Author Topic: Exfat formatting in camera  (Read 903 times)

Tgra

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Exfat formatting in camera
« on: May 12, 2017, 09:17:04 AM »
Hi, I've been a magic lantern user for a couple of years now but this is my first post! (Yay)

I know there is a couple of similar topics on the forum but I could not comment on any of them so I'm attempting to create a new one - sorry if this is annoying to anyone..

Here's my issue: I have an upcoming shoot that will be a bit of an adventure where I'm limited on the weight of the gear I can take with me. For this reason I've invested in a Nexto Di cf card back up (64g transferred to that little machine in 12mins, the absolute dream) nevertheless my issue is that I need to format the card on the go after backing up which implies doing it in camera. The card (originally Exfat) is formatted back by Canon to fat32 ( I think? All I know for sure is that it ain't Exfat) and this is a problem to me as this stops all recording at 4go but appears like it is still recording on the camera interface so I can never monitor where the recording actually stopped.

Here's my question: is there / would there be a possibility to convert the CF card to Exfat in camera? Again this has been asked before but most of it was programming/ code tweaks which is all Chinese to me

am working with the 5D mark III (1.2.3)

Thanks to whoever would be able to help a brother out 🙏

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5643
Re: Exfat formatting in camera
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2017, 11:46:08 AM »
You are talking about "card_fmt" branch, I suppose. https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13983.0
I can try to compile the most recent nightly build with this patch. Hope to get it done within next 24 hours. Not able to test it on 5D3, though.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10180
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Exfat formatting in camera
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2017, 05:59:55 PM »
[...] this stops all recording at 4go but appears like it is still recording on the camera interface so I can never monitor where the recording actually stopped.

I have a feeling the actual issue might be this.

Related: [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] and probably hundreds of other similar topics.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5643
Re: Exfat formatting in camera
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2017, 07:14:08 PM »
I'm about to test what happens if MLV recording is set to ExFAT with card format FAT32. Never tried before ...
EDIT: 650D, card format with FAT32, MLV-Option set to ExFAT.
-> Recording stopped after 4 GB, there is a TMP-file.
I think you are right, a1ex.

Tgra

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Exfat formatting in camera
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2017, 10:12:16 AM »
Thank you very much for coming back to me on that matter - noticed that I didn't even mention how GREATFUL I am for your work with ML, so for that, thank you as well.

So yeah I was aware of the splitting files but I've never actually managed to make that work with any of the post processing workflows I used (MLrawviewer, MLVFS - even tried both Mac and PC in case it would change anything for some obscure reason). These memory cards have been long wiped but I swear most of the time i faced the issue it simply gave me a mess of 1 byte files and temp files.

I'll have to experiment on that again but yeah, I just felt like an in-camera formatting would simply help solving my issues and keep my card's files as neat as can be (Just a bit OCD with that hah). I do not know exactly why but EXFAT also seems to be quickening my data transfer with the Nextodi(??) or maybe it's simply me being crazy...