Author Topic: Canon 80D  (Read 91225 times)

AaronE

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Canon 80D
« Reply #75 on: December 13, 2016, 10:41:06 PM »
Hello as well!  Long time ML user on a T2i (and CHDK user before that on a P&S from a decade ago).

Just pulled the trigger on an 80D, and would love to lend a hand.  I've a lot of C and higher experience, a good bit of (rusty) embedded knowledge, some ASM and ARM chops, and a tiny bit of reverse engineering.  Looking forward to getting involved – the minds here (I'm looking at you, a1ex!) are pretty damn impressive.

Hopefully it's here by the end of the week and I'll be useful.  Anything I can do to get started (besides RTFM) to further the cause?

Mashaal_m47

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #76 on: December 16, 2016, 09:53:17 PM »
I know thats its too early to expect an hack for canon 80d can i know that is there any work going on for canon 80d

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
Re: Canon 80D ~ Dear Santa
« Reply #77 on: December 21, 2016, 07:50:53 PM »
      HeyThere St' Nik & Alex

   I'll bet You Can You guess what I would Really Like for Christmas ~

                     ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

komocode

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #78 on: December 30, 2016, 10:12:56 AM »
that sounds great guys. hopefully one day we'll see ML on 80D

Jamie_Fenn

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #79 on: January 06, 2017, 02:21:19 AM »
If ML is available for 80d in the future, what do you guys think the capabilities of the camera  will be?

ltf3

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #80 on: January 09, 2017, 10:51:36 PM »
selfishly, all I need is Focus Peaking for video!
 ;D


gsanchez922

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #81 on: January 16, 2017, 08:32:16 AM »
selfishly, all I need is Focus Peaking for video!
 ;D


Hello man if you only need focus peak checkout Feelworld FW759 7 Inches Here is the link for amazon. This is ready to go.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0196JVB0S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

gusjsph

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #82 on: February 05, 2017, 09:26:22 AM »
hey there, just bought myself an 80D and would love to help if you need it! I really need the option to record video for longer than 30 minutes so if there's anything I can do to help the development process PM me and I'll do my best to assist. Thanks for your hard work on this software, much appreciated!

Kaleb

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #83 on: February 18, 2017, 06:08:18 AM »
Hey! First off, great work everyone! I love the progress that's being made.
 I would like to offer my help as I have an 80D and would love to help if needed.

PM me if you need me! It would be an honour to further with the development of Magic Lantern for 80D with you all!

Mr.Click

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Dortmund, Germany
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #84 on: February 19, 2017, 02:03:54 PM »
There is a new firmware for the 80D available , maybe this will help developing an 80D ML Version ?
Canon
EOS 80D/ EOS M+ML /  EOS 50E/ EF-M 18-55 3,5-5,6 IS STM / EF-S 10-18 4,5-5,6 IS STM / A 24 1,4 DG HSM / EF 35 2,0 IS USM / EX 50 1,4 HSM / EF-S 55-250 4.5,6 IS STM , Speedlight 430 EX II

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #85 on: February 19, 2017, 02:23:11 PM »
There is a new firmware for the 80D available , maybe this will help developing an 80D ML Version ?
No. Only finding the developer with the camera would help...

Kaleb

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #86 on: February 22, 2017, 12:58:00 AM »
Nice eye! I didn't even notice there was an update!

How would a new firmware help in the development of Magic Lantern?

ariznaf

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • 80D
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #87 on: February 22, 2017, 11:52:33 AM »
Because they have a firmware in a file to play with it in the emulators.

It seems that it is not easy to get the firmware out from the camera.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10342
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #88 on: February 22, 2017, 12:11:36 PM »
It seems that it is not easy to get the firmware out from the camera.

Click!

Anyone with basic command-line skills can get a copy of the firmware from his own camera and reproduce my experiments in the emulator. Hint, hint ;)

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #89 on: February 24, 2017, 06:58:50 PM »

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #90 on: February 24, 2017, 07:17:20 PM »
When we will see exactly the same picture on the camera display?   :)

walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #91 on: February 24, 2017, 07:18:17 PM »
It's alive!

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3032
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #92 on: February 24, 2017, 07:36:34 PM »
Great work @Greg!
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #93 on: February 24, 2017, 08:07:22 PM »
I just ran qemu :

Code: [Select]
./run_canon_fw.sh 80D,firmware=\"boot=1\" -s -S & arm-none-eabi-gdb -x 80D/debugmsg.gdb
I do not have 80D. It's just a joke (changed artist in hex editor)  ;)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #94 on: February 25, 2017, 07:39:19 AM »
                       @Greg

             NOT FUNNY ~

                               ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

Pierro777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #95 on: February 26, 2017, 12:32:20 AM »
Is this for real or trolling ?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10342
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #96 on: February 26, 2017, 03:09:32 PM »
When we will see exactly the same picture on the camera display?   :)

... about 7 months ago ;)

Is this for real or trolling ?

Greg's screen is real; that's what any of you will get by running your ROM in QEMU with default configuration (which runs the portable display test).

Next step is figuring out how to fix the boot process. Experience with self-modifying code on ARMv7 will help.

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #97 on: February 26, 2017, 03:26:48 PM »

Greg

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #98 on: February 26, 2017, 05:32:21 PM »
EnableBootDisk
Code: [Select]
0xFE5F150C(0xFC040004, -1);
DisableBootDisk
Code: [Select]
0xFE5F150C(0xFC040004, 0);

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: Canon 80D
« Reply #99 on: February 26, 2017, 07:24:28 PM »
EnableBootDisk
Code: [Select]
0xFE5F150C(0xFC040004, -1);
DisableBootDisk
Code: [Select]
0xFE5F150C(0xFC040004, 0);
Try it on YOUR camera first.  ;D