Author Topic: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)  (Read 132088 times)

Benster

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #550 on: February 25, 2017, 09:09:58 AM »
Installation on my SL1 was a breeze.
Magic Zoom is buggy and flickers a ton.
Powersaving mode: LCD off during recording:  5 seconds works and powers off the LCD, 10 seconds works as well.  anything above that doesn't work and the LCD stays on the whole time.
Movie recording mode:  going pass the 4GB mark sometimes crashes the camera.  Sometimes I can get movie restart to keep recording, sometimes it fails.

valhalla

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #551 on: March 02, 2017, 12:36:02 PM »
@nikfreak: Testing "magiclantern-Nightly.2017Jan06.100D101.zip" reveals the following:

1. Pressing and holding "SET" upon switching on the camera does not prevent ML from loading - reproducible 100% of the time

2. Deleting an image using the "trash" button when in image gallery blocks the camera and there is a blinking "Err" in the viewfinder. Also the LED indicator for SD card lits up and never stops. Switching off the camera has absolutely no effect over the above stated 'symptoms'. Only after removing the battery the camera gets into working mode- reproducible 30% of the time only when deleting in gallery after being in Live view mode (being previously in Photo mode and deleting images after that does not produce this bug).


Same for me, and I had the same problems with older version

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 909
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #552 on: March 02, 2017, 12:45:00 PM »
few posts earlier I already posted an update about 1.)
for 2.) can you please share a video of the issue. I tried to replicate it but am not able to reproduce it.
70D.112 & 100D.101

stumps

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #553 on: March 03, 2017, 09:43:00 PM »
@nikfreak: It's very weird since bug #2 does not happen every time I delete an image. I'll try playing around in order to find out which are the circumstances that cause it to happen. It needs some time of thorough testing.
EOS 100D - 1.0.1

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9578
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #554 on: March 11, 2017, 09:36:14 PM »
Tried the new build. FAILS raised to 15 but good news is they all are unique and new ones. Those reported earlier are gone:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9Mu66yg5QzRNmV0MUpWeHBmX2M/view?usp=sharing

Fix pushed, please test again.

Check also my comment on EOSM thread

Looks like they were broken by some menu changes done for Lua API, and fixed later in the dynamic-my-menu branch. I've merged that one into lua_fix and those bugs are no longer present.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 909
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #555 on: March 12, 2017, 08:53:43 AM »
tested the new experimental build.
One FAIL left when running stubs api test right at the beginning:

Quote
Pass] is_play_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x1
[Pass] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x1
[Pass] lv_focus_status => 0x3
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
[Pass] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x0
[Pass] lv_focus_status => 0x2
[FAIL] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
[Pass] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x0
....

http://pastebin.com/d9fFCaxN
70D.112 & 100D.101

scherbakoff.dima

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #556 on: March 13, 2017, 07:03:26 AM »
Hi Nik! Thank you for your amazing work! ML works quite stable with january build. Is it possible to make an option in ML menu like "load ML on start" which would be invertable by pressing MENU button on start? Sometimes people need as max battery as possible :)
Thanks in advance :)

astrob3

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #557 on: March 16, 2017, 12:59:25 AM »
Whenever I try to install on my camera the file is not found on the sd card. When I go to the firmware update, it just says that the memory card with the update is required. I'm very new at all this so it could be something simple I'm missing. Thank you!

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3366
  • I have a 1Dx, I'm awesome.
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #558 on: March 20, 2017, 05:27:57 AM »
Is it possible to make an option in ML menu like "load ML on start" which would be invertable by pressing MENU button on start?

Sort of.

Occasionally I want to run the camera without Magic Lantern?

Hold the SET button while powering on the camera.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 909
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #559 on: March 20, 2017, 09:11:44 AM »
For now one needs to compile manually on his own to get the INFO button functionality for skipping ML-init on boot. Functionality was broken with set button due to the q/set button hack but is fixed on the bitbucket branch.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16040.msg180131#msg180131
70D.112 & 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9578
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #560 on: March 26, 2017, 01:09:19 AM »
One FAIL left when running stubs api test right at the beginning:

This one appears to be a false alarm (hopefully fixed).

After merging lua_fix, 100D is next on the list for including in the nightlies. Meanwhile, you may consider the lua_fix build from the Experiments page as "release candidate", so please give it a try. Not just on Lua, but on all other functionality.

P.S. I'm now able to run the 100D ML (unmodified autoexec.bin) in QEMU (so I could check a couple of things locally). So far, so good; only noticed some minor issues:
- the temperature is not yet in Celsius
- ML overlay colors don't adapt to Canon's color scheme outside LiveView (COLOR_FG_NONLV)
- selecting a Kelvin temperature gives a strange display indicator (K over AWB icon); not sure if only happens in QEMU or also on real camera, as properties are not emulated very well
- continuous AF should probably display a warning on ML focus tools (probably on other models as well; need to find the property that triggers it)
- task list overflows (todo: check how many tasks can be started after ML loads)
- memory levels are OK (quite good actually for a Rebel)
- QEMU crashes when selecting "Don't click me" (emulator bug)

Overall impression is very good - nice job @nikfreak! (and sorry for being so slow with reviewing the new ports)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 909
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #561 on: March 26, 2017, 12:27:15 PM »
I need to catch up with your QEMU work. Last time I fired it up was the PoC for porting 100D/70D.

Meanwhile pushed a commit which adds support for Celsius display (thx escho). For COLOR_FG_NONLV I just copied what you pushed for 700D but can't see a difference to it#s previous value 1 (defined for most Digic5 cams).

The Kelvin icon was really a problem as it overlayed over Canon's icon. I used that chance to go for 60D's flexinfo layout and did some small adjustment. See attached picture on what it looks like now. Probably 700D and other rebels would fit into this layout too. I guess ML's "K" icon overlays there, too.
70D.112 & 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9578
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #562 on: March 26, 2017, 06:10:21 PM »
Indeed, setting the color to 80 fixed this. Look at clock color between schemes 1 and 2, for example.

Unfortunately, this setting is not portable; 60D, for example, paints the info with color 1 (and has a single color scheme), while 100D uses color 80 on all 5 color schemes.

The problem with 60D flexinfo is that yellow is unreadable on color scheme 2 (minor issue; just a nice touch). 60D only has black background and white fonts, so yellow was fine. Maybe I should take the time to unify these layouts a bit.

Looks like I also need to fix that screenshot palette bug. (edit: done!)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 909
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #563 on: March 26, 2017, 07:30:00 PM »
Ok reverted all yellow colored text to COLOR_FG_NONLV and pushed the necessary changes to bitbucket.

70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2771
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)
« Reply #564 on: March 26, 2017, 09:07:39 PM »
Wonderful progress guys!
5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

 

courtesy