MLV Lite - The sweet taste of MLV with none of the extra calories™

Lua scripting updated


Twitter: @autoexec_bin    Facebook: magiclantern.firmware    Live chat: [email protected]

Want to help with Magic Lantern development, but have no coding skills?

Author Topic: How to record: -- 30/24/25 fps RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 & others --  (Read 118810 times)

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1410
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Updated September 26th 2013

1. Make sure you have CF selected.  Need a 1000x CF card to get 1920x1080 at 24 fps.
2. Switch your camera to Video Mode (flip the video lever to the left), focus your subject and adjust for the scene .  Works in M, AV, TV modes.
3. Press Q and select the 1920 @ 30 fps  video specification from Canon Menu.
4. Use the Joy stick to move and make "blue" the video mode.
5. Scroll through the videos to 1920 30fps.  If you do not use FPS override the camera defaults to Canon settings.  See note 1
6. Press half shutter to return to Live View.
  If you have not loaded the raw_rec module then:
7. Press trash button and go to Modules Tab using your joystick or scroll wheel.   (It is an icon with four little squares)
8. Use the scroll wheel or joystick to highlight the raw_rec module and then press the set button to enable it.
9. Reboot the camera, then press trash button and if the module loaded correctly you will see it in bright white with a green dot on the left.
10. Scroll to Movie with the large scroll wheel and then to Raw video with the small scroll wheel.
11. Enable RAW video by pressing the Set Button.  Look at the video settings and also look near the bottom of the screen for information about CF speed requirements to meet current fps and frame size.
12. Press Q and Set to chose the appropriate Resolution, or use the little scroll wheel to scroll from available options.  If your card is not fast enough then select acceptable resolutions.  Remember to look at the bottom of the screen to see how resolution affect card speed requirements.
13. Scroll to Aspect ratio 16:9 is the default.  You can scroll with the little wheel or press Set to change it.  By changing the aspect ratio the camera chooses an appropriate video height.  Some heights are not the most common ones but these combinations offer better writing speeds.  You may have to crop your video in post.
14. (AUDIO NOT AVAILABLE RIGHT NOW, USE EXTERNAL RECORDER-->) If you want to record audio (wav file to SD card) scroll to Sound and select Separate WAV, or sync beep, or OFF
14. Preview: Auto.  Press Set to change it to: Canon, ML Grayscale, Hacked (see note 6)
15. Digital dolly: OFF On to allow the recording area to scroll from left-to-right or up-down during cropped video or when recording at smaller resolutions then 1920x1080.  Use the Joystick to control the direction of the scroll.
16. Frame skipping: OFF To continue recording even if skips frames then scroll to and select Allow.
17. Card warm-up: OFF Press set to select a warm-up file size when camera boots.  Some speed improvements obtained.
18. Memory hack: OFF. Press Set to on  This frees up more memory to get extra frames in the buffer.
19. Small hacks: OFF to improve the use of memory to increase recording buffer.
20.  Next option, Playback   After recording a RAW file you can preview it by coming back to this menu and scroll to Playback selection and pressing Set.
21. Press Q and then move to Overlay and set Global Draw to OFF.  See note 7.
22. To get back to LV just press trash button or half shutter.
23. To start and stop recording press the LV button

OPTION FOR 24/25 FPS RECORDING:

24.  Move to the Movie tab and select FPS override with the scroll wheel.  (see note below)
25. Press the Q button
26. Change the Desired FPS to 23.97 using the small (top) scroll wheel.
27. Move to the Optimize for with the large scroll wheel.
28. Change to Exact FPS with the small scroll wheel.
29. Press the Q button and then press the Set button (on the center of the large scroll wheel) to enable FPS override
30. Now FPS should read 23.97.

Note 1: It is best to set the Canon video format to 1920 30 fps.  When you do this and set the FPS Override to 24 fps you will have very little variation in fps when you switch from zoom mode to standard mode.

Note 6. Canon preview is standard full color, ML Grayscale is in B&W and also shows the video in its final cropped view (used for framing), Hacked is special fast hack to increase card writing speed at the expense of freezing Live View.

Note 7.  If you set Global Draw OFF you will loose histogram, zebras, etc.  But you will gain speed.  In some cases Global ON is more likely to get pick frames since CPU is working very hard, and also consumes much more power.
--------------------


For further RAW Video Post processing:


The RAW files will be found inside the DCIM folder.

