After Effects HDR Video Script

Started by Murphy, May 23, 2013, 02:11:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Murphy

Hi all. So i started playing around with Magic Lantern's HDR video the other day, and decided to write a little After effect script to automate my workflow, and thought I should share it here if anyone is interested.

http://www.basetheory.com.au/magic-lantern-hdr-video-script/

Its a pretty simple script, and it should be totally platform independent as long as you have AE (for all those mac heads who've been going insane with wine and enfuse).

The script will:
1) create a new composition for your video file
2) detect whether the first frame is high or low ISO
3) split the frames to seperate layers
4) tonemap those layers
5) add a few effects for fine tuning

Also totally GPL, so feel free to hack it to pieces.

Comments and criticisms are welcome. If you can think of anything that would improve the script, leave a comment.

Naturalbornsamy

hi,
wow great post, I can't wait to try it :) for now I probably did something wrong though !
I've just launched the script as I thought you explained but I got a message
seemingly saying that the error is line 65, and the "slider control" cannot be added at this point.
I don't really understand what it means or what I may have done wrong. Any idea ???
thanx in advance.

Murphy

Hmmm, if the script is running I highly doubt that its anything you did wrong.

I'm on an earlier version of After Effect, so my guess is that they may have slightly changed the code API between the versions, on how filter effects are added to layers.

The "Slider Control" is an effect which doesn't actually alter the layer in any way (kindof a dummy effect) but is useful for controlling things with expressions. The HDR script temporarily adds a Slider Control effect to the video layer, so it can run an expression to analise the pixels on frame 0 and frame 1 and determine which order the high and low ISO frames are in.