Perseids Meteor Timelapse Guide Help

Started by Fireman77, August 08, 2012, 09:24:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fireman77

As you all guys HOPEFULLY know, the perseids meteor shower is happening the night of August 12th, and i'm definitely going to be out there capturing photos and maybe even making a time-lapse too. The only thing is, I know meteors last for maybe a second or two.. so what should my best ML workflow for capture this beautiful nature event? i mean all the details, exposure and other for do it properly? to capture as a time-lapse motion of the meteor moving through the skies..

I hope you can help me, i´ll do that the first time..
Canon EOS 5D Mark III, Canon EF 24-105mm,
Canon EF 50 mm F/1.4

kihlbahkt

Fireman77,
I recommend that you do some experimentation prior to to your Aug 12th shoot.  I have done some night clouds and moon sequences and it took a bit of fiddling to get it right. I am not an expert in astrophotograghy by any means. These are just basics for getting to know your camera. Do some star shots one night. Break it into short sequences to keep wait and review times short. Take notes/review metadata/ check images on computer screen,  to see what setting looked best. The good thing about digital is that you have results immediately for review and then can tweak the image. Doing preparation like that will give you a sense of using your camera in a dark environment and a general idea of camera setup based upon the results of your experimentation. Throw in some additional experimentation during your shoot as well. For infinity focus always back off the focus ring a bit to avoid out of focus issues.  Knowing how to use your camera efficiently will always pay off when shooting in the dark or some other odd setup. I will carry my camera around for hours at a time, making adjustments and shooting, this helps me become familiar with my camera menus, ML menus and operations, which really annoys my wife, by the way. There are also some ML