MLV Lite - The sweet taste of MLV with none of the extra calories™

Lua scripting updated


Twitter: @autoexec_bin    Facebook: magiclantern.firmware    Live chat: [email protected]

Want to help with Magic Lantern development, but have no coding skills?

Author Topic: Canon 70D (Beta-3c / 23rd Apr)  (Read 822577 times)

nikfreak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 763
Canon 70D (Beta-3c / 23rd Apr)
« on: January 15, 2015, 12:22:15 AM »
Update your forum signature and add your model (70D.111A or 70D.111B) so I can organize reported bugs to the appropriate firmware revision.

Provide a test report about functionality
Changelog
What's not working
Removing / Uninstall
Download raw_diag.mo
Problems opening 70D DNG's?? [click this]

Intro
  • Special thanks to a1ex. Without him all this wouldn't have been possible.
  • Allthough showing firmware version 1.1.1 (menu) some camera dumps have a different revision of the firmware. Therefore I had to port ML twice to 70D (70D.111A / 70D.111B)
Read this before installing:
  • If you decide to follow the installation instructions below then you do this on your own. Don't blame anyone later for what you decide to do to your own cam.
  • Keep in mind that you are trying out an Alpha Release Meanwhile we got to Beta stage. You will may encounter bugs but hopefully contribute back so that we will get it as stable as possible. But there might be risks and your device might brick or play the main role in the next Transformers movie or whatever....

Installation Instructions:
  • Download latest release for 70D.111A / 70D.111B (nothing to worry about: ML-SETUP.FIR won't attempt to continue if you chose the wrong zip -> try the other one in that case  :P)
  • Extract the zip-file to the root of your sdcard
  • Run the camera firmware update and read the screen instructions
  • Restart your camera. Press trash button to access the ML menu. Welcome!

Removing Magic Lantern / Uninstalling
  • Simply run the installer again and follow the onscreen instructions (Hint: watch the green colored text -> bottom screen line)
Source Code:
https://bitbucket.org/nikfreak/magic-lantern/commits/branch/70D-merge


Gotta Questions?
Do a forum search first.... Let's try to keep on topic. Don't spam my inbox  :P

Bug Reporting (fill in OK / Not OK {e.g. screen flickering or camera crashed while taking a shoot or ........}:
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html
Don't report bugs on the official issue tracker. We can only do so after being rest assured we got a stable release and the necessary source code changes are merged in officially.
Keep in mind: We need to list bugs in a readable and provable way.

  • Overlays
    -Zebras: ____
    -Focus Peak: ____
    - ....
  • Shoot
    -Intervalometer: ____
    -Bracketing: ____
    -.....
  • Included Modules
    - Raw_rec: ____
    - autoexpo: ____
    - ....
  • Other issues:
    _______________________________________
    ....

