Headline news

Want to help with Magic Lantern development, without having to code?

You can find our live webchat here: [email protected]

Author Topic: 60D RAW video - it's working !!!  (Read 247049 times)



savagecross

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #950 on: September 18, 2013, 05:11:46 PM »
Shot in Magic Lantern Video RAW using the canon 60D.
Color Grading done in Davinci Resolve.

   

tool

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #951 on: September 19, 2013, 01:10:44 PM »
Today I'll shoot some footage 720 50/60 fps with some takes on RAW :D

I have a couple of questions since the last time a shoot some RAW video.

1st  -- Zeored my Sandisk 45mb/s
2nd -- Format on camera

(Anyone using ExFAT?(formating each time on computer)) (Beneficts apart from more than 4gb?

3rd  -- Installed back ML (2.3)
4th  -- Upgraded to latest NightlyBuild (buildbot)

(Finally with Rawrec and other modules)

UPDATE12: I'll try this ontop of nightly Sept 19.

Testing now but I think it does not include LV_AF_RAW .

I love about the custom buidlds the global draw enable/disable in raw_rec menu.

For avoiding Pink Frames (last month I've got many pink frames :) LV_AF_RAW makes any difference?





From China

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #952 on: September 21, 2013, 05:26:24 PM »
Sounds like a buffer overflow (ML code overwriting Canon data structures). How to reproduce?
hello  Alex!
My question is how to use the latest build.
I unpacked the new version replaces the old version, but can not
Normal use,It is not the raw video Options.
My english is pool,There are many things I do not know.
I can not solve this problem now.
Can you give me some help? How to ues the latest build.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2013, 05:29:28 PM by From China »

WorkFl0w

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #953 on: September 23, 2013, 12:20:50 PM »
How to use the latest build´s

Go to the Menu "Prefs" Tab and search for "Config File."
Press "Restore ML defaults" and accept it.

After that you can normally load the modules.







5D Mark III
16-35mm 1:2,8L II / EF 24-105mm 1:4,0 L IS USM  / Canon EF 14mm/ 2,8/ L USM II

geodorno

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #954 on: September 24, 2013, 04:57:43 PM »
did a dual ISO raw test:

https://vimeo.com/74517601

lots of aliasing, but the checkered and striped walls are a subject to avoid with a dslr anyways...
and I got dead pixels, did not look closer into this, any suggestions??

finally handheld HDR video is possible!

thanks so much!!
« Last Edit: September 24, 2013, 05:01:30 PM by geodorno »
---   keep it magic   ---

WorkFl0w

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #955 on: September 24, 2013, 08:37:01 PM »
Where can i activate the dual iso ?
Is there a tutorial for Canon 60D or above ?
5D Mark III
16-35mm 1:2,8L II / EF 24-105mm 1:4,0 L IS USM  / Canon EF 14mm/ 2,8/ L USM II

waffuako

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #956 on: September 26, 2013, 07:40:18 PM »
ok. ive installed the Update no.12. but i can't enable the raw video. can anyone help me? it is my first time installing it and i directly installed the update no.12.

Brawl

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #957 on: September 27, 2013, 01:36:35 AM »
is true that 60D can shoot continuous recording at 1584x1058 at 24fps? which is the higher pixel resolution for RAW shooting in continuous recording on 60D in 16:9 (or close?) thx

dmilligan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1345
  • 60Da / 1100D
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #958 on: September 27, 2013, 02:40:13 PM »
nope, not even 720p is continuous, you have to go down to std. def. to get continuous, b/c the 60D has a crippled SD card slot that is limited to around 20MB/s, BUT it has so much freaking memory your can record about 5 seconds of close to 1080p (i can't remember the exact max resolution) or about 15 seconds of 720p

junior

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #959 on: September 28, 2013, 12:07:52 AM »
Guys! I Need your Advise

My SD Card is:
SanDisk Utra
32 GB
30MB/s

After i click record button (Early Stop) message show on my screen and every 70 frames my recording automatically stop.

I appreciate your help and suggestions.

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

OrionnebelGalaxie17

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #960 on: September 28, 2013, 11:57:11 PM »
« Last Edit: September 29, 2013, 12:00:03 AM by OrionnebelGalaxie17 »

alanjdoolan

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #961 on: September 29, 2013, 10:27:04 PM »
Guys! I Need your Advise

My SD Card is:
SanDisk Utra
32 GB
30MB/s

After i click record button (Early Stop) message show on my screen and every 70 frames my recording automatically stop.

I appreciate your help and suggestions.