RAW Video: PostProcessing -- Beginners Guide --
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5654.0

[Mac/Win/Linux] go here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5404.0[/b]

---------------------------


Latest findings to prevent frame drops:

You should check that in Canon Menu:

Image Quality = Raw
Auto Lighting Optimizer = OFF
Long exp. noise reduction = OFF
High ISO speed NR = OFF
Highlight tone priority = OFF
Multiple Exposure = Disable
HDR Mode = Disable HDR

---------------------------


OTHER RECORDING OPTIONS:

If you want to use 60 fps then read here for more detailed settings:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5472.0

If you want do a 1:1 Digital Video Crop with your zoom button then go here for detail instructions:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5441.0

---------------------------------------


OTHER HELPFUL LINKS:


To help the DEVS and everybody it would be a good idea if specific RAW video issues are discussed in a separate thread based on the camera under discussion.

5D3  Uncompressed 14-bit RAW video testing - 5D Mark III
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5473.0

5D2  Raw video on 5DMK2
HERE:  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5419.0

600D Uncompressed 600D Raw Video 
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5494.0

6D 6D + Raw thread (with instillation guide)
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5530.msg37766#msg37766

650D I dont see a specific RAW video thread.  Should there be one??  Anyone care to propose so I can update this message?


--------------------

Magic Lantern Best Practices:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/bestpractices

 How to install Magic Lantern on 5D Mark III
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2602.0

Where to get Canon Firmware 1.1.3 (Windows version)  for sure:
HERE: http://pel.hu/eoscard/

Where to get Canon Firmware 1.1.3 (Mac version) for sure:
HERE: http://hdslr.com.br/2012/06/20/atualizacao-de-firmware-para-5d-mark-iii-versao-1-1-3/

Where to get Compiled Nightly Builds?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5413.0

All questions regarding RAW VIDEO POST PROCESSING on any OS
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5404.0

All questions regarding RAW_REC MODULE COMPILATION/INSTALLATION/USAGE
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5405.0

Card benchmark - what's the optimal write buffer size?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5471.0

Supported 1000x CF cards for continuous RAW recording
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5391.0


-------------------

PLEASE!!  PLEASE!!

Please help us keep our Forum Organized.  We have very specific areas for certain topics so try to conform so that everybody benefits.

If you have a question, don't post it! First use the search function on the forum (near the top left) and search for the key word.  If you have made a reasonable effort and cannot find an answer then please post your question in the appropriate forum.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 03:50:02 AM by RenatoPhoto »
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

Ultiva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to RAW VIDEO ON 5D3
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 01:36:19 PM »
One small addition from me:

You may use your EOS Utility in liveview mode to remotely frame, focus, start raw rec and stop your recording. There is no live preview while you are recording though.

Cheers

nicklantz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2013, 07:42:54 AM »
HI thanks for the info but for some reason I dont seem to be able to get anything to work. I downloaded the 5D mk3 firmware , loaded it on my 5D
after checking that i was on the 1.1.3 canon firmware. Then I load the magic lantern firmware and it seems to load fine. Then I press the trash button and the magic Lantern welcome page comes up for Alfa 3 and I press it again but i see non of the features you speak of in the MOVIE menu like frame rate override or REC RAW. DO I have the right firmware? Please Help ! Thanks 

nicklantz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2013, 07:22:43 PM »
Where and what is the M tab? because i don't see it anywhere in the menu so I cant load the modules
please help
Thanks

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1410
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2013, 02:52:07 AM »
Where and what is the M tab? because i don't see it anywhere in the menu so I cant load the modules
please help
Thanks

It appears that you have not loaded the new experimental RAW video software:
Look here for 5D3 latest update:

Where to get Compiled Nightly Builds?
HERE: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5413.0
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

5DanielMIII

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • -I love JESUS and MagicLantern-
Re: How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2013, 03:56:15 AM »
Is there a live view in this new build while recording Raw?
I am thankful that Jesus and MagicLantern exist, because they both change lives!

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1410
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2013, 03:58:46 AM »
Is there a live view in this new build while recording Raw?
Yes
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

5DanielMIII

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • -I love JESUS and MagicLantern-
Re: How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2013, 04:02:41 AM »
Yes


Hm, as in during rec as well?
My Liveview freezes.

Hacked mode was enabled, sorry about that! it is getting late here at 4 in the morning!!


« Last Edit: May 20, 2013, 04:22:33 AM by 5DanielMIII »
I am thankful that Jesus and MagicLantern exist, because they both change lives!

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: How to: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2013, 04:12:09 AM »
Wow is this a Blackmagic emulator mode? Micro 4/3rds  :P
550D on ML-roids

noodles78

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2013, 10:05:23 AM »
Hello everybody

I think i following the instructions correctly but after record a video on 1000x 64 GB computer bay and back to the mac, instead of multiples raw pictures (like it should be) i just find in the 100EOS5D file a heavy single raw file.... And i can't do anything with that.
Witch step i missed? Have you got an idea?

