Magic Lantern Forum

Using Magic Lantern => General Help Q&A => Topic started by: bondiphotos on August 25, 2013, 01:08:44 AM

Title: HDR with 3 second delay between shots
Post by: bondiphotos on August 25, 2013, 01:08:44 AM
I do interior shots where I shutter bracket with an off camera flash and need time for strobe to recycle, and would like to do HDR with a 3 second delay.

5DII and I've tried Stable Release: v2.3 and nightly build. When I try to use intervalometer and advanced bracketing at the same time, it runs through the HDR sequence but with no delay, also it doesn't stop at the number of shots specified in the intervalometer menu, but goes for another round of bracketing.

Any ideas, this is the only thing I want ML for.
Title: Re: HDR with 3 second delay between shots
Post by: dmilligan on August 25, 2013, 03:27:21 AM
Pretty easy to do with a script. You'll have to use 2.3 stable, the nightlys have lost script support momentarily b/c of all the module stuff.

Something like this:



console_hide();

//0 EV
takepic();
sleep(3.0);

//+2.0 EV
set_ae(2.0);
takepic();
sleep(3.0);

//-2.0 EV
set_ae(-2.0);
takepic();


Modify to suit your needs

EDIT: I take that back about using the stable 2.3 it didn't have scripting. You'll actually have to use an old nightly.  Probably sometime around april I think.
Title: Re: HDR with 3 second delay between shots
Post by: Walter Schulz on August 25, 2013, 03:33:01 AM
If you combine Adv. Bracketing and Intervalometer the camera will do
(number of frames in Adv. Bracketing) * (number of shots in Intervalometer)

If you want to put a delay between Adv. Bracketing shots you may want to use Mirror Lockup "Always ON".


Ciao
Walter
Title: Re: HDR with 3 second delay between shots
Post by: Robbie on February 09, 2016, 05:41:58 AM
The opening post of this thread describes exactly what looking to get out of ML.  Additionally, there is code provided in the thread.  My question:

1.  Please confirm that this feature is incorporated into the latest version of ML.  If so, I'm struggling to find it and would appreciate a little help.
2.  If not in current version of ML, is the code posted earlier in the thread valid? 
3.  Is code is still valid, do u have to enter the same lines for every EV step or is there a simpler way?

My apologies in advance if this has been resolved previously.  I did search the forum and this was the best solution back in 2013.

Thanks in advance
Title: Re: HDR with 3 second delay between shots
Post by: dmilligan on February 09, 2016, 07:43:29 PM
2. No

However, there is now scripting support in the latest nightly builds, but it is a totally different scripting language: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14828

Some other Lua scripting related topics:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16530
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16610
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16614
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16560