Author Topic: Canon EOS M3  (Read 59102 times)

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #25 on: July 30, 2015, 03:57:43 PM »
Interesting, the update is only to fix a problem on just one non EF-M lens.

Quote
Firmware Version 1.0.1 incorporates the following enhancement:
1. Improves the autofocus speed of an EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM attached to the EOS M3.
* To mount the EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM to the EOS M3, the mount adapter EF-EOS M is required.
* The enhancement in the autofocus speed only applies when the lens is used with the EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM.

Don't hold your breath, no Digic 6 processor camera has been successfully ported yet--as far as I know.
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2015, 08:36:57 PM »
Quote
no Digic 6 processor camera has been successfully ported yet--as far as I know.

What about this:  http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php?topic=11316.0

Their basic dumper script works and I got my M3 firmware dump...

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #27 on: July 31, 2015, 08:43:54 PM »
Sounds good. Any other M3 owner able to confirm and run these instructions?

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Canon_Basic/Scripts/Dumper

If successful please send me a private message with the resulting bin file!
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2763
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #28 on: July 31, 2015, 08:45:04 PM »
Looks like I'll be buying an M3 sooner rather than later to help contribute this project further, if possible/necessary?
5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2015, 05:28:30 PM »
Is there anything that can be done with just the EOS_M3.FI2 to get started?
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #30 on: August 02, 2015, 01:12:01 AM »
Hum - interesting find here:

Quote
An indicator for DryOS is that the "Firm Update" menu entry appears if a file named *.fi2 is put on the Card instead *.fir

So since the firmware update is named EOS_M3.FI2 maybe following these instructions might be a way to get started even without a camera?

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/DryOS_Porting
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

dimsire

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #31 on: August 23, 2015, 08:25:49 PM »
hello to everybody.
I"mnew in magic lantern and I would like your help.
 I have an eos m and I installed ML some days ago.I have a small problem. When I press the trash button to use the menu of the ML it just stays in the menu only 5-7 secs and then it returns to the standby mode.I don"t have much time to  use the settings and then I haveto press again the trash button etc.
Does anybody knows if there is a setting with which I can increase the time for remaining the ML menu on the screen?
Thank you 

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #32 on: August 23, 2015, 09:22:02 PM »
Hi dimsire, welcome to Magic Lantern. This topic is about the EOS-M3 as a possible new port.

Since ML hasn't been ported to the M3 yet I'm assuming you're talking about the M1 (M2 was never ported) and you posted to the wrong topic. Please read through this topic before posting to it, I believe that issue has been discussed several times:

http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.0
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

Licaon_Kter

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 494
  • M
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #33 on: August 23, 2015, 11:00:58 PM »
When I press the trash button to use the menu of the ML it just stays in the menu only 5-7 secs and then it returns to the standby
That's a known bug... keep pressing buttons.

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #34 on: August 24, 2015, 05:51:22 AM »
The link to the bug report isn't working. Looks like there are quotes in the URL.

http://%22https//bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/1974/6d-m-700d-70d-in-live-view-mode-ml-menu%22

Anyway, this works:

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/issues/1974/6d-m-700d-70d-in-live-view-mode-ml-menu

Still not an EOS M3 issue--there are no ML issues, just ML wishes for M3 owners.
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #35 on: August 27, 2015, 08:54:04 AM »
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2763
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Canon EOS M3
« Reply #36 on: August 27, 2015, 09:17:51 AM »
Patience is Virtue and I believe Canon was smart enough to wait until they get all the proper lenses to go with the M3...

Bold Move, Canon!
5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

MarcRusso

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #37 on: August 28, 2015, 05:38:09 AM »
Hi guys,
I’m a photographer located in Perth , Western Australia. I won a Canon M3 . I found this thread while looking up how to do astro time-lapse and how I will need ML for intervalometer as the M3 doesnt have one.
I will be watching this thread closley as i really need one to get the shots i want.
I thought i would share a couple pics of the extras i have bought to make this one hell of a powerful little camera...
I really couldnt get use to looking at the LCD after using DSLR's for so long so i had to buy the EVF. Alot better!
 



I bought the EOS-m Adaptor...


Bit of a laugh with my 100-400L!!!! Works well too



Highly reccoment all M3 owners to buy the Samyang 14mm F2.8 prime . As sharp as the Canon 16-35ii!!!!! This is what i need the magic lantern for! This combo!



MarcRusso

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #38 on: August 28, 2015, 05:39:03 AM »
ps sorry about the size!!!! I just tried to fix but i cant post smaller for some reason

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #39 on: August 28, 2015, 08:09:34 AM »
Wow--lens porn!

If you want to help out you can get things started by answering nikfreak's request:

http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14990.msg152004#msg152004
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

cedricb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #40 on: August 28, 2015, 04:42:22 PM »
I couldn't get the "hello world" script working but the dumper script has produced a ~33M file!  How do I check if it's valid?

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #41 on: August 29, 2015, 02:51:35 AM »
Send nikfreak a PM (private message) and he'll tell you what to do. I made it easy for you--hope this link works:

http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?action=pm;sa=send;u=42571
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 700D.115 5D3.*

cedricb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #42 on: August 29, 2015, 11:01:25 AM »
sent a PM for both firmwares... will see if I can do something (I can program in Java and C)

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #43 on: August 29, 2015, 06:17:17 PM »
Hi all.
I made voltmeter running from script.


   
     

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #44 on: August 29, 2015, 07:29:27 PM »
Looks like we will rather see chdk running on M3 rather than ML but who knows....
70D.112 & 100D.101

Ant123

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #45 on: August 30, 2015, 09:03:26 AM »
I did not find "autoexec.bin" string in original firmware but there is "diskboot.bin" string => CHDK  :)
It is interesting to view other Digic6 cameras firmware dumps. (7d2, 750d, 760d)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2763
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #46 on: August 30, 2015, 09:07:05 AM »
Definitely interesting to know and nice progress so far, @Ant123!
5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 906
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #47 on: August 30, 2015, 10:04:43 AM »
I don't expect any dslr body to be dumped via chdk scripts. M3 should be the only one and that's not a dslr body (not for me)
70D.112 & 100D.101

thetechhimself

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #48 on: September 05, 2015, 10:41:16 PM »
Dumb question, what's necessary to customize the video bitrate on the firmware? Not a programmer, but I can script.

The EOS M2 had 50mb which produced beautiful 1080P video and no audio compression which resulted in great fidelity; vs the low bit H264 and AAC that Canon throws on the EOS M3 to neuter it so it doesn't compete with pro offerings since the autofocus and software IS is good on the M3/new APS-C's. I almost want to buy another M2 (sold it once I bought the M3) since it did such a good job with video.

DJHaze596

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Canon EOS M3
« Reply #49 on: September 11, 2015, 04:42:24 PM »
EOS M3 is a great Camera but keep in mind of the Green Tint in the corners of the EF-M lenses. This does not occur with EF-S or EF Lenses however. Video is also over Sharpened with the EF-M lenses to which cannot be fixed even if you turn down Sharpening in the Picture Profiles.

There are Samples with RAW Files posted in this review here.

http://www.johnniebutters.com/2015/03/canon-eos-m3-review-vs-original-eos-m.html