Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1388978 times)

neige

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2875 on: February 26, 2017, 05:45:37 PM »
hello everybody :)

Same here, like khwaja. when i shot in Raw video, i have some freeze, i can't make nothing after, with or without battery, with or without card.

my Dslr stay "die" during about 15 minutes, after it's come back.

i can't use my DSLR max 30 seconde in raw video, after it's crash :(, sometime that crash just in the ML menu


-- after go to the menu (the canon menu, not ML) and make "format card" no more problemes today and that keep ML

hope that can help anyone


neige




ShootMeAlready

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2876 on: February 27, 2017, 01:50:59 AM »
Ensure you have video switch set, and card (min. 40 MB/s write speed) has enough space.
Dual ISO does not work for video.
RAW video crashes the camera (need to pull battery out, wait 30s) if you use raw_twk.mo.
RAW video (14 bit) varies how it stops based on resoution and and fps.
After you hit stop stop record or it stops because of skipped frame, you have to wait for the camera to finish its processing, else you get weird behaviour.

To get most from RAW video (14 bit) continuous, ensure you dont exceed 720p /24fps. ISO 400 max.
The highest useful 14 bit raw resolution of 1600 @2:35 /24fps, and it will run about 40s or more.  ISO 400 max.
If you use higher resolutions you get clip times less than 30s, which tends to limit things.
5X mode supports 1080p and even 2k but you lose AF tracking, it forces 30fps, and the clips are less than 5s.
The best video low light mode is H264, flat profile pic shot flat, ALL-I at 1080p 30fps, ISO 1600 max.


   

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 10-18stm, 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8, 55-250 IS II "Shoot Long and Prosper"

khwaja

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2877 on: February 27, 2017, 06:37:28 AM »
Hi Neige,
I have this problem on Saturday morning. After few hours, it worked again. Then I uninstalled ML and did low level formatting. This issue happened few times again on Saturday evening. I tried switching on camera few times on Sunday. Nothing is happening so far. It is dead.
Don't know what to do at this point in time.

andy kh

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2878 on: February 27, 2017, 10:19:58 AM »
@khwaja have you check your battery if it is ok?

Andikiwi

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2879 on: February 28, 2017, 12:11:43 PM »
Hi guys, just would like to know when do you think the complete version of ML will be ready for the 70D? Thanks

neige

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2880 on: February 28, 2017, 02:07:29 PM »
probleme come back again, like you.

thank ShootMeAlready for your help !
where i can disable raw_twk.mo ? i don't find it in my modules or in the advanced raw video option
i use a Lexar 64GB / 1000x
720p/24fps and ISO 100 

thanks

Canniballissimo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2881 on: February 28, 2017, 10:33:08 PM »
please answer the question. I shot MLV by small files for 30 seconds. 40 minutes later the camera began to record video at a very low speed, about 6 megabytes instead of 38. I tried another card, which had the same low speed and there were no records on it. After 4 hours, I came home and tried again a record. The speed is normal again! As I understand it, is to protect it from overheating. Yes? How do I disable it?

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1032
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2882 on: February 28, 2017, 11:07:10 PM »
Camera would shutdown if it overheated. Your issue was/is another and I never seen any reports like yours before. You need to find a way to reproduce it.
@khwaja are you sure that dualiso (which is only active in photo mode on 70D) caused your issue? Or just a guess?
70D.112 & 100D.101

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3453
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2883 on: March 01, 2017, 09:03:14 AM »
Hi guys, just would like to know when do you think the complete version of ML will be ready for the 70D? Thanks

http://wiki.magiclantern.fm/faq#any_progress_on_xyz

Also read the other FAQ's on that page underneath the one linked.

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2884 on: March 01, 2017, 06:09:30 PM »
             @Andikiwi

          It May Already Be ~ Or ~ It Will Be When It Is ~

       I'm curious to know what You would consider to be a Complete ML.

For now I would suggest that You Load, Use & Enjoy All the Wondrous Power that the

Wizards of ML have made available to You & Your 70D & Observe & Be Patient ~~

                     ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

Starmaker5280

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2885 on: March 13, 2017, 04:08:03 AM »
Is there a 1.1.12a? I picked up this 12, and my camera said it was looking for a 12a version.

gbk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2886 on: March 13, 2017, 06:29:12 PM »
Every time when I take a photo I've got "raw error falling back to yuv overlays". Why?

Frarike

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2887 on: March 13, 2017, 07:27:13 PM »
Every time when I take a photo I've got "raw error falling back to yuv overlays". Why?