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Having the same issue though I'm hitting 80 frames.  I tried reducing the ratio and hit about 100.  What cards are you guys using?

alanjdoolan

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #962 on: September 30, 2013, 12:29:42 PM »
What speed card min would I need in my 60D to get max size and quality on continuous filming?
Has anyone tried a SanDisk Pro 95mb/s card and if so, what settings could you reach when using continuous filming?
« Last Edit: September 30, 2013, 12:46:36 PM by alanjdoolan »

Flocksock

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #963 on: September 30, 2013, 06:55:36 PM »
check this:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6215.0

960 x 540 pixel for continuous filming.
If you shoot something near HD you can only shoot 7 seconds.

You don't need a faster card than 21 MB/s cause the D60 cannot write more than 21 MB/s to the card.
So you can't record longer or in higher resolution with a faster card.

junior

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #964 on: October 01, 2013, 08:56:34 AM »
check this:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6215.0

960 x 540 pixel for continuous filming.
If you shoot something near HD you can only shoot 7 seconds.

You don't need a faster card than 21 MB/s cause the D60 cannot write more than 21 MB/s to the card.
So you can't record longer or in higher resolution with a faster card.

but 960 x 540 is very small. it is possible additional frame if i upgrade my SD to 64?

Flocksock

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #965 on: October 01, 2013, 11:04:21 AM »
You can use 20 mb/s, or 100 MB/s or 1000 MB/s SD Card.
The Problem is that the writing speed on the D60 is limmited to 21 MB/s.

You cannot write anything that is faster than 21 MB/s.
That how the Hardware of the D60 is built. You cannot change that.
Even with a 100 MB/s SD Card... the speed is only 21 mb/s.

And with that speed you are not able to record in higher resolution.
Or if you shoot in higher resolution you can only record 134 frames.... (7 seconds)
I don't think that there is any fix.

It would be great if there would be an intern codec, better than h264.
To generate DNG files, oder PNG files, not at 12 bit, maybe 10bit.
smaller imagesize.... so that you don't need w writing speed up to 90 MB/s.
But i don't think this will ever happen.

junior

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #966 on: October 02, 2013, 08:25:07 AM »
Thank you so much Flocksock that is great information. I do some test right now using 1280 x 720 and i have 140 frames and i will show you guys the final result and also i turn it off the Global Draw because i experience some pink distortion image.

Flocksock

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #967 on: October 02, 2013, 11:49:42 AM »
Just found this video on vimeo:
https://vimeo.com/67984463

1280 x 544 pixel
410 frames (16 seconds)
Card = Cheap Transcend Class 10 card

Onoxyne

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #968 on: October 02, 2013, 08:50:57 PM »
Please : when your Nightly build version is working fine, could you write in your post which version is it ?
Thank you ! Magic lantern is great but I'm very afraid to try NB and I would like to use DUAL-ISO and RAW-video despite ! :-/
Argh ! I cannot decide me !

savagecross

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #969 on: October 02, 2013, 08:58:26 PM »

hi what nightly build did you guys use for DUAL ISO RAW?  i have dual iso as module but it refuses to load.

Marsu42

  • Supporter
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1491
  • 66d + flashes
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #970 on: October 03, 2013, 12:13:29 AM »
hi what nightly build did you guys use for DUAL ISO RAW?  i have dual iso as module but it refuses to load.

Always use the modules from the same nightly, the core as well as the modules are work in progress and modules obtained elsewhere are rather unlikely to work. When in doubt: compile yourself :-)

junior

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #971 on: October 05, 2013, 12:15:03 AM »
Thanks Magic Lantern


1280x720 / 140 frames per shot
Lens: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II
SD Card: SanDisk Utra | 32GB | 30MB/s

Flocksock

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #972 on: October 05, 2013, 11:10:02 AM »
nice!

Marsu42

  • Supporter
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1491
  • 66d + flashes
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #973 on: October 05, 2013, 02:39:39 PM »
1280x720 / 140 frames per shot

Impressive what you can get from 140 frames - but still, it is kinda short, I really wouldn't recommend the 60d for raw shooting with the limitation, esp. with the older 50d being much more capable, not to mention the 7d.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7582
  • 5D Mark Free
60D RAW video - it's working !!!
« Reply #974 on: October 05, 2013, 03:39:26 PM »
Back then, when we thought raw video was not even possible on 1000x cards at 24 fps, Luke Neumann asked me that even if I could record 3 seconds of video, he could definitely use that.

The 60D records 118 frames at 1734x976 24p according to my simulation. That's 5 seconds of video.

So, this is the strong point of 60D, compared to the other SD cameras from the same generation. If you already have one, I think it's a good idea to exploit this style (short clips); after a while, when you get confortable with the workflow and start getting good results with this limitation, you may consider upgrading (50D, 5D3, C500, BMCC, RED or whatever other camera that shoots raw and fits your needs and budget).