Author Topic: so got a frozen 7D  (Read 4474 times)

ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
so got a frozen 7D
« on: July 25, 2016, 09:03:29 PM »
Have been using my 7D for quite some time with ML without any serous hiccups, have lent it to coworker many times as well, no problems.

Now it seems to be frozen, it does not turn on at all,

*) tried all modes,
*) with card that was 100% working with ML,
*) formated on computer, on 40D, made sure that it is clean with eoscard, and even without card.
*) Tried other batteries, that I'm sure are ok, as worked on the same coworkers 5Dmk2, so batteries are ok
*) Took small battery out, left the camera off, on, with covers open and closed

and all combinations of above - camera seams to be dead.

only reaction I got was when instead of battery I attached it to external power adapter (that I use for long time-lapses), turned it on and it started to blink front yellow led with interval about 3 seconds...

FW 2.0.3, ML magiclantern-Nightly.2016Jul09.7D203

One think I could think off, it froze while using alternative battery, that sometimes had acted up, like on charger it is full, in camera show empty, but works like it had been full.
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2016, 09:09:57 PM »
Remove battery, remove card.
Insert power adapter. Startup cam.
Results?


ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2016, 09:11:46 PM »
As I wrote - front led blinks with interval about 3 sec. In all modes, regardless card door
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2016, 09:18:47 PM »
Remove adapter.
Create a bootable card with EOScard and replace autoexec.bin with the one found in 1) Portable Display Test http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2296.0

Insert card, insert power adapter, close compartment doors. Do not turn on cam's power switch.
Results?

ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2016, 09:42:23 PM »
same, just the front led blinking.
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2016, 09:47:43 PM »
Battery grip installed?

ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2016, 09:54:02 PM »
did tests without grip, now also with.

with - no reaction what so ever

without only with battery adapter blinks front led
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10013
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2016, 10:26:51 PM »
Create a bootable card with EOScard and replace autoexec.bin with the one found in 1) Portable Display Test http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2296.0

without only with battery adapter blinks front led

The portable display test does not attempt to blink the LED at all.

What do you mean by "front led" btw? ML only uses the card LED (when loading normally, not from display test, the card LED is turned on as soon as the camera model is recognized), and on some cameras, the blue DirectPrint LED (but only when main firmware is up and running; never from bootloader).

ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2016, 10:36:43 PM »
Look here this should clarify, I made video how it looks - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qseFkmGknPM

Nothing else in any combination, including portable display test, have no reaction except, when camera is powered by external power adapter it blinks the front led.
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10013
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2016, 11:03:34 PM »
This reminds me of the very short time the camera stays on if the communication between two digic cores is unsuccessful.

Here's a LED blinking test for 7D: autoexec.bin.

Only tested in QEMU. Walter, can you confirm it's blinking on your 7D?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2016, 11:18:07 PM »
No, not working. Top LCD working, wheels acting normal, rest does not react at all.

ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2016, 11:29:30 PM »
This reminds me of the very short time the camera stays on if the communication between two digic cores is unsuccessful.

I saw somewhere topic about this. Can this be a result of camera overheating. I'm just speculating here of probable scenario, as this happened when person I lent camera to switched it off, took card out copied pictures and then inserted it back in and camera did not turn on, he called me and I instructed do the battery removal, and start without card, it did not help. Maybe camera got stuck without card, overheated... just speculating. On Wednesday I'll have chance to bring it to repair shop.

Here's a LED blinking test for 7D: autoexec.bin.

No change for me
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10013
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2016, 11:38:10 PM »
Updated binary, can you try again? The 7D appears to use a different LED address in bootloader...

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2016, 11:48:45 PM »

ansius

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2016, 11:52:12 PM »
same here :(
Canon EOS 7D & 40D, EF-S 17-85mm IS USM, EF 28-300mm IS USM, Mir-20, Mir-1, Helios 44-5, Zenitar ME1, Industar 50-2, Industar 61L/Z-MC, Jupiter 37A, TAIR-3
http://www.ansius.lv http://ansius.500px.com

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10013
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2016, 07:30:16 AM »
One more try (same link).

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2016, 08:59:05 AM »
Did a fresh install with nightlies (2016Jul09) and replaced the recent binary that @a1ex uploaded which then made the screen go black as soon as I turned it back on after restart. I then take the battery out and pop it back in and that's when I notice a single LED blink. Is this what you're looking for? Still unable to use the Canon or ML menu unless I take the card out.

In order for the 7D to become responsive I had to replace the autoexec.bin back to the original from nightlies and ML is back to normal.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10013
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #17 on: July 26, 2016, 09:17:08 AM »
That single LED blink, if consistent, is better than nothing.

@DeafEyeJedi or @Walter: with normal ML, when the camera is off, if you remove the lens and put it back, does the LED blink? Same question using the blinking autoexec from above.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #18 on: July 26, 2016, 09:26:42 AM »
7D and I will meet again in the evening. Maybe DeafEyeJedi will give it a try.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #19 on: July 26, 2016, 09:44:28 AM »
Just tried taking the lens off and back on to no blink whatsoever. Did this with three different Canon lenses just to be sure.

Are we looking for a constant flash (like a long pause while lit) or a rapid quick flash?

Can this so called "LED blink" only occur once after each fresh install of ML? Because I only saw it flashed once when I changed from 24 pancake to 40 pancake but then when took it out again and swap it back which didn't produce anymore blinks afterwards.

Should I try to do another fresh install just to be sure that I didn't miss anything in the first place?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10013
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #20 on: July 26, 2016, 10:55:48 AM »
All other cameras should blink when you do this lens trick, with a ML card inside, so you can check what blink to expect.

From the current reports, I guess the 7D blinks once at power on, then locks up.

Here's a full-featured autoexec for 7D that should blink when changing the lens with the camera off, just like all other cameras: autoexec.bin. It's compiled without modules, so you can just paste it over an old ML installation.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #21 on: July 26, 2016, 11:19:16 AM »
Okay just did another run with your autoexec.bin from recent post above. Funny thing is now it doesn't blink at all when changing lenses and yet I haven't had it locked up either. Been trying to get it bricked or at least an opportunity for me to need to take the battery out.

Seriously ... what gives?  :o
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10013
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #22 on: July 26, 2016, 11:25:09 AM »
Yeah, 7D being stubborn as usual...

I'll try to emulate the bootloaders in QEMU, maybe I'll figure out what it expects. At this point, I'm kinda stuck.

Just to be sure - does the portable display test still work on 7D? (I've updated the binary a while ago for 80D, but didn't check if it still works on 7D)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #23 on: July 26, 2016, 11:33:59 AM »
Just to be sure - does the portable display test still work on 7D? (I've updated the binary a while ago for 80D, but didn't check if it still works on 7D)

Correct.

5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5534
Re: so got a frozen 7D
« Reply #24 on: July 26, 2016, 11:40:48 AM »
Is this the latest PDT autoexec.bin? Doesn't the latest one backup ROM0 and ROM1?