Author Topic: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings  (Read 43480 times)

dima510

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #25 on: September 14, 2013, 10:54:27 AM »
hi,

bought a 5d3 FW 1.1.3 yesterday and tried to get ML up & running - no success. i have a 5d2 as well with ML running fine so i am not completely new to this. but:

the only ML version i can run on the new 5d3 is the alpha3 dated last year. however, after pressing "delete", a message appears, that this version has restricted functions - which is true... :-/

if i run ML FW update 113 WITH bootflag, the camera responds with "autoboot enabled :)". but in fact, it is NOT. when i turn off and on again with a card containing autoexec and ML folders AND the card has been made bootable with EOScard, the camera just loads CANON 1.1.3 - nothing else. it seems, that it is not possible, to enable the bootflag on this camera: if i run ML FW 113 WITH bootflag, and then insert a bootable card WITHOUT autoexec, the camera does not hang (which has been described in this forum) - it still loads CANON 1.1.3 - as if nothing had ever happend ---- WHY ???

is it possible that CANON have disabled the possibility to set bootflag on their latest produced cameras ??

thanx for your help !!

d.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #26 on: September 14, 2013, 11:09:14 AM »
Make the card bootable using MacBoot or EOSCard
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

dima510

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #27 on: September 15, 2013, 11:46:44 AM »
it's in my post - card has been made bootable with eoscard. no effect ... :-/

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #28 on: September 15, 2013, 01:59:23 PM »
bought a 5d3 FW 1.1.3 yesterday and tried to get ML up & running - no success. i have a 5d2 as well with ML running fine so i am not completely new to this. but:

When you use EOScard make sure that:
1. You have the necesary files in the SD card: *.fir file, autoexec.bin file, plus the ML directory.
2. The Utility recognizes the card by identifiying it in the box next to Refresh.
3. You select the EOS_DEVELOP  check box
4. You select the BOOTDISK check box
5. Under Content, make sure EOScard recognizes: DCIM folder, autoexec.bin file, ML folder, and if required (to enable the boot flag on camera) the fir file.  When EOScard recognizes all of those files it should give you a check mark or something like that.
6. Press the Save button.
7. Look on the bottom of EOScard and should give you a confirmation that the card was written, ie. write successful.
 
I recently read about another situations with the newer EOScard utility in which the automatic function brought the files to the SD via internet connection.  I am not familiar with this function but Pelican seems to more about it since he created EOScard utility.  Anyway the issue was that EOScard utility had downloaded some files plus there were already some files in the card, the user noticed that in the fir file area it showed like 3 files so the user had to select the correct fir file for the EOScard utility to properly prepare the card!
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

dima510

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #29 on: September 30, 2013, 05:52:55 PM »
hi renato,

thanx for your detailed reply! did all of your 7 steps: doesn't work :-/

question1: does it have to be the SD card, or can ML on a 5D3 run from the CF card, too?
question2: when you say "the ML folder" - what exactly does that include? just the nightly build from here http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/
or anything else to start with before the nightly build is copied to the card (...and thus overwrites autoexec.bin + ML folder...) ??
in the "stable build" v2.3 the 5D3 is not mentioned. the only 5D3 build i found that actually starts on my cam by pressing the "delete" button has practically no functions and states something like "evaluation only with minor functions". overwriting this version with the actual nightly build does not work. what else can i try ???

thanx again, d.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #30 on: October 01, 2013, 01:20:37 AM »
1. I have booted my camera with ML on SD card and also on CF card.  Prefferred method SD
2.  ML folder is the ML folder included in the zip package from http://builds.magiclantern.fm/#/.  In the zip package there is ML folder (directory) and autoexe.bin files.
3.  I suspect that the bootflag has not been set.

Read this and watch the videos included:
RAW video & ML -- Beginners Guide, FAQ & Useful Links -- READ FIRST
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5520.0

And.. (after watching the video guides) if you want more help then write detail step by step what you have done, beginning with setting the bootflag.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

dima510

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #31 on: October 01, 2013, 07:41:09 AM »
hi renato,

ref. 2: this 5D3 folder does not contain any .bmp in the subdirectory "doc". so from my point of view it is impossible to start ML just with these files ?!
ref. 3: the bootflag has been set with the 113 bootflag.fir" and it worked at least once - unfortunaltely only with that version missing any useful functions ...
from what i have read here, it is not possible to reset the bootflag - it is therefore still set. this is also indicated by the fact, that the camera does not start at all when the SD is bootable but no ML / autoexec is on the card. without the bootflag set, the camera would then start normal canon firmware, right? cheers, d.

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #32 on: October 01, 2013, 01:05:06 PM »
And.. (after watching the video guides) if you want more help then write detail step by step what you have done, beginning with setting the bootflag.

