Author Topic: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?  (Read 4409 times)

sammyb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« on: November 07, 2013, 04:10:07 PM »
Installed ML with the raw modules on my 5D MK3 and am super keen on shooting RAW with it but I read on the forums that once it's been installed and if you have messed with the bootflag (which most tutorials show how to do) that you won't be able to totally get ML off you're camera by reinstalling or updating you're firmware. I reinstalled my firmware but I still have a 3 second delay when turning on my camera.

Is there any way to fix this?

mva

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 05:41:49 PM »
Is there any way to fix this?

No.  (But apparently there's a way to lessen the delay a bit.)

If you read the threads on the issue, you'll discover that you and others in your situation should "learn how to read" or something to that effect, whereas in fact at the start of instructions for installing raw on the 5d3 there should be something like this:

Under no circumstances begin installing raw on your 5D3 until you have read this

with a link to a description of the bootflag issue on the 5D3, the effects it has, the fact that most aren't bothered by it but some may some have concerns, any information about the nature of the problem and the prospects for a future solution that the devs are willing to divulge, a reminder not to nag devs about when a solution will be forthcoming, etc.

That would have allowed you to make a choice as to whether or not getting the truly amazing raw capabilities on your 5D3 in light of all this is worth it for you. But you didn't get that choice.

People have suggested repeatedly in the threads that better warnings be posted to help prevent this sort of thing from happening, and for the life of me I can't understand why it hasn't occurred.

jose_ugs

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • 5DM3
Re: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2013, 05:50:14 PM »
Preach on mva :)

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3204
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2013, 06:02:42 PM »
If you read the threads on the issue, you'll discover that you and others in your situation should "learn how to read" or something to that effect, whereas in fact at the start of instructions for installing raw on the 5d3 there should be something like this:

http://wiki.magiclantern.fm/install
Quote
Before installing Magic Lantern, you need to:
...
Do your research. There is a lot of information available on this site. Read the user guide and the FAQ, explore the in-depth articles and the documentation section.

Download ML for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3.

Usage:
1) Update camera firmware to 1.1.3.
2) Format the card from the camera.
3) Copy ML files on the card and run Firmware Update.

NOTES
THIS VERSION OF MAGICLANTERN HAS AUTOBOOT DISABLED
Which means you'll have to re-run the firmware update every time you power off the camera.
It's a safety measure, so don't ask to remove it until the port is stabler.

Risks:
- Alpha 1 was downloaded over 3000 times, so it should be OK.
- Nothing is written into ROM, and no camera settings are changed by this version, so risks should be minimal.
- I didn't run any field testing, there may be rough edges, not recommended for production work.
- If anything goes wrong, we don't pay for repairs. Use Magic Lantern at your own risk!

...

FOR DEVELOPERS ONLY

Want to help with the porting proces? Use this special updater file to enable the bootflag and dump the firmware. With this, you can compile your own autoexec.bin and run it on your camera.

(BE AWARE: This file will set a boot flag which cannot be undone (yet).  This will increase your camera boot time slightly and also increase the wake up time from 0.2 sec to 2 sec.) added by Renato 11-6-2013

You will be able to try the entire ML feature set, but the risks of permanent damage are a lot higher than with the public alphas. Use it at your own risk.

sammyb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2013, 06:17:50 PM »
Thank you for you're responses. I will admit I could of done some more research but the answers I did come across were vague, and I wasn't sure if those answers were even correct. I agree there should be more "warnings" about this, but I think the larger issue is that most tutorials from outside the forum on installing ML Raw include setting the boot-flag and don't actually warn you that it will add a delay.

I don't mind about the delay to much, it just bugs me I can no longer get my camera back to a "factory" state, which is entirely my fault none the less. Hopefully in the future the fantastic devs on here release a fix for this, until then I can handle a couple seconds on my startup and I look forward to shooting raw.

mva

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2013, 07:00:10 PM »
Preach on mva :)
Thanks for that, jose_ugs. I hadn't realized how ridiculous I was being.

dmilligan: Thanks. I see that some additional warnings in red have been posted in recent days (including here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5520.0 ). That's good.

I'd also suggest adding in the comments column for the 5D3 in the "current raw video capabilities" chart (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6215.0) some text like "bootflag currently can't be reset" or a number for a footnote with text like that.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2013, 01:29:55 AM »
Thanks for that, jose_ugs. I hadn't realized how ridiculous I was being.

dmilligan: Thanks. I see that some additional warnings in red have been posted in recent days (including here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5520.0 ). That's good.

I'd also suggest adding in the comments column for the 5D3 in the "current raw video capabilities" chart (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6215.0) some text like "bootflag currently can't be reset" or a number for a footnote with text like that.
Done
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

mva

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Is it not possible to totally remove ML?
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2013, 07:12:27 AM »
Thanks RenatoPhoto. Much appreciated. :)