Author Topic: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar  (Read 3789 times)

ironmarshal

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #25 on: July 06, 2017, 04:05:24 AM »
After doing a little more reading I'm not sure this is going to work for me. I have a T4i and Tamron lenses....I don't know if the lenses report focus distance, which I believe is a requirement for the script to work.

On another note, I came across a fascinating article on your website about super resolution. You keep inspiring with all kinds of neat ideas.

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #26 on: July 06, 2017, 07:44:05 AM »
@ironmarshal

I use my scripts with a Sigma lens.

The 650D/T4i runs ML, including the experimental Lua fix.

You will know if the Tamron reports focus distance if you can see that being reported in the ML bottom bar.

Cheers

Garry

ironmarshal

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #27 on: July 11, 2017, 03:02:53 AM »
Sadly neither the Tamron 17-50 or the 28-75 report distance :( All I see on the bottom bar is the MF/AF designation.

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #28 on: July 11, 2017, 07:28:10 AM »
@ironmarshal

Let's try one more time :-)

The Tamron 17-50 is an AF lens: correct?

The AF functionality works: correct?

You have ML loaded: correct?

With ML loaded what focus distance is reported? 0.0 or some other number?

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #29 on: July 14, 2017, 10:47:12 AM »
Focus by Colours!

I'm pleased to announce an update of my focus bar script, which you can read about and download here: http://photography.grayheron.net/2017/07/focusing-by-colour.html

As usual I welcome feedback.

Cheers

Garry

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280

ironmarshal

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #31 on: July 14, 2017, 08:41:37 PM »
Distance says 0.0

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #32 on: July 14, 2017, 09:01:38 PM »
@ironmarshal

 :( :(

Pity.


garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #33 on: July 20, 2017, 10:18:38 PM »
The latest update provides a refined way to tune the near depth of field when you are focusing between the HFD and Infinity: http://photography.grayheron.net/2017/07/your-choice.html

You can now select what infinity blur criterion you use in the HFD-Infinity focus zone to calculate the near DoF, eg defocus only, 2 x defocus, total blur or 2 x total blur.

The bottom DoF feedback also shows the defocus blur component of the total blur, including as it changes in the HFD-Infinity focusing zone.

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #34 on: July 31, 2017, 09:56:03 PM »
I've had some feedback that the focus bar is too complex.

I hope this post helps those struggling with using this new way of getting optimum focus, especially for landscape photographers: http://photography.grayheron.net/2017/07/for-goodness-sake-garry-kiss.html

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #35 on: August 05, 2017, 01:25:38 PM »
Following in a similar way as the previous post, here is a short piece for those who struggle to understand the advantages of focusing using my focus bar: http://photography.grayheron.net/2017/08/understanding-focus-blurs.html

I hope this helps those who are confused with blur and in particular infinity blur.

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
(UPDATE) Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #36 on: September 30, 2017, 11:00:44 AM »
I've tidied up my focus bar script, including a few options, algorithms and code.

https://gist.github.com/pigeonhill/cd1dbe0191ca1264fc0aa07aaafb515d

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Focus Stacking with Focus Bar
« Reply #37 on: October 10, 2017, 08:37:17 PM »
Another update. This time to check that the focus bar can run, ie lens reports aperture, focus distance and focal length.

Note: you still need to put your sensor pixel size in the script, as well as change frequency if you are shooting with an IR conversion.

https://gist.github.com/pigeonhill/cd1dbe0191ca1264fc0aa07aaafb515d