Author Topic: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom  (Read 145526 times)

vertigopix

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
  • EOS M - 60D - 6D
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #175 on: October 07, 2015, 12:31:03 PM »
Yep but VisionLOG is free...  ;)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3057
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #176 on: October 07, 2015, 04:26:37 PM »
Sure it is free but we don't know how much longer it'll be before this comes out?

Plus who wouldn't want Cinelog-C's bundle package in their post kit?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

simulacro

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Learning
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #177 on: October 07, 2015, 10:52:50 PM »
I like VisionLog. It's a very good tool in my opinion. It's made by professionals -Cinelog too  :) - and it's free. In my opinion it does the job very well done.
simulacrofilms.blogspot.com

JADURCA

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #178 on: October 07, 2015, 11:33:47 PM »
VisionLOG its good, but I can still make better color grades using Adobe Standard. Will like to test Cinelog-C too and see if can do better than Adobe Standard profile.

What about this one? http://www.vision-color.com/bmdfilm/

Anyone tried it?

KelvinK

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
  • Less words, more films
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #179 on: October 08, 2015, 12:43:18 PM »
Visionlog works best with Impulze/Osiris LUTs, Cinelog is more universal. I would say, you may have banding issues with some Impulze LUTs and cinelog, it's rare but exists, those luts tuned for visionlog.
6D - 5D - NEX

Andy600

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1838
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #180 on: October 08, 2015, 01:43:14 PM »
@KelvinK - If you're getting banding when using Impulz luts it means they either don't have enough resolution for whichever colorspace they are designed for or they have other artifacts that affect smoothness. Linear Lut interpolation can also cause issues where there is not enough quantize points. The source footage colorspace should ideally match the colorspace that the lut was developed for. Try it with Resolve 12 using RCM (i.e. not using Cinelog) and you will see the same banding issues.

VisionLog is more of a look than a colorspace. It has a lot of non-linear adjustments and can't be described with a transfer function and matrix in the same way as Log-C, S-log, C-Log, Cinelog-C etc so there is no practical way to invert or linearize it. The problem with adding so many non-linear corrections at the start of a log based workflow or when creating log intermediates, is that any quantize errors, rounding errors and hue shifts get baked into the image. You probably will not see any problems until later but you are effectively reducing the latitude for grading. The initial conversion of linear raw data should ideally be kept to as little corrective processing as possible and preferably be invertible.
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3057
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #181 on: October 09, 2015, 09:47:45 AM »
VisionLog is more of a look than a colorspace. It has a lot of non-linear adjustments and can't be described with a transfer function and matrix in the same way as Log-C, S-log, C-Log, Cinelog-C etc so there is no practical way to invert or linearize it. The problem with adding so many non-linear corrections at the start of a log based workflow or when creating log intermediates, is that any quantize errors, rounding errors and hue shifts get baked into the image. You probably will not see any problems until later but you are effectively reducing the latitude for grading. The initial conversion of linear raw data should ideally be kept to as little corrective processing as possible and preferably be invertible.
Exactly the reason why I use Cinelog-C.

"Less is more" because Andy did the "dirty" work by calculating dedicated proper color spaces for us and hence the reason why it isn't free. [emoji6]
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

JADURCA

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #182 on: October 09, 2015, 04:30:59 PM »
When I tried VisionLOG, I found that color skins comes with some sort of artifacts regarding colors or hue shifts, don't really know how to describe it. It just don't look natural. Specially on skin tones, and not to mention that color vividness is lost specially in magenta region, not sure if all color profiles with a LOG do this for magentas as a normal behavior or as @ Andy600 says, is just a more of a look than a dedicated colorspace. Need to test more color profiles to find out.

lewisczech

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #183 on: March 01, 2016, 07:40:01 PM »
For 70D folks: I recompiled the VisionLOG dcp file for 6D with the dcpTool: http://1drv.ms/1XYmtdo Not sure if it works correctly but I thought I'd share it anyway.

moifa

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #184 on: May 10, 2016, 07:35:30 AM »
Hi,

I have downloaded and installed the Visionlog profiles for my Canon 500D. But when I chose the Visionlog profile in Lightroom, the image becomes totally wash out. I check the image with Photoshop Camera Raw, it reads the image as taken with Canon 500D, so there is nothing wrong with the RAW image.

Am I missing something? I am running Lightroom 6.5 with Camera Raw 9.5. I have to use the Camera portrait profile for now.

