Author Topic: Fast Advanced Bracket  (Read 14121 times)

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Fast Advanced Bracket
« on: September 28, 2013, 01:35:15 AM »
Bracketing ML is slow. I decided to change it.  ;)



This work on 500D.

Example video :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uc0ykWnwIqU&feature=youtu.be

Here is the code (requires cleaning, maybe tomorrow):
https://bitbucket.org/Gr3g01/ml-hdr/commits/d0d618ba2cb62533757311e4112378ed50bbfa0d

New repository :
https://bitbucket.org/Gr3g01/ml-hdr2/compare#diff

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2013, 03:01:55 AM »
Can you explain how its faster than ML standard please? :)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2013, 09:01:53 AM »
Nice!

5D2, 4x2EV: 1/30 <delay> 1/125 1/125 1/125. Boo...

@Doyle4: his video is very clear, try watching it ;)

engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2013, 11:38:34 AM »
Extremely relevant to my interests. Not sure why it's so slow now. I tried to do fast silent pic hdr with pico c but it took forever.

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2013, 12:16:28 PM »
@Doyle4: his video is very clear, try watching it ;)

Oops... didnt see the links underneath :P what late nights do to you, looks great!

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2013, 12:23:55 PM »
When its been cleaned etc, do you think Dual Iso could be synced along side with it?

c2s07

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • 500D/6D/0.07D
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2013, 01:01:18 PM »
I was hoping the tweak eliminated the mirror slap between exposures. :)

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2013, 01:37:45 PM »
once cleaned im sure itll run nice along silent shutter :)

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2013, 08:13:20 PM »
Now works with Intervalometer.
Fast bracketing 15EV, Sequence (0 - --), EV increment (0.5 EV) sounds like an start old engine LOL  ;D

Ops damaged the SD card.
Card work, the housing is in 2 parts  :(

We need fast DOF bracketing? Each code optimization is useful when continuous shooting.

engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2013, 08:44:34 AM »
Quote
We need fast DOF bracketing

yesssss


engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2013, 02:50:00 AM »
This is exciting. Should make DOF bracketing a lot more practical.

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2013, 07:38:40 PM »
Do you know something about LockSw? - http://magiclantern.wikia.com/wiki/Tx19a

If this lock SW1 and SW2, it would be useful for the Bulb Timer and Fast Bracketing.


Speed fix - https://bitbucket.org/Gr3g01/ml-hdr/commits/46b86f6f5b9c681ea1d898d561f272da3cc5b9a7
Verifying "get_halfshutter_pressed()" take too long.

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2013, 12:05:54 AM »
Tested on another camera than the 500D?

gerk.raisen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2013, 01:44:50 PM »
Excellent work Greg.
When a pull request? :)
 :P I can't wait to test it on my 60D ;D

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2013, 02:38:29 PM »
My results on 60D:

- sometimes it takes the bracketing correctly, but slow (just like before)
- sometimes it takes first shot at 0 EV, then a small delay, then all the remaining shots are taken quickly, but all of them (except the first) have the same exposure.

Example (5x2 EV, speed tweak on, everything else default):
- 1/500, 1/2000, 1/125, 1/8000, 1/30 (slow)
- 1/500, 1/2000, 1/2000, 1/2000, 1/2000 (fast)

This is with both high-speed and normal continuous modes. I just take a few bracketed sequences with the same settings, and the odds of getting either behavior seem roughly 50/50.

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2013, 05:49:00 PM »
It seems that when you take a picture, we can not change the shutter speed.
Maybe it does not work on cameras with two displays?


I think it could work like this:
Code: [Select]
SW2(0,50);
SW1(0,50);

if (shutterhdr) shutterhdr = COERCE(shutterhdr, 16, FASTEST_SHUTTER_SPEED_RAW); // 30s ... 1/8000 or 1/4000
prop_request_change_wait( PROP_SHUTTER, &shutterhdr, 4, 200);

SW2(1,50);
SW1(1,50);
It is too slow

gerk.raisen

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2013, 06:55:53 PM »
Hello Greg,

Have you made progress about this idea? It seems very promising, maybe why not try to port it to a module? :)

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2013, 07:24:03 PM »
Hello Greg,

Have you made progress about this idea? It seems very promising, maybe why not try to port it to a module? :)

We can add it to the repository, it works only on the 500D. I do not have another camera to check/change the code.
Maybe it will work on the 550D/600D.

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #19 on: October 14, 2013, 07:30:15 PM »
I was hoping the tweak eliminated the mirror slap between exposures. :)

It works, the mirror does not move!  ;D


c2s07

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • 500D/6D/0.07D
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2013, 09:37:05 PM »
That cannot work... it's not duct tape! :)

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #21 on: October 14, 2013, 09:54:34 PM »
I think we can not do this function.
500D has one motor in the mirror box, he is responsible for the mirror and shutter.
For example, the 50D has two motors.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2013, 02:44:26 PM »
Correct, all the rebels have mirror motion linked with shutter operation.
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #23 on: October 15, 2013, 09:05:25 PM »
Motor control is via Tx19a?

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Fast Advanced Bracket
« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2013, 10:22:18 AM »
Probably  >:(
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

 

courtesy