Author Topic: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4a)  (Read 149305 times)

Frosty

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #50 on: October 25, 2015, 07:00:27 PM »
*Bug Report Sheet*

Regarding Alpha-1a (Oct 19th) -- 

4. Bugs
Expo override , when is On and i switch to the live view the camera crashes, no response to the on/off switch or anything, in the viewfinder one text flashing Err, only when i remove the battery then turn the camera back on, when this option is off no problem in liveview.


Canon 100D/100B/

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #51 on: October 25, 2015, 07:04:41 PM »
Expo override , when is On and i switch to the live view the camera crashes, no response to the on/off switch or anything, in the viewfinder one text flashing Err, only when i remove the battery then turn the camera back on, when this option is off no problem in liveview.

I am unable to reproduce this on 100D.100A and seems to be only affecting 100D.100B (& maybe C versions as well?) however which lens did you try this on with?

https://vimeo.com/143538981

I noticed that we can change ISO from Canon button while recording turning off Global draw, not when is on.
Canon's quick menu can open only by touch screen
Very Ocasional crash for not defined reason ( Possibly after changing misc key settings  LCD sensor shortcut to OFF )

I tried to reproduce this in video above with only partly success. Touch screen isn't working at all on my end?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

saucedf

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #52 on: October 25, 2015, 09:08:14 PM »
I have issue when I shoot Raw video (MLV), I gets this weird artifacts on my video. I'm wondering if anyone is seeing the same problem. 100D.B

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #53 on: October 25, 2015, 09:09:29 PM »
Which FPS settings, ISO & Lens did you used?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

Felipe

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #54 on: October 25, 2015, 09:15:30 PM »
Very Ocasional crash for not defined reason ( Possibly after changing misc key settings  LCD sensor shortcut to OFF )  = CONFIRMED IS NOT CRASHING ANY MORE, SHORTCUT SENSOR ON IS FINE
TOUCH Screen working fine ( By the way, I don't use modules )
650D-100D.100B

saucedf

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #55 on: October 25, 2015, 09:28:49 PM »
"Which FPS settings, ISO & Lens did you used?"

FPS =24
Resolution= 1280X720
ISO=100
Lens= 18-55 STM

I'm trying to insert a image that show the artifact but it doesn't let me.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #56 on: October 25, 2015, 09:30:58 PM »
Try Dropbox?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

Frosty

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #57 on: October 25, 2015, 09:34:26 PM »
I am unable to reproduce this on 100D.100A and seems to be only affecting 100D.100B (& maybe C versions as well?) however which lens did you try this on with?

https://vimeo.com/143538981

I tried to reproduce this in video above with only partly success. Touch screen isn't working at all on my end?

i tested again , this time no error, just a non working lcd :D
the best part is, this error only shows when i want to do a long exposure picture with the lcd on, i tried this with my 3 lens (Canon EFS 18-55mm STM , Canon EF 50mm , Tamron 70-300 Di) and the results are the same, non working lcd
if my shutter is 10 sec or more and i switch to the liveview mode the screen goes black and only the power on/off mode works, but if i turn off the exposure simulation this problem disappear
tomorow i make a video to show the problem, now i only have 5 hours until work :D so :D

my ml settings are reseted after the error so i dont know which combination makes that error :(
Canon 100D/100B/

Felipe

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #58 on: October 25, 2015, 09:47:52 PM »
Yes Frosty I just reproduded your problem when in Exposure override, and making long exposure in live view , the camera crashes.
2 Seconds exposure is fine from 3 seconds and up crashes
650D-100D.100B

saucedf

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #59 on: October 25, 2015, 09:59:17 PM »

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #60 on: October 25, 2015, 10:28:25 PM »
Link below
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/irqfcl8x9vys9o4/AAAjr7UuTOIbbTo34j9DofGMa?dl=0

Those are (I think) what are called Focus Pixels which other similar cameras such as EOS-M, Rebels including SL1/100D has these issues as well which can be removed in post with varieties of apps/converters that are out there... For instance like MLVFS, Raw2cdng or even MLRawViewer can probably do the dirty work for you.

https://vimeo.com/143552365
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

saucedf

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #61 on: October 25, 2015, 11:13:17 PM »
Thank you for tip DeafEyeJedi it worked.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #62 on: October 26, 2015, 06:40:11 AM »
Yes Frosty I just reproduded your problem when in Exposure override, and making long exposure in live view , the camera crashes.
2 Seconds exposure is fine from 3 seconds and up crashes

Confirmed this on mine as well.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 940
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #63 on: October 26, 2015, 08:07:13 AM »
updated 1st post with new download links. Read changelog / source on bitbucket. I was rather trying to fix the annoying artifacts which appear in LV / movie mode but wasn't able to fix it yet. DeafEyeJedi's video shows the artifacts right from the beginning of the video:

http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16040.msg156053#msg156053
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #64 on: October 26, 2015, 08:34:38 AM »
Great news (at least for me)!

https://vimeo.com/143585511

Thanks for your quick turnaround, @nikfreak!
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 940
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #65 on: October 26, 2015, 09:33:28 AM »
I rather got them appearing still quite often and my solution for fixing it temporarily is switching to play mode and back but then again it mght be only my cam which is acting like that...
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #66 on: October 26, 2015, 09:35:29 AM »
Really? That's strange ...

I'll double check again tmw as I'm currently dozing off ...

Hopefully others will chime in by then.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

u4ia24

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #67 on: October 26, 2015, 10:23:06 AM »
There seems to be less artifacts now compared before but I still get a little when I return to the menu from Live View.

BTW, it looks like Magic Zoom, Focus Peaking, and Zebras are not working right now?
100D/100A

Felipe

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #68 on: October 26, 2015, 01:13:43 PM »
Great nikfreak,
Bitrate works very well,
Exposure override remains the same problem,
Lens info works well now
Iso can be adjusted during video recording by the Canon Iso button
DOF setting work well now
Thanks
650D-100D.100B

Felipe

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #69 on: October 26, 2015, 01:47:07 PM »
@nikfreak.
Missing shortcut arrows
annoying artifacts which appear in LV
Cropmarks show on play blinks
Quick menu in live view works only by touch screen not by button
Exposure override Photo exposure over 2 seconds crash the camera
650D-100D.100B

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 940
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #70 on: October 26, 2015, 03:03:40 PM »
thx for reporting I will check it.
70D.112 & 100D.101

u4ia24

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #71 on: October 26, 2015, 03:17:45 PM »
Also Live View zoom tweaks -> Increase SharpContrast ON with Zoom on HalfShutter ON crashes when shutter is half pressed on MF.
100D/100A

Felipe

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #72 on: October 26, 2015, 04:42:00 PM »
Just noticed does not show temperature
650D-100D.100B

koenkooi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #73 on: October 26, 2015, 05:05:01 PM »
Focal length information and DoF calculation are now correct as well with Alpha_1b:

EOS-M
EOS 7D
EOS 100D 100D.100B

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 940
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Alpha-1a / 19th Oct)
« Reply #74 on: October 26, 2015, 06:01:05 PM »
Just noticed does not show temperature

Yes. The only temp infos you can get atm are EFIC ones in debug menu. There's another thread from user escho (u can search for it) where we can contribute and ask for efic2celsius conversion formula. But this only makes sense after we got stable. Til then no temps will be shown in LV or movie mode as on the 70D thread that feature caused people to get worried about temps as they were simply shown wrong...
70D.112 & 100D.101