What's working:
  • You tell me. Don't forget to report like instructed above (fill in OK) Too much to list. See below for what's not working...
What's not working:
Check also Changelog history below for all details and disabled features...
  • ML menu disappears after some seconds in Liveview / Movie mode (known bug, appears on 6D, too)
  • Only fast zebras work (no raw zebras)
  • FPS override is completely disabled
  • Trap focus only works in photo mode (not Liveview). All other focus features are disabled (follow, rack, ...)
  • Dualiso only works in photo mode (Looks like we are stuck in movie mode atm like 50D / 7D)
  • Electronic level might freeze (read your Canon manual. By default Canon disables electronic level when FACETRACKING is enabled!!
  • Bitrate modifcations (H264) are completely disabled
  • Don't try to open Canon menu (read: Canon not ML) while raw recording. This will end up loosing your record!
  • Disable "Beep" (or set "Touch to...") in Canon menu if you are using MLV_SOUND. Not following this advice will lead to ERR70 crash while mlv recording.
  • ...there might be some other issues not listed here...
  • You list me all bugs you find like instructed above (fill in Not OK and try to describe the problem as best as you can)
Changelog (noteworthy ones only):
23rd Apr 16: Beta-3c
  • synched with main tree
  • Check source for details
8th Mar 16: Beta-3b
  • synched with main tree
  • Check source for details
22th Dec 15: Beta-3
  • synched with main tree (a1ex merged some PR's into unified)
  • Check source for details
26th Nov 15: Beta-2b
  • re-enabled arrow shortcuts as requested (use metering button as instructed in help menu). Note: arrow shortcuts are restricted to movie mode.
  • re-enabled rec indicators as requested (same method as seen on 5D3)
  • disable touch in ML menu overlay (probably caused some issue while using quick zoom -> got enough buttons so let's use them solely in ML menu)
  • some smallies...
15th Nov 15: Beta-2
  • Bleeding edge: refreshed, merged and compiled latest changes from unified source
  • movie restart for 70D.111B fixed (was working on A)
22th Aug 15: Beta-1
  • Re-enable HDR video and Gradual exposure (was disabled last release)
  • Disable fpsoverride (fallback to apex units)
  • Re-enable battery info (percentage...)
  • Check source code for all changes....
15th Aug 15: Alpha-7b "ICEMAN"
Build feels pretty solid to me. No requests for new features please. Only bug reports!
Download Alpha-7b "ICEMAN" (re-added as per request) but keep in mind I only want the thread discussions to focus on the latest release
  • Fix MLV Sound
  • Enable Audio meters
  • Enable Audio Remote Shots
  • Enable movie rec key button assignment
  • Enable movie cropmode selection from ML menu
  • Disable buggy focus features: Follow Focus, Focus Stacking, Rack Focus. [Trap focus is still there]
  • Disable non-working HDR Video and Gradual Exposure
  • Disable non-working Dual Iso support in movie mode
  • Disable Arrow shortcuts (wasn't happy with the solution implemented)
  • Check source code for all changes....
8th Aug 15: Alpha-7a2
  • FPS-Override: You can slightly increase FPS now (results differ in PAL/NTSC and you should check 24p /30p / zoom modes, too)
6th Aug 15: Alpha-7a
  • Re-enabled focus features (Hint: be sure to check especially this post)
  • Fixed zoom to af point
  • Disabled edmac raw slurp -> ByeBye reported hot pixels
  • take a look @source link on bitbucket for all details and also check "what's not working"
13th Jul 15: Alpha6b
  • Reminder: http://magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.msg148679#msg148679
  • Moving focus box in manual mode should work (plz test)
  • Please delete ML directory on your sdcard before using Alpha_6b. I want to be rest assured there are no leftovers from previous versions
  • removed non-working fps features to avoid confusions / unnecessary discussion. We are able to decrease fps value (read: not increase)
  • removed raw zebras (caused problems in liveview and quickeview
  • FIR installer: renamed
  • take a look @source link on bitbucket for all details
31st May 15: Alpha6
  • Removed all  focus and also fps features (see comments on butbucket for details)
  • EDMAC_RAW_SLURPING implemented. This cleaned up debug-messages a lot. We had some kind of a loop til now. Temperatures better now? What about reported hot pixels?? What about battery consumption??? No placebo reportings please. Either measured or none
  • Removed custom compiled cr2hdr version from this post
  • take a look @source link on bitbucket for all details
23rd Apr 15: Alpha5b
  • Updated download link for 70D_111B only (minor update with 2 stub-fixes and fw signature update)
21st Apr 15: Alpha5
  • Check above linked 70D-merge branch on bitbucket for all details...
  • Again a new firmware installer with more enhancements (checks for cam model like A / B
  • Finally both known firmware revisions are supported. Installer will tell you which version to use. Don't worry...
14th Mar 15: Alpha4b
  • New firmware installer. Allows for easy installing / uninstalling ML
  • Latest committs from ML repo cherry-picked. a1ex was on a run again  :P
10th Mar 15: Alpha4
  • Properties are enabled now. Understood and accepted this red marked warning from above? 5 private testers (including me) reported that nothing broke til now
  • Dual ISO included (reported as working for photos only by private testers). Download contains custom cr2hdr versions for windows (thx Audionut). You need to use those.
  • DotTune Autofocus Micro Adjustment included
  • MLV recording included
  • Experimental full-resolution silent pictures included
  • Fix for wrong temperatures being showed
  • Raw diagnostics module included. Got time to read and contribute?
11th Feb 15: Alpha3
  • fps-override now experimentally available (ugly but available at least. Be sure to use fps overrides only in 1080p 25fps PAL mode. Don't report other modes as buggy, I know that). "HighJello-FastTv" should be able to set whichever desired fps from 0.X to 25fps. All others like "exact fps, low light" won't go below 16.666. In rare cases it might happen that you need to disable and re-enable fps-override to get it working. You may also encounter that you might need to switch from MV / LV to photo mode and back to get it working...
  • Trap focus is working again (didn't work with Alpha2)
  • Lens should report correct focal length now
  • Buggy features have been disabled
  • Overall stability and smoothness
28th Jan 15: Alpha2
  • powersave and dot-tune related fixes (see source)
19th Jan 15: Alpha1
  • Intervalometer, Trap Focus, Motion Detect should work now. Rebased on fullres-silent-pics branch (see source)
15th Jan 15: Alpha0
  • Initial release
« Last Edit: April 24, 2016, 07:31:28 PM by nikfreak »
70D.111A & 100D.100B

