Firmware Dumping and Loading into IDA

Started by AgentJJ, June 27, 2013, 01:32:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AgentJJ

I've been up and down this forum. 
Where can I find info on dumping the canon firmware, decrypting and loading into IDA (or similiar)?
This is particularly for the recent 650D firmware release.  I've some experience with C/C++, uControllers and the like and would be very interested in joining development to move things forward.
Thanks

g3gg0

when booting the latest versions, you should find ROM dumps in your ML/LOG directory.
you can load ROM1 to 0xF8000000
Help us with datasheets - Help us with register dumps
magic lantern: 1Magic9991E1eWbGvrsx186GovYCXFbppY, server expenses: [email protected]
ONLY donate for things we have done, not for things you expect!

AgentJJ

Quote from: g3gg0 on June 27, 2013, 01:21:05 PM
when booting the latest versions, you should find ROM dumps in your ML/LOG directory.

Perfect, thanks!

cthornhill

g3ggo - is it universal that we can always load ROM1 to 0xF8000000? I saw this post, but no other clear (that I saw) note on the correct location of ROM1. I saw a reference that indicated ROM0 may be fixed in size on all cameras, so this makes sense,  but I did not find a hadcy table or note about both rome.

Just want to  be sure - any advice welcome as I get started going through the ROMs.

nanomad

The best option is to check the Makefile / stubs of each platform as it defines the correct ROM start address.
Note that some (all?) digicV models also relocate some functions into RAM at boot (check from RAM_OFFSET stub)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

g3gg0

some words i wrote earlier:

flash (ROM1) on normal cameras starts at 0xF8000000 and is either 0x00800000, 0x01000000 ox 0x02000000 large.