Noise in the red channel

Started by eightcore, April 22, 2015, 11:09:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eightcore

Hi,

I've been recording RAW video with my 50D since December 2013. It took me 1.5 years to find out that the image noise level in the red channel is extremely high.
Take a look at this screenshot.

The t-shirt is plain red, no structure at all. But in my footage it's covered by a ton of low frequency noise.
For testing purposes, I separated chrominance from luminance in Resolve and took a look at the noise levels of both of them. Result: The luminance channel is almost noise-free, so are the blues and greens, but the reds look like this.

• I'm using BMD Film to VisionLOG LUT.
  • I have highlight tone priority enabled and configured a ML digital ISO gain of +1.0 EV. In my tests, this has led to the best dynamic range. Dark areas are quite noisy, which is why I denoise my footage with Neat Video (just a tiny bit, there is no visible loss of detail)
  • I can't get rid of this noise with Neat Video, it's frequency is too low and the irregularity too high.
  • It doesn't matter wheter I denoise before the LUT is getting applied or afterwards.
  • I tested a second 50D on this behaviour. Same result.
  • When using the Linear to BMDFilm 4K LUT, the issue is almost invisible, but the more I try to grade it towards the gorgeous colors of the VisionLOG lut, the more appearant the noise gets.

Is this a known issue? Do you have any advice in terms of settings or post processing? Please keep in mind that I would like to get the best dynamic range and if the solution would noticeable reduce the DR, I ain't even averse to switch to another camera.

Best regards,

eightcore

Levas

The picture looks very cool (not in a good way, but BLUE color way  :P)

Do you load the raw footage in resolve, Try cranking up the white balance to 6000Kelvin or something ?

Edit: