Author Topic: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)  (Read 148567 times)

canneloni

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #575 on: April 05, 2017, 11:09:06 AM »
Is there any way to manually enable MLs Picture Review Mode in Playback? I see the overlays only in the quick playback after i took the picture.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 940
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #576 on: April 05, 2017, 09:24:33 PM »
@caneloni: For the moment it's not defined (=not available). if it were then there would be a hint printed on the help menu on which button to use for overlaying it in play mode. The problem is the lack of traceable+unused buttons which trigger an event. ISO, flash button etc don't trigger an event. Rest is already used.

Maybe create a feature request on bitbucket (once 100D got part of nightlies) for force-setting it statically via a ML menu option? Can't judge myself if it would be that useful to get accepted though
70D.112 & 100D.101

canneloni

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #577 on: April 06, 2017, 07:59:36 AM »
Ah thanks, i just thought i was to stupid to use it right. I think it would be nice for us entry level users, since the 5D II ( im not sure about the others) has more options for reviewing an image.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

JohanJ

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #578 on: April 06, 2017, 11:16:09 AM »
On 60D the overlays can be activated for picture review by pressing the unlock button. But Rebels do not have this button. One thought for the feature request: adding the overlays to the INFO button when reviewing the pictures might be interesting. Today one can toggle through different review modes. Why not having an additional "overlay" mode? Just thinking aloud..

Sent from my SM-T719 using Tapatalk

60D.111 & 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9819
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #579 on: April 06, 2017, 11:39:33 AM »
Sounds good, although might be tricky to implement. One has to detect when the overlays are in clean full-screen mode (not sure how), and "steal" the next INFO button press (as it's done with display presets in LiveView).

Or maybe an option to show them all the time (maybe an additional option under Global Draw, or rework it somehow).

fdewet

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #580 on: April 18, 2017, 11:47:35 AM »
Been using ML on my 100d since the first beta version. The progress has been amazing. So well done to NickFreak and the rest of the guys. Two minor bugs I picked up.
1. When selecting a different PicStyle for recording under Expo/Picture Style/REC-PicStyle, it only activates from the 2nd time you record. So the first time you start recording it will use the normal setting selected, and then from the 2nd video on it will record using the REC-PicStyle selected.
2. When selecting Clear Overlays, ALWAYS ON, it works perfectly and clears the overlays when camera is switched on. When using HDMI out it does not clear the overlays. However, if the trash can button is pushed to call up the ML settings and then pushed again to exit the ML settings, the overlays are cleared. So one is able to then record via HDMI out with no overlays, even with autofocus on.

A quick question as well. Do you have any idea whether the HDMI out is raw? The reason I am asking is because there is a huge colour difference between the HDMI out and the on camera video recording.

Been testing the RAW video capture and all I can say is wow! Works well and have not picked up,any glitches. Very usable and good quality.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 940
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #581 on: April 20, 2017, 11:03:51 AM »
also, on 70D, we had same reportings for the picstyle not applying on first record, but I've not been able to find the root cause:

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.msg154730#msg154730
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.msg181755#msg181755

Update: Ok, found this https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/2379/canon-6d-116-rec-picstyle-magiclantern

Means you just have to wait until we become part of the nightlies. For the moment I don't know if the experimental download includes the fix (not checked the issue myself but i guess the fix is included). You probably downloaded from the first page which doesn't include the fix.
70D.112 & 100D.101

LittoD

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #582 on: April 21, 2017, 05:05:44 AM »
Hi there,
first time coming to the forum. I have us ML for a while now as a supplement to regular Canon recording. I cant ever seem to the the RAW to work for me. Im committed to figuring it out though. Lately I have been getting this overlay of black crosses (focus marks?) that show up every time i convert from RAW to DNG. I use Resovle to open them up and RAWlite to convert. I had RAW working before once without these issues.

JuancaF

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #583 on: April 23, 2017, 10:02:54 PM »
Hi, I'm new in the forum.
Thank you for the instructions in order to install Magic Lantern in the 100d.   It's fantastic.
I'm happy to have an intervalometer in the camera, for example, or take shots of more than 30 seconds, but unfortunately there are no help files. It's a pitty.
Anyone know if they are already writing for the next version?.
Or what files could be copied in the ML folder in order to keep the help files??
Thanks
Juan Carlos

DylserX

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #584 on: April 27, 2017, 01:35:24 PM »
Hey there guys, 
Just wanted to voice my appreciation for all the great work on Magic Lantern for 100D! 

Here are a couple of clips I've put together of some RAW video tests.
https://youtu.be/gJBlp9Bqm80
https://youtu.be/XCMaEG4g4zY

Keep up the good work! :)

canneloni

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #585 on: May 10, 2017, 11:58:25 AM »
About the image review settings:

Would it be possible to place the option for enabling the normal review like the quickreview inside the existing "Image Review Settings"  under "Play mode actions" ? It seems like we can trigger an event this way.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

edt

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #586 on: May 19, 2017, 11:01:08 AM »
Hi all - not been on here for 12 months + !
Does ML on the 100D now handle audio monitoring & levels?
THANKS