Moifa

Roberto Mena

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #185 on: June 29, 2016, 01:54:12 AM »
With the help of Adobe I finally got VisionLog for ACR installed but now when I try to import DNG files into After Effects I get the warning "After Effects error: Photoshop file format error (-1) (45 ::35)". When I research the code I get a lot of people in help forums working with Maya. I don't even have Maya installed nor do any kind of CGI animation. I am just color correcting and grading MLV files with Adobe After Effects or Bridge. FYI, I also upgraded to CC 2015.3 . Also, if I try exporting DNG files graded with ACR camera profile via Adobe Bridge and move or copy the greaded files to a different folder, the DNG's do not get the correction or grading I applied in Bridge. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3537
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #186 on: June 29, 2016, 11:32:04 AM »
Are you missing frames in your dng sequence?

Roberto Mena

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #187 on: June 29, 2016, 07:04:00 PM »
Danne, no I am not missing frames and in fact, these are mlv/dng files I've used before in After Effects before updating to CC 2015.3 . But even if they where new DNG files I wouldn't know they where missing frames because I wouldn't be able to play them in After Effects to find out because it won't allow me to import them because of that stupid warning I get. What is also weird is if I use them in Bridge or Lightroom they work but I am not familiar with Bridge or Light Room to color grade or correct as well.

Roberto Mena

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #188 on: July 01, 2016, 05:23:41 PM »
UPDATE: I contacted Adobe to help me with my After Effects CC 2015.3 issue (After Effects error: Photoshop file format error (-1). (45 :: 35) where I can no longer import DNG files to this app. What was weird was that Adobe asked me to try importing DNG's with the older version of After Effects CS6 and it worked fine and even though it bugs me that I'd have to use the older version of AF CS6 but I still would use it to color grade and correct my DNG's but the one damn tool I've been chasing to work with is not implemented in AF CS6... the Dehazing tool! Again, I am still able to import DNG files with all of the other Adobe apps that have Adobe Camera RAW like Bridge and Lightroom CC 2015.3 The tech also downgraded my AE to CC 2015 along with the older version of Adobe Camera RAW and that still didn't fix the issue... wtf! Adobe said they where going to work on the issue and call me back.

Anyone else have any other suggestions, please? Thanks.

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3210
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #189 on: July 01, 2016, 06:03:17 PM »
Need more information. What RAW/MLV converter are you using? Have you tried a different one? Mac or Win? What camera? Dual ISO? Raw or MLV? etc. etc.

Upload a sample DNG and/or a small RAW/MLV file that exhibits the problem.

Roberto Mena

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #190 on: July 02, 2016, 06:54:43 AM »
MLV with sound. Mlviewer converter. MLVFS doesn't mount them either. Mac. Canon 7D. No Dual ISO. Log 8, etc. none matters. 23.976 fps. All these files worked perfectly before updating to CC 2015.3 and then installing VisionLOG ACR.

Adobe still hasn't gotten back.

When I come back celebrating this cool country's birthday in my awesome Cali, I will Upload a sample DNG and/or a small RAW/MLV file that exhibits the problem.

Thanks everyone.

Happy 4th of July!

Richard R

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #191 on: January 12, 2017, 10:52:54 PM »
Hello,
Does anyone know where I can download the file VisionLOG raw.
Because the site where suppose to download it is down.
Or can someone send me the file.
I would really appreciate it.

Thank's a lot.
cheers

DanHaag

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #192 on: January 26, 2017, 07:28:04 PM »
Scroll down on their website. They recently added the old stuff back there because so many people have been asking. http://www.vision-color.com/

Update: I just saw the LUT you're looking for might not be there at all. Send their support an email, maybe?

galxcom

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: VisionLOG profile for ACR & Lightroom
« Reply #193 on: April 03, 2017, 11:51:35 AM »
I used VisionLOG profile mostly to LUT photos in Photoshop after Lightroom when I had my Canon camera. But when I bought Sony everything became more complicated because now I can't use this super camera profiles in Lightroom to make correct (or kind of) LOG from raw that I can use in Photoshop with your paid LUTs after.

There are LUT converters like rec.709 to LOG but it is quite bad tweak I guess. Cuz they operate not with raw but with already converted tiff or something else.

So my question is to VisionLOG profile support: are you going to make such http://www.vision-color.com/visionlog/ product for other cameras? I have Sony Alpha ILCE-7RM2 and really want to use your great LUTs with raw photos made with this camera.
Well it seems your terms are not acceptable