From what you wrote, I am guessing that you are mixing old files with new files.  Erase all of the old files from the card and put the new files on the card... and
write detail step by stepwhat you have done, from the start.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

Aphrodite1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #33 on: October 02, 2013, 05:17:14 PM »
At the risk of embarrassing myself I thought that I should let you all know the solution to my problem in case it is of any help to other members in the future.

It turns out that it was installed (which I knew) and working all along (which I didn't) I had just failed to press the "Info" button enough times to get ML to appear on the screen!

dima510

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #34 on: October 07, 2013, 11:48:06 AM »
From what you wrote, I am guessing that you are mixing old files with new files.  Erase all of the old files from the card and put the new files on the card... and
write detail step by stepwhat you have done, from the start.

ok - i went back to step 1 and formatted my card in camera (firmware 1.1.3)
put the card into cardreader
copied 938047c files (august 21st) to card - including .fir, autoexec.bin and ML folder
copied actual nightly build to card and replaced (some) existing files
started eoscard.exe, made the card bootable - saved OK
put the card in camera, M-mode, video.mode
turned the camera on
it came up with a "card-test" for the first time (never had that before), and ML started without any modules loaded
in ML modules menu, turned all modules on for next reboot
rebooting brings up two errors: tcc: error: undefined symbol 'bfnt_printf' and error: undefined symbol 'free'
E (in brackets) failed to link modules

so the status is: ML seems to be running but without loading any modules. has anyone had that before? what can i do?? thank you!!

Joao

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #35 on: October 19, 2013, 02:31:24 AM »
hi! i have done all the installation of magic lantern v2.3.55 on my canon 60D, and at the last step after put the magic lantern files in the root card, i canĀ“t launch the firmware upgrade! i click ok in camera and goes again to menu!! somebody can help me?! thanks

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #36 on: October 19, 2013, 02:55:46 AM »
Did you start the firmware update procedure in Canon menu (with battery full, no accessory, M mode...)
You should be running Canon firmware 1.1.1 before you try it.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

carlfino

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #37 on: November 28, 2013, 04:27:29 PM »
I have a Canon 6D with firmware 1.1.3, and I'm trying to load ML.  I have loaded the night build files onto a low-level, camera formatted 16MB SDHC card.  I also have the 6D-112.fir file on the card.  The nightly build files and the .fir file are all loaded onto the root of the card, along with the 2 canon folders (DCIM & MISC). 

Camera switched to M.  I am able to perform the firmware update, and when I do I get a message on the screen for about 1/2 second that the firmware update is "Loading."  Then the screen goes black indefinitely - no green screen, no ability to autofocus.  All is well after I pull the battery and insert a new card, but no ML.

Any suggestions?

Carl...

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5643

Krane

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #39 on: December 28, 2013, 10:26:57 AM »
My issue is a filed install of ML Alpha 3 on my 5D MkIII. I followed the step-by-step tutorial of Charlie Locke's on youtube. My install used the files compiled in his dropbox.

I verified that all the files were present. My camera was updated with firmware 1.1.3. I formatted my new working Sandisk EP 32GB card in camera. I then imitated the EOScard program and with all the boxes check, I pressed the ML logo > Write successful! > Save.

I place the card in the camera and switched it on as normal and scrolled to format tab. The firmware screen did not show any of the additional ML information after the firmware as seen in the video. All that was there was the original current firmware version 1.1.3.

Any suggestion on how or why the ML did not show?
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #40 on: December 28, 2013, 12:57:49 PM »
You did not mention anything about setting the bootflag on the camera.  You only mention making the SD card bootable.  If your SD card contains the 5D3-113-bootflag.fir file then you have to go to the Canon firmware screen and press the set button to update the firmware.
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

Krane

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #41 on: December 29, 2013, 01:04:53 AM »
You did not mention anything about setting the bootflag on the camera.  You only mention making the SD card bootable.  If your SD card contains the 5D3-113-bootflag.fir file then you have to go to the Canon firmware screen and press the set button to update the firmware.
That's because I was afraid to. After I didn't get the same screen shown in the video, I figured I'd done something wrong.

However, after about a half dozen repeats of the setup procedure to verify that I hadn't missed anything, and many hours of pacing after that, I finally got up the courage to hit the set button and ML was installed!  ;D

Now comes the arduous task of figuring out how to operate it. I'm sure I'll be chiming in regularly from this point on. Thanks so much for your help.
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

lostfeliz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • 5diii. 60d.
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #42 on: January 06, 2014, 01:31:00 AM »
Found myself in a pickle today. I made the mistake of renaming my SD card today. After that Magic Lantern wouldn't load. The firmware was reverted back to Canon. I tried many things. Finally went through the whole procedure: I reformatted the SD card in the camera, i copied the latest build and the boot flag for the 5d3. I updated the firmware, but the update was interrupted by the message: "retry data/fonts.dat". I tried a few times. No luck. Well. After trying a few things, I noticed the firmware is listed as the "1.1.3-ml-v2.3.nex". But it still acts funky on boot, tells me to load ALL the ML files, says "data/fonts.dat retry", and doesn't load ML. I've looked in the ML/DATA folder. There is no fonts.dat file. I checked old builds. Nothing, no fonts.dat file. I looked in a year old build folder that I had and there is a fonts.dat file in the DATA folder. So I went for it. I copied it over. Bingo, it says "enablebootdisk, :)". But ML still doesn't load. I restart it. Same thing. I can't even select "firmware ver" from the Canon menu. Hope I haven't destroyed my 5D (already had enough bad luck lately with lenses getting stolen).  Any help or guidelines?

