Author Topic: Canon EOS M3  (Read 59101 times)

Justkeepexploring

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #50 on: September 16, 2015, 11:56:12 PM »
Just FYI, Canon is releasing the EOS M3 and all of the current EOS M lenses in the US in early Oct! 

usting316

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #51 on: September 30, 2015, 06:43:58 AM »
any update on eos m3 on magic lantern? i have an eos m with ML and i use it for timelapse. will get an eos m3 this coming days. i hope ML will support m3

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #52 on: September 30, 2015, 07:38:38 AM »
I guess you will not see ML on M3 but as stated earlier it's likely to run CHDK
70D.112 & 100D.101

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #53 on: September 30, 2015, 07:30:13 PM »
Definitely...


DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2763
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #54 on: September 30, 2015, 11:20:51 PM »
Nice progress, Ant123!
5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

usting316

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #55 on: October 01, 2015, 06:42:20 AM »
Ant123 wow great progress :D

stoopkid

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #56 on: October 08, 2015, 06:17:23 AM »
Ant, is there any chance of getting an option to turn off Exposure Simulation any time soon on CHDK? Because I've got to return this thing otherwise.

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #57 on: October 09, 2015, 11:01:38 AM »
Ant, is there any chance of getting an option to turn off Exposure Simulation any time soon on CHDK?
I think it is more appropriate to talk about it on CHDK forum...

Chopeca

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #58 on: November 07, 2015, 12:32:33 AM »
I just got myself an M3. The body is just so much nicer than the original one, and I wanted to be able to flip the screen. Unfortunately, the video quality this camera produces now is awful, and you can't even use manual settings. The exposure settings it lands on are usually bizarre.  Really hoping Magic Lantern makes its way onto this camera, because it would be the best videocamera for the buck. With the EF-M mount you can get image-stabilized lenses really cheap (unlike EF full-frame), so you don't need to carry around a lot of equipment. The write speed might even be enough to get 1080p RAW now.

cpreston

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #59 on: November 07, 2015, 06:10:19 AM »
You can't shoot in manual on the M3?  Is that right?  That seems so strange since you can shoot in manual on the M1.  In any case, I'm sticking with the M1 unless ML is somehow made to work on the M3.  Very unlikely.  The EOS-M is a really nice little camera with ML.  I would love better video quality and I've heard that the M3 is slightly better, but ML is the key to making it useable for video in my opinion.

stoopkid

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #60 on: November 07, 2015, 06:31:23 AM »
Chopeca, in video mode press "set" then the first icon in the top left selects between auto and manual.

Chopeca

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #61 on: November 07, 2015, 11:39:10 AM »
Thank you so much stoopkid! ;) That is awesome.

dimitri

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • eosM eosM3 t3i
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #62 on: November 15, 2015, 10:54:05 PM »
M3 is a great little camera for movie capturing and it really needs magic lantern, soon.
Some months ago I was joking on this thread by saying "I  am not sure if it really needs it".
In fact I was expecting that the developers would have made it quickly for this special camera.
Unfortunately things now show that it is very difficult to see anything on the horizon.
CHDK porting for M3 is not a good turn, because CHDK is mainly not for video.
In fact CHDK is a good option for point and shoot cameras that do not have many manual controls.
M3 with CHDK would be able to run some scripts for interval stills shooting: but you can do this very easily with an external remote timer and you do not need CHDK.
I would love to see the the zebras, the Kelvin white balance, time lapse videos through "fps override', the override of shutter speeds during movie capturing, the bit rate control and so many other unique features if only Magic Lantern could run on M3.


Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #63 on: November 15, 2015, 11:26:08 PM »
Won't happen ...

Chopeca

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #64 on: November 15, 2015, 11:54:36 PM »
[...]I would love better video quality and I've heard that the M3 is slightly better, but ML is the key to making it useable for video in my opinion.
You are right. I've been using this camera for video since stoopkid pointed me in the right direction, and the video barely passes for 720p. There's very little detail. It's a shame because the body is a lot nicer than the M1, with a real grip, accentuated button placement for record and a moving screen.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, the zebra is very unreliable on longer distances. With the active focus ring on the kit lens being so short, it's incredibly difficult to focus on the move.

Won't happen ...
How come?

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #65 on: November 16, 2015, 03:56:54 AM »
How come?

Because the firmware on the M3 (and M10) is apparently based on the Powershot models while Magic Lantern hooks into the firmware for Canon DSLR's. The CHDK project has done some pretty amazing things with point & shoot cameras and CHDK does work on the M3.

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/M3

Rumor has it that the M2 has better video than the M1 or M3 and porting Magic Lantern to the M2 is possible.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15895.0

EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

usting316

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #66 on: November 16, 2015, 06:06:57 AM »
this is a sad news. was hoping to sell the eos m1, now i will be selling the m3 :(

Chopeca

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #67 on: November 16, 2015, 09:00:16 PM »
Because the firmware on the M3 (and M10) is apparently based on the Powershot models while Magic Lantern hooks into the firmware for Canon DSLR's. The CHDK project has done some pretty amazing things with point & shoot cameras and CHDK does work on the M3.
Damn. Thanks so much for letting me know! I'll follow the M2 thread to see what happens.

godashram

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #68 on: November 17, 2015, 12:10:48 AM »
I can tell you what's going on with the M2.... waiting on a dev to take it up :(
Canon T5I, EOS M2



dimitri

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • eosM eosM3 t3i
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #69 on: November 18, 2015, 09:47:59 PM »
You are right. I've been using this camera for video since stoopkid pointed me in the right direction, and the video barely passes for 720p.
Sorry I would not agree with this opinion.
Instead I quote a link for a movie test on M3

usting316

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #70 on: December 29, 2015, 07:38:13 AM »
@ant can u send me files so i can use the intervalometer options on my m3? Thanks

idubuda

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #71 on: January 12, 2016, 02:02:54 PM »
Ant 123, when the files for the M3 are going to be available? I'm really interested on using it

cheers

Diego

thetechhimself

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #72 on: January 27, 2016, 03:07:43 AM »
Technically it's CHDK, not ML, so you'd have to bug him over there.

That said they've stonewalled on development; appears to be a dead subject; different propcase set than standard Powershots thus CHDK doesn't give you control over codec (or any other video) options as it's making bad function/mismatched/unmatched calls against the M3. They'd have to rewrite their existing base code to accommodate is what I gather, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong in my interpretation.

Messy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #73 on: April 09, 2016, 09:38:16 PM »
Sorry to bump this thread.

Where are we at with a M3 build? Any success?

josepvm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #74 on: April 09, 2016, 09:51:01 PM »
M3 and M10 firmwares are based on Powershot series firmware, not on EOS DSLR's, so Magic Lantern cannot run on these cameras. In theory porting CHDK to EOS M3 is possible, and some initial work has been done, but there is no a completed CHDK port so far.

 

courtesy