Questions about Lua scripting

Started by garry23, January 24, 2016, 06:48:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

garry23

I appreciate this thread may not even get traction, but it is my humble attempt to see if the 'experts' can support the 'newbies' on Lua scripting.

By copying the scripts of others, I am making slow progress on learning to script in ML-Lua.

But like most programming, I find myself struggling with some basics, as I'm not a programmer.

As an example. To print a message I would use

print "test message"

So far so good. But what if I wish to print a variable, ie for debugging. For example lens.focal_length. If I try

print "lens.focal_length" I simply get the text 'lens.focal_length'.

I've tried using the Lua tostring, but get errors.

Bottom line: if this post gets traction, I hope it can be used by all those interested in learning Lua: supported by those that are prepared to mentor others.

Danne

Good initiative.
I,m a little curious about this stuff too. Could this thread include working scripts that could be tested and maybe a short tutorial on what is needed to get the module and the existing scripts working?

Walter Schulz

And I would be thankful for some directions:
Start here, that's your sandbox where you can't damage that much.
And this is a minefield and you should only enter after gaining some experience.

DeafEyeJedi

Agreed. Even if it was a minefield ... I'd dig through carefully to gain some useful directions.

+1 @garry23 for starting this thread!

[emoji106]
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

dmilligan