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.msg175917#msg175917
70D.112

gbk

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2888 on: March 13, 2017, 09:47:12 PM »

pmus2017

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2889 on: March 14, 2017, 11:53:06 AM »
Hi. Big thanks to all those who develop ML. Cracking tool. Just bought the 70d and having issue with ML exposure tools. In zebras and clip warning in histogram, they are only working at certain apertures. On certain apertures (different for different Sigma lenses) they don't display despite having displayed on smaller apertures ( so should be worse ). If I click through apertures from largest to smallest, every three or four settings they vanish then return as I move to the next  ( until exposure gets down to level where they should not be showing). It is identical issue with both tools at the same time. Any advice appreciated. Can't see this in the list of known bugs at top of thread.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1032
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2890 on: March 14, 2017, 01:46:09 PM »
Any Canon original lens at your hand to verify?
70D.112 & 100D.101

pmus2017

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2891 on: March 14, 2017, 01:56:55 PM »
I do but problem seems intermittent as not doing it now. Was the same yesterday. Did it for a while then resolved itself. Will try to figure out when it happens & whether there is anything I am doing that may trigger it.

offshore

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2892 on: March 17, 2017, 11:17:30 AM »
Hi! I also have the same problem .... Error Raw... and more taking photos in the app dual iso cr2hdr for osx returns me error:

--------------------------------------

cr2hdr // Beta 2.0


Input File: IMG_3953.CR2
Error: RAW ABOUT INJECTION FAILED Logfile: IMG_3953.txt

THE END
-------------------------------------

log txt:

"Cr2hdr: a post-processing tool for Dual ISO images

Last update: 2f4e2df on 02/12/2013 17:45:36 UTC by alex:
cr2hdr: fix DNG compression under Windows

Active options:
--amaze-edge: use a temporary demosaic step (Amaze) Followed by edge-directed interpolation (default)
--cs2x2: apply 2x2 chroma smoothing and aliased in noisy areas (default)

Input File: IMG_3952.CR2
No room model found with id 0x325 "

what can I do?

thanks for reply...

Roberto.
Canon EOS 70D Firm 1.1.2 Canon 70/300 Canon 17/85 Sigma 17/50 Sigma 10/20
ML Beta 4A

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5802
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2893 on: March 18, 2017, 08:26:08 AM »
Outdated. Download latest package.

stephaud

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2894 on: March 20, 2017, 06:49:56 PM »
Hi !
Could you suggest me a good choice for an external monitor working with ML please (hdmi In/Out, 7", focus peaking, 1:1 pixel, histogram...) ?
Thanks !

Frarike

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2895 on: March 20, 2017, 09:55:11 PM »
Hi !
Could you suggest me a good choice for an external monitor working with ML please (hdmi In/Out, 7", focus peaking, 1:1 pixel, histogram...) ?
Thanks !

Not here, not relevant.
70D.112

stephaud

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2896 on: March 21, 2017, 11:37:46 AM »
Not here, not relevant.
Sorry, but behind my question i would like to know if there is limitation to use an external monitor with this beta release compared to a ML supported camera like a 5D III ?
Thanks for your answer.

pmus2017

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2897 on: March 21, 2017, 12:44:26 PM »
Hi. Big thanks to all those who develop ML. Cracking tool. Just bought the 70d and having issue with ML exposure tools. In zebras and clip warning in histogram, they are only working at certain apertures. On certain apertures (different for different Sigma lenses) they don't display despite having displayed on smaller apertures ( so should be worse ). If I click through apertures from largest to smallest, every three or four settings they vanish then return as I move to the next  ( until exposure gets down to level where they should not be showing). It is identical issue with both tools at the same time. Any advice appreciated. Can't see this in the list of known bugs at top of thread.

OK I have identified when it occurs now - if I am on the native ISOs ( 160, 320, 640, e.t.c ) then it always happens. As I increase/decrease the aperture, every few stops the zebras & clip warnings disappear despite obvious clipping in the image. I have tried it on both Sigma & Canon lenses and the same problems occur with both types of lens. If i choose 100 ISO or any non native setting the problem does not appear. Obviously I can stick to the non-native ISOs but of course I want to ONLY use native ISOs to reduce noise!

Any suggestions?
Thnx

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3210
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2898 on: March 21, 2017, 03:14:20 PM »

pmus2017

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Beta-4a / 26th Oct)
« Reply #2899 on: March 21, 2017, 03:33:52 PM »
OK well as I don't have a Phd in digital imagery that didn't really make a lot of sense, but I think you are trying to indicate that this assertion that 160 multiples are the native ISOs of Canon cameras is wrong ( despite the fact that I have read it / seen it mentioned in many places online ). That being so, I can of course avoid the 160 multiples that are causing the issue which is great, but the problem still stands.