopes on February 16, 2014, 11:15:44 AM
LOL

It's not a joke...just a discharge of consciousness :)
because the camera is still under warranty...


Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: Walter Schulz on February 16, 2014, 11:18:21 AM
because the camera is still under warranty...

Don't get the concept here, too.
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: Stedda on February 16, 2014, 11:33:44 AM
So you've read and are aware of the explicit warnings/risks that come with using ML or the even more risky 3rd party builds (TL) and are still worried about your warranty?
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: Audionut on February 16, 2014, 03:44:00 PM
So you've read and are aware of the explicit warnings/risks that come with using ML or the even more risky 3rd party builds (TL) and are still worried about your warranty?

I was too  ;)

Then I decided that the benefits of ML outweighed the benefits of  warranty.   ;D
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: Stedda on February 16, 2014, 03:49:56 PM
Ok, but were you worried about turning the dial? ;) ;D
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: Audionut on February 16, 2014, 03:56:27 PM
heh, no.  But I've done plenty of other things that could easily be considered more stupid  ;)

I give the OP some credit based on 2 things.  First, s/he was aware it was a noob question.  Second, s/he asked before braking things and then spamming the forum with, "I did something wrong, HELP MEEEEEeeeeeeeeeee!"

 :P
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: 3dbybrunolopes on February 17, 2014, 12:27:21 AM
thank you...Audionut! :)
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: toze777 on February 24, 2014, 12:28:55 PM
You dont have to use only M mode ...
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: mad.eos on February 24, 2014, 12:47:47 PM
Doesn't the warranty (in MOST cases) only analyze the product hardware-wise rather than if it was "tampered" with software, I mean, ML isn't even a Firmware per say and not some kind of hack, it's more like a "Original Firmware Unlocker" or "Firmware Add-on" if you will...

Just curious about how Canon support will act upon a situation where it is detected a 3rd party bootflag on the camera.
Title: Re: Do I have to use always manual mode?
Post by: Walter Schulz on February 24, 2014, 04:47:33 PM
Just curious about how Canon support will act upon a situation where it is detected a 3rd party bootflag on the camera.

Has happened before. No action at all until now.