Magic Lantern Forum

Experimental builds (WIP) => Tragic Lantern => Topic started by: trphotograpy on February 02, 2014, 07:10:28 PM

Title: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 02, 2014, 07:10:28 PM
I have magic lantern running on both my 5d mkii and my 6D
has bulb ramping now been removed from magic lantern full stop? I notice its on my 5d mkii old firmware but not my 6d.
if I update my 5dmkii will it be removed? its probably the feature I use the most and was totally bummed out it was not on the 6d.

I have tried to use AutoETTR on the 6d to try and have got the same results 2 nights in a row of it failing to do much changing of any settings, I am close to giving up.
its shooting again now (day to night) and from looking at the pictures, its not going well again. the iso for one does not change

I have read that peoples posts about bulb ramping on there 6d, if there a previous build with it in I can download?
it is super easy to use on the 5dmkii
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 02, 2014, 07:40:21 PM
Bulb ramping was removed from ML. I think its turned into the post deflicker scripts.

ETTR is working as far as I can tell, should be used in M mode.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 02, 2014, 08:05:40 PM
just brought it back in and another disaster. do I need to change anything so the iso changes? I set it to 200 and it did not change at all

I have set it to all the setting in this thread -

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5705.0
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 02, 2014, 08:39:31 PM
ISO changes constantly for me. Maybe try a newer version? If you compile try compiling the latest.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 02, 2014, 09:05:47 PM
it appears not even the exposure changed, bah
I'll see if there is another version.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 03, 2014, 02:03:39 PM
Ok got a slightly newer version but no setting are changing by them selves still when running. should they be changing?
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 03, 2014, 05:37:39 PM
I am using a manual samsang 14mm lens, could this be the problem?
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 03, 2014, 05:49:22 PM
Heh, are the registers wrong though? Or just not written into meta data (white level)?

Definitely a large difference in a photo taken with mini_iso and without.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 04, 2014, 12:18:27 AM
I'm not sure what you mean tbh.
tonight I have tried doing it but with auto exposer on too with a few of the settings tweaked and it seems to have done the job.
does that do the same sort of bulb ramping thing?
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 04, 2014, 01:39:15 AM
I think I replied to the wrong thread.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 05, 2014, 09:44:52 PM
a little update, I installed the newest nightly build on my 5d mkii and the ETTR bulb ramping method works a dream and completely different to how the 6d reacts so I am going with the 6d is not quite working yet.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 05, 2014, 11:22:26 PM
More specifics on what/how is wrong? I'm not a big bulb ramping user
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 06, 2014, 11:19:06 AM
nothing happens, with the same settings on both for example
as a test. I set up the intervalometer, deflicker and auto ETTR on both.
After each shot the 5d will beep and do all its working out on screen and get the right exposures/levels. (like the old bulb ramping feature) and then the settings will change when I move the camera.
on the 6d with the same settings on, the camera will take a picture and nothing will happen at all. just carry on with the intervalometer. If I move the camera it will all stay exactly the same settings.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: mofig on February 11, 2014, 01:36:59 AM
I'm going to try and get around to investigating this, I haven't even tried the bulb ramping yet on my 6D, but it's a feature I would love to have.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 11, 2014, 01:53:09 AM
Well its beeping and XMP files are being create:

Code: [Select]
<x:xmpmeta xmlns:x="adobe:ns:meta/" x:xmptk="Magic Lantern">
 <rdf:RDF xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
  <rdf:Description rdf:about=""
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
    xmlns:photoshop="http://ns.adobe.com/photoshop/1.0/"
    xmlns:crs="http://ns.adobe.com/camera-raw-settings/1.0/"
   photoshop:DateCreated="2050-01-01T00:00:00:00"
   photoshop:EmbeddedXMPDigest=""
   crs:ProcessVersion="6.7"
   crs:Exposure2012="+1.38849">
   <dc:subject>
    <rdf:Bag>
     <rdf:li>ML Post-Deflicker</rdf:li>
    </rdf:Bag>
   </dc:subject>
  </rdf:Description>
 </rdf:RDF>
</x:xmpmeta>

But I am getting a lot of misses on raw... maybe time to remove the dual iso preview... it got rejected from main and had the possibility of screwing up the image.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: mofig on February 11, 2014, 04:34:33 AM
I played around with this for a while tonight on my 6D, and everything seems to be working as it's supposed to. ISO is adjusting, XMP files are being created etc. Not sure what could be up, image review is enabled and such? I do get a RAW error message on the very first picture for some reason, but then it starts working.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: a1ex on February 11, 2014, 06:32:27 AM
I do get a RAW error message on the very first picture for some reason, but then it starts working.

