Author Topic: External monitor via HDMI blocked by random black bar  (Read 523 times)

donse

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
External monitor via HDMI blocked by random black bar
« on: February 08, 2017, 03:21:06 PM »
Just migrated from 5D2 to 5D3 - now running build 1.2.3.

Great and impressive work as always :))

However the upgrade to 5D3 w. 1.2.3 is giving me some headaches (sound is one major, but that's only second);

I've searched the forum for coverage of problems of external monitoring wo any mention/solution to the weird black bars blocking/cropping my LV-image on external HDMI-monitors: Sony CLM-V55 5" & Marshall V-LCD50 (Sorry for any inconvenience caused if this is already covered, but i have not been able to come across any discussion regarding this?).

The blacked-out bar cropping/obscuring the top of the image appears indifferently of any (all) settings of Screen Layout (Display -> Advanced settings).
https://flic.kr/p/RNuzve

And w. Force HDMI-VGA 'ON' the blacked-out bar moves to the right side (vertical now)
https://flic.kr/p/QKqpRv

[Pls. pardon the smartphone imaging 'quality']

donse

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: External monitor via HDMI blocked by random black bar
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 05:51:39 PM »
Help please: Does anyone know how to add my two screendumps (.jpg) for documentation of the external monitor-problem i'm having (pls. see post above) w. 5D3 & ML 1.2.3 ?

Here is the two .jpg images of the 'random' black bar:
https://flic.kr/p/RNuzve
https://flic.kr/p/QKqpRv

[clicking 'Attachments and other options' does not take me to an upload-sequence or anywhere else...?!?]

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5307
Re: External monitor via HDMI blocked by random black bar
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2017, 06:28:13 AM »
[clicking 'Attachments and other options' does not take me to an upload-sequence or anywhere else...?!?]

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=6061.msg44709#msg44709
And flickr images are not that well suited to be linked. It can be done



but requires diving into page code and don't get me started on thumbnailing. Use other image hosters for linking images into forum posts instead.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9561
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: External monitor via HDMI blocked by random black bar
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2017, 06:02:17 PM »
Fixed.

donse

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: External monitor via HDMI blocked by random black bar
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2017, 12:52:45 AM »
Thx for looking into it, Alex :))

However i can't seem to do the trick; I've installed the new/latest build for 1.2.3 (2017-02-09 01:13) but the random black bar is still present (looks like the previous build)...?

[FYI: I've tried changing through the settings of Screen Layout (Display -> Advanced settings) but to no avail]

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5307
Re: External monitor via HDMI blocked by random black bar
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2017, 04:24:20 AM »
Download latest nightly build ...

donse

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
K-readout (adjustment) blocked by infopanel [5D3 w. HDMI -> Monitor]
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2017, 02:53:55 PM »
YES!!! Great stuff (skilled) - thank you soooo much : ))

Now there is just one more related (little?) bug;
When choosing the EXPO-menu and attempting to adjust White Balance, the K-readout is blocked by the bottom info-panel that suddenly has moved (!) and now appears in the top of the LV-image - hence hiding the white balance read out panel...

And sorry, i haven't cracked the image upload challenge just yet (bear with me, pls.):
https://flic.kr/p/RNbjam

Regards

 

courtesy