Samsung NX1 Source code

Started by 3nrayged, May 17, 2015, 06:42:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

3nrayged

Hi ML coders,

Would any of your talented coders have a look to the Samsung NX1 source code? I know you are more Canon oriented but Samsung is perhaps opening the way to new features so why not giving it a try. I reckon though that finding Alpha testers for a brand new camera will be tough.

But for your curiosity and mine, here is the link for the NX1 source code. I'm not a coder so I'll probably won't understand anything.

http://opensource.samsung.com/reception/receptionSub.do?method=sub&sub=T&menu_item=photography&classification1=digital%20cameras

Cheers!

Licaon_Kter

Yes, running Tizen IIRC, now, what are the NX1 users missing in this 4K H.265 camera? :D

3nrayged

Hi Licaon_Kter,

Well the most annoying flaw in the firmware is the inability to turn off the Automatic Gain Control for sound recording.

The 8 bits H.265 4k at 80Mbps is already pretty good but knowing that almost every SD Cards write at least 30MB/s, increasing the bitrate to 200Mbps in 10 bits H.265 would add more latitude for color grading and less banding. I don't know if doable though, never seen 10 bit H.265 on the market yet.

Another downside of the camera is the FAT32 limitation. If we could make it NTFS compatible, we'd probably get rid of the 30mins 1080p and 7mins 4k limitations. Another possibility would be to enable the camera to do 4GB cuts but record continuously.

A lot of users have been complaining about H.265 (personally I don't mind transcoding), A H.264 200Mbps a la GH4 could help them.

In timelapse mode we cannot use a slower shutter speed than 1/50s, that would be perfect to be able to set any shutter speed to increase motion blur.

There are heaps of possibilities I guess, I'm thinking of a Assistant Camera Android app in which you could do metalogging and it would sync to the camera and rename the files. Some kind of live metalogging.