This means you may be using the buffer address from the previous image. Sometimes it stays there, but other times it changes (especially once you take a burst).

So, I'd say double-check raw_buffer_intercept_from_stateobj and RAW_PHOTO_EDMAC (printing raw_buffer_photo with a notifybox for example may help figuring out what's going on). Note that on 5D3 there are 2 sync points from the state object (both with slightly different behavior); worth trying both of them.

Took a quick look at TL code and they are out of sync (RAW_PHOTO_EDMAC 0xc0f04808 matches the sync point from main repo - sssCompleteMem1ToRaw - but your state-object.c is using sssCompletePrepareLcdJpeg, which - at least on 5D3 - should be paired with 0xc0f04008).
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: Marsu42 on February 11, 2014, 06:55:05 AM
This means you may be using the buffer address from the previous image. Sometimes it stays there, but other times it changes (especially once you take a burst).

That also could be the problem for general raw problems - on my 6d/TL the first raw also fails and then is unreliable... I first tried to pin this down to compiler or timing problems, but but alex' explanation sounds logical.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: a1ex on February 11, 2014, 07:04:17 AM
This shows how important are these little clues (at first sight you may think they are just minor quirks and ignore them).

At this point I dare to ask you to try the 6D ML code (move it back from unmaintained and update the makefile). At least this part should be OK.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: Marsu42 on February 11, 2014, 07:45:25 AM
At this point I dare to ask you to try the 6D ML code (move it back from unmaintained and update the makefile). At least this part should be OK.

Ok, ok :-) ... but I do hope the backports will keep coming, I don't care about bleeding edge video but simple porting of latest modules to 6d (not only to TL) is the key for more people using ML again.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: mofig on February 11, 2014, 08:22:24 AM
Hi alex, I just tried with the ML version, and you are correct, the RAW error goes away.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: Marsu42 on February 11, 2014, 08:27:20 AM
Hi alex, I just tried with the ML version, and you are correct, the RAW error goes away.

Yippee, I'm sold :-> ... I just added another ml fork, will patch in my personal stuff and if everything works I will submit some pull requests for my features/fixes that went straight into TL.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 11, 2014, 02:27:09 PM
Quote
which - at least on 5D3 - should be paired with 0xc0f04008).

When I first imported the dual iso preview I tried this reg and got nothing. The raw error started happening when those messages went into ETTR. So the solution might be to just disable dual preview and go back to the old hook. I'll try it both ways again and see if its more reliable as I haven't heard a single person using the preview :)
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: Marsu42 on February 11, 2014, 03:42:11 PM
I'll try it both ways again and see if its more reliable as I haven't heard a single person using the preview :)

Thanks for trying to fix this, you never heard of me using the preview because I never got it to work, ever :-p
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: 1% on February 11, 2014, 06:15:03 PM
Weird, it always works for me except now with the first shot having "raw" error. I'll give it a go in a bit and see how both ways pan out.. btw, try io_crypt yet? I got it working but tested password only, not RSA.

So.. interestingly enough... now the register like 5DIII works and the preview does not.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: trphotograpy on February 18, 2014, 05:57:15 PM
weird, come back to it and still exactly the same. surely I cannot be missing something obvious. its the same settings as the 5d
:?
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: slamming on March 23, 2014, 10:45:52 AM
Im getting the RAW error and general ETTR inconsistent performance when used with the intervalometer too.  Problem hasnt rectified itself after i switched to ML nightlies either (6D).
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: Marsu42 on March 23, 2014, 10:53:47 AM
Im getting the RAW error and general ETTR inconsistent performance when used with the intervalometer too.  Problem hasnt rectified itself after i switched to ML nightlies either (6D).

In my experience raw is still buggy on the 6d, no matter TL or ML, the problem is that the raw dev (alex) doesn't have a 6d camera to test.

It helps if you at least turn off jpeg and *only* shoot raw, this at least is a known issue. For everything else, try to isolate the exact circumstances and make it reproducible, then post a bug ticket instead of cross-posting in the forum.
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: slamming on March 23, 2014, 11:38:24 AM
In my experience raw is still buggy on the 6d, no matter TL or ML, the problem is that the raw dev (alex) doesn't have a 6d camera to test.

It helps if you at least turn off jpeg and *only* shoot raw, this at least is a known issue. For everything else, try to isolate the exact circumstances and make it reproducible, then post a bug ticket instead of cross-posting in the forum.
How do i post a bug ticket?
Title: Re: Canon 6d bulb ramping, Auto ETTR
Post by: Marsu42 on March 23, 2014, 11:54:53 AM
How do i post a bug ticket?

You might want to look into the "Bug Reports" section in the main forum menu :-p

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues?status=new&status=open