lostfeliz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • 5diii. 60d.
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #43 on: January 06, 2014, 02:05:14 AM »
MORE INFO: I can take pictures. None of the Canon menu buttons work (okay, revised, the set button doesn't work but i can select menu items by pushing on the mini joystick above it. i tried reinstalling the firmware and i got the same fonts.dat retry problem). The record video button doesn't do anything.


UPDATE: I somehow was able to get it running with the Alpha 5d3 software. Then I reverted to the Canon 1.1.3 and carefully went through all the steps to get back to the nightly builds. After the last step of updating the firmware with the boot flag, the same problem happened: "fonts.dat retry". but this time even though it said that, it's working okay!! wow. harrowing 24 hours!

Krane

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #44 on: January 07, 2014, 02:53:21 AM »
MORE INFO: I can take pictures. None of the Canon menu buttons work (okay, revised, the set button doesn't work but i can select menu items by pushing on the mini joystick above it. i tried reinstalling the firmware and i got the same fonts.dat retry problem). The record video button doesn't do anything.


UPDATE: I somehow was able to get it running with the Alpha 5d3 software. Then I reverted to the Canon 1.1.3 and carefully went through all the steps to get back to the nightly builds. After the last step of updating the firmware with the boot flag, the same problem happened: "fonts.dat retry". but this time even though it said that, it's working okay!! wow. harrowing 24 hours!
Could you please be more specific? For example, specify which build by name or code rather than using the term "last." Like you did in your update above. 

I try to follow along with these posts but its hard to keep up when I don't know where you started form. And just to be clear what you mean when your refer to "revert": The default IS Canon software unless ML is launched correct? Thanks.
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

krisc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #45 on: January 07, 2014, 01:42:53 PM »
ML installation - SD card want boot. When I got EOS M I wanted to use ML. Follow all instructions on the net ... the SD card would not boot.
The solution - as I use only UNIX/Linux systems the utility called fsck ( fsck from util-linux 2.22.2
fsck 1.42.7 version ) showed that "dirty bit is set ". It means that hard disk (SD in this case ) is corrupted so it can not be mounted nor used as boot disk. The fix is as follows, you have to be root or sudoer:
# fsck -a /dev/sdf1   ( where sd....1 what ever letter is your SD card ).  I do not know if this works on OSX.
I use 32GB class 10 SD cards. Did not try 64 or 128 GB yet. ML is great ....

Krane

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #46 on: January 07, 2014, 07:17:38 PM »
ML installation - SD card want boot. When I got EOS M I wanted to use ML. Follow all instructions on the net ... the SD card would not boot.
The solution - as I use only UNIX/Linux systems the utility called fsck ( fsck from util-linux 2.22.2
fsck 1.42.7 version ) showed that "dirty bit is set ". It means that hard disk (SD in this case ) is corrupted so it can not be mounted nor used as boot disk. The fix is as follows, you have to be root or sudoer:
# fsck -a /dev/sdf1   ( where sd....1 what ever letter is your SD card ).  I do not know if this works on OSX.
I use 32GB class 10 SD cards. Did not try 64 or 128 GB yet. ML is great ....
I think you left out a step? Anyway, what brand is your card?
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

krisc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #47 on: January 09, 2014, 11:12:07 AM »
The cards I use are: 32 GB SanDisk Extreme 45MB/s (no ML) and 32GB Transcend SDHC (10) with ML on it.

Krane

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #48 on: January 10, 2014, 06:40:09 AM »
The cards I use are: 32 GB SanDisk Extreme 45MB/s (no ML) and 32GB Transcend SDHC (10) with ML on it.
I can't see where the problem is but I use Windows. The best way to narrow down a problem is to use the scientific method. Replace the  SD card with another and see if that works. Or second, try it on another computer (preferable one with your OS and see what you get.

At least then you'll know if its the card or if you're doing something else wrong. I suspect your procedure. Its usually one step you're missing or are doing wrong. That's all I have maybe someone else can help.
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

krisc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: HOW ML START (or why it doesn't boot topic) & Restore Camera Settings
« Reply #49 on: January 11, 2014, 10:42:22 AM »
We have misunderstanding a bit here.
I did have "boot" problem. It took a bit of experimenting finaly I got it ML booting and running OK.
The fix I presenetd at first message was the solution for me - so I posted, it may halp some people.

Currently trying to get on the top of ML shooting raw video .....