Author Topic: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion  (Read 275305 times)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3249
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1350 on: August 27, 2017, 12:29:14 AM »
Take a 14bit MLV file and output it as 8bit and have a look at the output. Use mlv_dump on steroids for this:
Code: [Select]
mlv_dump -b 8 --dng Input.MLV

kyrobb

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1351 on: August 28, 2017, 12:54:22 AM »
In my very unprofessional opinion, 8 bit raw files still look better than the standard H.264 videos. I think they're still sharper. Recovery in shadows and highlights is no comparison to 14 bit, but I still feel it could be useful for people with slower cams. But is it possible?

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3249
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1352 on: August 28, 2017, 01:09:31 AM »
Can you upload 8bit example files where it shows no posterization for example?

kyrobb

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1353 on: August 28, 2017, 01:19:33 AM »
I tested this some time ago, and not very thoroughly, but I don't remember seeing posterization problems. Perhaps I didn't output as 8 bit correctly. Will have to retest. Thank you for the info.

keepersdungeon

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1354 on: August 30, 2017, 08:53:55 AM »
I've downloaded the latest experiment version for the 6D (21august)

1-When u activate the FPSoverride the whole image becomes brighter and overexposed , and looks like shutter speed doesn't affect it the only thing that worked was going to f8 or f16, didn't have that prob with previous version (Jul03)
 **FPS settings: 24fps, fix, and the rest didn't touch it

2-I'm also getting this error every time I start recording on an empty SD card (error was in both versions jul03 and august21)
   "FAILED: "WBAL3: queued:7 failed: 1 (requeued)" and I only get it once it doesn't seem to affect the video though or WB, and have a feeling I only get it when there's nothing on the SD card and I hit Record
So nobody is having the errors mentioned above? If I'm missing something would really like some help from you guys.
Thanks

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk


OlRivrRat

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1355 on: August 31, 2017, 02:34:44 AM »
      @KeepersDungeon

   Quote from: keepersdungeon on August 26, 2017, 12:03:25 PM

I've downloaded the latest experiment version for the 6D (21august)

   1-When u activate the FPSoverride the whole image becomes brighter and overexposed , and looks like shutter speed
doesn't affect it the only thing that worked was going to f8 or f16, didn't have that prob with previous version (Jul03)
   **FPS settings: 24fps, fix, and the rest didn't touch it

   In FPSoverride do You have "OptimizeFor" set to "LowLight" ~ If so switch to some other pram' & see it that helps ~

                                 ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

keepersdungeon

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1356 on: September 02, 2017, 03:45:03 PM »
      @KeepersDungeon

   Quote from: keepersdungeon on August 26, 2017, 12:03:25 PM

I've downloaded the latest experiment version for the 6D (21august)

   1-When u activate the FPSoverride the whole image becomes brighter and overexposed , and looks like shutter speed
doesn't affect it the only thing that worked was going to f8 or f16, didn't have that prob with previous version (Jul03)
   **FPS settings: 24fps, fix, and the rest didn't touch it

   In FPSoverride do You have "OptimizeFor" set to "LowLight" ~ If so switch to some other pram' & see it that helps ~

                                 ORR ~ DeanB
Hello, thanks for you reply.
I tried them all they all did the same thing on x5 or x10 the image becomes brighter

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk


overflow

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1357 on: September 15, 2017, 07:58:30 PM »
7D Users,

I played around with the 10/12bit Magic Lantern build for 7D found here: https://bitbucket.org/reddeercity/magic-lantern_10-12bit/downloads/magiclantern-10bit_12bit_raw_twk_crop_rec.2016Dec01.7D203.zip
I was shocked when I managed over 2min of continuous 2520x1200 video @ 24fps with working Liveview and in camera playback! I used a Lexar 64GB 1066x card.

Here’s a guide for noobs like myself who wish to try it out.

-In Modules menu enable mlv_play.mo, raw_rec.mo and raw_twk.mo.
-In Movie menu set FPS override to 24 FPS Exact.
-Enable RAW video and set Bit depth to 10, return to Liveview and do 5x zoom, return to Movie menu set resolution to 2520x1200,
-In Overlay menu set Global Draw to OFF, return to Liveview in 5x zoom
-Hit record!

When the camera is turned off and in some other situations when you attempt to record in 5x zoom mode Liveview will freeze. Go back to Overlay menu, enable Global Draw again, return to Liveview 5x zoom, go back again and disable Global Draw, return to Liveview one last time, hit record and you will again be able to view what you are recording.

Most of the time I get around 1min40sec of continuous 2.5k video :)

Edit: I've noticed there's a few of pixles in the bottom right corner of video that do strange things..

Thanks tonij, I followed your step by step instructions and I manage to record in 10 bit successfully on my 7d. However, no matter what I do the liveview always freezes. How did you manage to see what you're recording?

tonij

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: 12-bit (and 10-bit) RAW video development discussion
« Reply #1358 on: September 20, 2017, 11:10:20 AM »
Thanks tonij, I followed your step by step instructions and I manage to record in 10 bit successfully on my 7d. However, no matter what I do the liveview always freezes. How did you manage to see what you're recording?

Did you follow my guide exactly? When it does freeze do this:

Go back to Overlay menu, enable Global Draw again, return to Liveview 5x zoom, go back again and disable Global Draw, return to Liveview one last time, hit record and you will again be able to view what you are recording.