Thanks
« Last Edit: June 06, 2013, 10:07:19 AM by noodles78 »

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1410
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2013, 02:09:09 PM »
Witch step i missed? Have you got an idea?

You missed the
RAW Video: PostProcessing -- Beginners Guide --
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5654.0
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

noodles78

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2013, 05:24:29 PM »
Thank you.

So on the CF there's only one file per recording and it's only after
using the Raw2dng.app that we have all the frames for grading?

I'm asking because the raw2dng.app don't convert my raw file from
the CF at this point so i don't Know if it's me or the app that isn't stable?

Sorry for my english.

budafilms

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 584
  • 5D Mark a1ex
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2013, 12:11:23 AM »
Renato, I have an important question, I was looking for hours in the posts and I can´t find an answer: when you shoot Raw in 5D III, the settings in the camera, like Presets, WB, etc, has any influence in the RAW files? I know appear easy but I cannot find any difference shooting in Neutral or Standard, or changing WB. Please tell me if I am wrong with this. Thanks a lot and sorry if this is not a post to this.

jcamp8004

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2013, 12:12:00 AM »
Hi thanks for the great info all over this blog, its amazing!

I just followed all of the steps to recording raw video on my new MK3, Komputer bay 64GB card, AE, everything works great except for one thing.... It seems like during every recording, a frame is dropped in the first 13-16 frames causing the recording to stop. Originally I had this option on some sort of override to prevent the camera from stopping the recording. Is there any reason why I would have so many frames being dropped? Maybe its some sort of setting on my end? or installation issue?

I really appreciate the responses in advance! Thanks!

platu

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • 5D3, 60D
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2013, 12:52:30 AM »
Renato, I have an important question, I was looking for hours in the posts and I can´t find an answer: when you shoot Raw in 5D III, the settings in the camera, like Presets, WB, etc, has any influence in the RAW files? I know appear easy but I cannot find any difference shooting in Neutral or Standard, or changing WB. Please tell me if I am wrong with this. Thanks a lot and sorry if this is not a post to this.

One of the advantages of raw is being able to define these type of things later in post.  Picture styles such as neutral have no effect on the final recorded raw file.  So things like, contrast, color, sharpness, etc, are not baked into the raw file.  You will essentially be defining your own look when grading in post.  White balance is another thing you can choose later after shooting.  At the moment, the white balance you are shooting at does not get saved correctly to the raw metadata so you will always have to select it later in post.  That may change with future development but at the moment, if you bring your raw dng's into Adobe Camera Raw (ACR), and select "As Shot" for white balance, it will not correctly reflect the white balance you shot at. 

However, you may want to use a certain picture style which can assist you in focusing, such as landscape with the sharpness turned all the way up.  This is just for preview and will not have an effect on the final raw file.

I hope that helps a little.

platu

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • 5D3, 60D
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2013, 01:04:39 AM »
Hi thanks for the great info all over this blog, its amazing!

I just followed all of the steps to recording raw video on my new MK3, Komputer bay 64GB card, AE, everything works great except for one thing.... It seems like during every recording, a frame is dropped in the first 13-16 frames causing the recording to stop. Originally I had this option on some sort of override to prevent the camera from stopping the recording. Is there any reason why I would have so many frames being dropped? Maybe its some sort of setting on my end? or installation issue?

I really appreciate the responses in advance! Thanks!

The option to skip frames still exists under Raw Video... Frame Skipping... Allow.   Most folks with this card can easily record 1928x1080 and even 1920x1152 continuously (myself included).  First thing would be to check that it is not defaulting to saving to the SD card.  Next thing to check would be to run the built-in benchmark utility for the card.  You'll find this under Debug... Benchmarks... Card R/W benchmark.  Write speed will likely vary a bit but you should be seeing write speeds anywhere from 70-90s MB/s.  If you get substantially slower speeds, than you should try to return your card if possible for another one.

I have the same camera and card as you do.

jcamp8004

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2013, 01:32:12 AM »
Thanks Platu, I changed my resolution to 1920 x 1080 and allowed frame skipping. It works better, more consistent for longer but still in an avereage 400 frame clip I'm dropping 60 frames :'( Any other possibilities or suggestions as far as settings go?

