Author Topic: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion  (Read 247084 times)

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #25 on: May 23, 2013, 01:52:40 AM »
Maybe he is from Canon giving us hints?  ???

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #26 on: May 23, 2013, 01:55:53 AM »
Its up in the 6D repo... see if it does anything.

menoc

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #27 on: May 23, 2013, 01:58:48 AM »
Maybe he is from Canon giving us hints?  ???

Please don't spook him . . .

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #28 on: May 23, 2013, 01:59:35 AM »
Quote
Its up in the 6D repo... see if it does anything.
im scared lol

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #29 on: May 23, 2013, 02:01:37 AM »
Probably Canons way of bricking all our cams!! 8)
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #30 on: May 23, 2013, 02:02:42 AM »
Its will smith giving us all a virus. But must be slow acting cuz my cam still works :)

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #31 on: May 23, 2013, 02:05:53 AM »
is it faster tho?

N/A

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
  • Dreaming in 14 bit
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #32 on: May 23, 2013, 02:06:30 AM »
What the hell, t3i's are dirt cheap now, I'll give it a run if someone hooks a t3i link up.

7D. 600D. Rokinon 35 cine. Sigma 30 1.4
Audio and video recording/production, Random Photography
Want to help with the latest development but don't know how to compile?

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #33 on: May 23, 2013, 02:06:40 AM »
Its will smith giving us all a virus. But must be slow acting cuz my cam still works :)

I am dying to know ...  I will write a How to (Brick)  Manual...   :o
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #34 on: May 23, 2013, 02:07:19 AM »
Try it... I can't tell as latest modules do like 30MB/s for me. I guess you'd have to see if you're getting any additional frames.

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #35 on: May 23, 2013, 02:14:10 AM »
did not do anything for me... same speed

silvertonesx24

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • 5Dii
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #36 on: May 23, 2013, 02:16:51 AM »
Reading this: http://francoismalan.com/2011/10/raw-12bit-or-14bit-lossy-or-lossless/
... i guess that it would only make a very very slight difference!

If this is really working... I just dont have words for how awesome this is...

Absolutely! I just used 5D raw for a paying client today (stupid, I know, but it ran without a hitch) and the only pain really was swapping cards around. Need to load up on a few 64gbs. Any space or efficiency savings are welcomed.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3381
  • I have a 1Dx, I'm awesome.
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #37 on: May 23, 2013, 02:17:19 AM »
did not do anything for me... same speed

Are the DNG frames in the RAW video smaller then without this mod?


1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #39 on: May 23, 2013, 02:21:38 AM »
Ok, will edit then ... as per first post I guess?

DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #40 on: May 23, 2013, 02:22:58 AM »
Quote
Are the DNG frames in the RAW video smaller then without this mod?

nope its the same
g3gg0 did it work for you?


DTSET123

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #42 on: May 23, 2013, 02:25:01 AM »
 :-[

Mayo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #43 on: May 23, 2013, 02:29:52 AM »
I think he was answering 1%  ;)

We'll need to update raw_get_pixel() in raw2dng with the 12/10bit format, maybe store bit-depth in raw header and process raw accordingly?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #44 on: May 23, 2013, 02:30:16 AM »
Well its a bit fucked because new code uses a struct and not buffer_size_used, etc.

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #46 on: May 23, 2013, 02:43:14 AM »
I did this:

Code: [Select]

        if (saving_buffer_index != capturing_buffer_index)
        {
    if (!t0) t0 = get_ms_clock_value();
            void* ptr = buffers[saving_buffer_index].ptr;
            int size_used = buffers[saving_buffer_index].used;
buffer_size_compressed = (size_used * 12) / 14;
raw14_to_raw12(ptr, size_used);     
int r = FIO_WriteFile(f, ptr, buffer_size_compressed);
            if (r != buffer_size_compressed) goto abort;
            written += size_used;
//~ writtenL = (uint32_t) written;
            saving_buffer_index = mod(saving_buffer_index + 1, buffer_count);
        }


I think it needs more changes...says its writing at 33MB/s, lol

It compiled... will have to make new bin

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3381
  • I have a 1Dx, I'm awesome.
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #47 on: May 23, 2013, 02:51:25 AM »
Is the code just truncating bits, or is it compressing them into the remaining?

edit:  The OP states that the bits are being compressed.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #48 on: May 23, 2013, 02:52:07 AM »
I guess I'll find out?

http://pastebin.com/PviXPWNZ

It is saving files... I don't see any increase in speed but maybe a few extra frames... I think the change is still incomplete.

Pink garbage when I open them :(

Second shot had image cut up into squares like lv_rec used to do when it was out of sync.

Mayo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video
« Reply #49 on: May 23, 2013, 02:56:29 AM »
Did you modify raw2dng ?