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1410
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2013, 01:34:54 AM »
It seems like during every recording, a frame is dropped in the first 13-16 frames causing the recording to stop. Originally I had this option on some sort of override to prevent the camera from stopping the recording

You should check that in Canon Menu:
Image Quality = Raw
Auto Lighting Optimizer = OFF
Long exp. noise reduction = OFF
High ISO spee NR = OFF
Higthlight tone priority = OFF
Multiple Exposure = Disable
HDR Mode = Disagle HDR

And finally there is a new Hack in Raw video menu called Memory hack.  try it, it allows a few more frames when you are in situations where the card is not fast enough.  It frees up some more memory. It is in todays build!
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

platu

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • 5D3, 60D
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #18 on: June 07, 2013, 01:48:52 AM »
Thanks Platu, I changed my resolution to 1920 x 1080 and allowed frame skipping. It works better, more consistent for longer but still in an avereage 400 frame clip I'm dropping 60 frames :'( Any other possibilities or suggestions as far as settings go?

If you tried mine and Renato's suggestions, and are using the latest build, it's likely down to the card.  Inconsistent write speed drop-offs will cause skipping and there's no solution for this other than getting a more stable fast card.  For what it's worth, I have had to return 2 Komputerbay 64 cards already... 1 dead on arrival, another was too slow.  But still the best bang for the buck.

budafilms

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 584
  • 5D Mark a1ex
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2013, 06:52:55 AM »
One of the advantages of raw is being able to define these type of things later in post.  Picture styles such as neutral have no effect on the final recorded raw file.  So things like, contrast, color, sharpness, etc, are not baked into the raw file.  You will essentially be defining your own look when grading in post.  White balance is another thing you can choose later after shooting.  At the moment, the white balance you are shooting at does not get saved correctly to the raw metadata so you will always have to select it later in post.  That may change with future development but at the moment, if you bring your raw dng's into Adobe Camera Raw (ACR), and select "As Shot" for white balance, it will not correctly reflect the white balance you shot at. 

However, you may want to use a certain picture style which can assist you in focusing, such as landscape with the sharpness turned all the way up.  This is just for preview and will not have an effect on the final raw file.

I hope that helps a little.

Amaizing explanation.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 07:15:54 PM by budafilms »



GR Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2013, 03:57:35 PM »
iam very interested in the 300x Raw Crop Mode / zoom ability demonstrated in this video, problem is the newer builds changed the method the user described.

can anyone verify if it is still possible with the new June build?

vpfilms

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #21 on: June 14, 2013, 03:28:29 AM »
When i drop my RAW file on raw2dng i get the following message.  I creates a folder with a _log.txt file but no individual files.  What am I doing wrong?



raw2dng converter GUI for OsX
Beta ver.0.11

M13-1753 File Supported
/Applications/raw2dng.app/Contents/Resources/script: line 31:  7175 Segmentation fault: 11  "$RAW2DNG" "$FLDR$FILE_NAME".RAW >> "$LOG"
Generating jpg preview
dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libexiv2.10.dylib
  Referenced from: /Applications/raw2dng.app/Contents/Resources/ufraw-batch
  Reason: image not found
/Applications/raw2dng.app/Contents/Resources/script: line 31:  7178 Trace/BPT trap: 5       "$UFRAW" --out-type=jpg --out-path=../"$FILE_NAME"_jpg *.dng >> "$LOG"
Generating avi preview
dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/Cellar/ffmpeg/1.1.3/lib/libavdevice.54.dylib
  Referenced from: /Applications/raw2dng.app/Contents/Resources/ffmpeg
  Reason: image not found
/Applications/raw2dng.app/Contents/Resources/script: line 31:  7179 Trace/BPT trap: 5       "$FFMPEG" -i ../"$FILE_NAME"_jpg/%6d.jpg -vcodec mjpeg -qscale 1 ../"$FILE_NAME".avi >> "$LOG"

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1242
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2013, 04:41:48 AM »
vpfilms,

here is the thread for raw postprocessing for the mac using raw2dng.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5508.0

I read there at the end they also have problems with this to work with the jun 13 build. The poster mentioned Rawmagic works for mac.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6218.0

Try that, I suggest to stick with the newer builds for the camera and try to find the extractor that works.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

vpfilms

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #23 on: June 16, 2013, 01:13:36 AM »
vpfilms,

here is the thread for raw postprocessing for the mac using raw2dng.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5508.0

I read there at the end they also have problems with this to work with the jun 13 build. The poster mentioned Rawmagic works for mac.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6218.0

Try that, I suggest to stick with the newer builds for the camera and try to find the extractor that works.

Thank you!

taltman

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to record: -- RAW VIDEO ON 5D3 --
« Reply #24 on: June 26, 2013, 01:04:05 AM »
"17. If you want to record audio (wav file to SD card) scroll to Sound and select Separate WAV, or sync beep, or OFF"

I am using June 22 build and I have NO audio option in the RAW video menu. And yes I do have audio set to auto or manual in the Canon menu. I have camera in manual mode.

 

courtesy