Audionut

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3314
  • I have a 1Dx, I'm awesome.
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2015, 01:05:13 AM »
Lets keep this thread on topic please.  Magic Lantern for the 70D.

Anything related to raw video should go in this section.
Raw Video Postprocessing.
Hardware and Accessories for cards, card speeds, what card should I buy, what card is fastest, what card helps me lose weight, monitors for raw recording, dollys, you get the picture.

If it's not directly related to the 70D port, post it somewhere else.  nikfreak has done excellent work learning about ML and making the development progress to port ML to the 70D, he doesn't need to navigate through pages of offtopic banter to continue his efforts.

Thanks.

gsanchez922

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2015, 11:23:02 AM »
Hi guy Just to see if I understand. If my cam is not compatible, I'll get a black screen or blank whatever... in this  case i have to use Eoscard utility and my cam will work again normally  or will be compatible  with Alpha ML?

walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2015, 11:28:13 AM »
Format the card using a cardreader and wait for things to become compatible.
Quote
If you couldn't install the firmware (black screen / forced to pull out battery to get cam working....) it means you got an unqualified cam (see Intro section above) and you have to wait. Don't panic your device will get supported asap (No ETA. It's done when it's done...). Don't blame me for not being able to install ML onto your 70D.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 11:29:52 AM by walter_schulz »

nikfreak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 763
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2015, 01:37:33 PM »
Updated the first post....
70D.111A & 100D.100B

JonOfSparta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2015, 02:04:14 PM »
How can we "Try" it ?

Do you have a download link for the  (Alpha / Pre-Alpha) for the70D ?

Thank you

nikfreak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 763
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2015, 02:20:16 PM »
Either you are kidding me or you didn't read the first post.
70D.111A & 100D.100B

snakec

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2015, 02:24:25 PM »
Quote
Installation Instructions:

    Download Alpha0 release
Canon 70D with ML Alpha6B 111A - Canon 10-22 - Canon 50 1.8 - Tamron 17-50 2.8 - Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC USD

Torios

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2015, 02:35:57 PM »
I made everything in accuracy as you told. Occurred nothing. The camera simply rebooted and works in the usual mode. The inscription of "Enabled Bootdisk" didn't appear. What not so I do?
I need to wait for the new version of release?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 02:59:50 PM by Torios »

walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2015, 02:53:52 PM »
Read installation instructions once again and redo installation.
If this doesn't solve the problem
Quote
If you couldn't install the firmware because your camera doesn't show "Enabled bootdisk" it means you got an unqualified cam (see Intro section above) and you have to wait until your fimrware revision gets supported (No asking for ETA's). Stop here and don't follow the next steps. Don't spam the thread about your disappointment of not being able to install ML or asking when it will be possible. I am not interested in that, sorry. I am interested only in functionality tests / bug reports.
applies.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 02:56:18 PM by walter_schulz »

JohnnyG_71

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2015, 02:57:33 PM »
Hi nikfreak,

Mega kudos goes out to you and the ML team!!

Quick question:
You mentioned on January 7th that "You won't be able to remove the bootflag again."
Is that still the case with the Alpha build?

Cheers!
Canon 70D (70D.111B). Canon: EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM, EF 50mm f/1.8 STM. Sigma: 150-600mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM C, 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM, 30mm f/1.4 DC HSM A, 4.5mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM Circular Fisheye. Samyang 16mm f/2 ED AS UMC CS.

nikfreak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 763
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2015, 03:03:35 PM »
Johnny, the menu override in Canon menu while selecting the option to format card works. You can switch with "Q" button to format card and retain ML on camera which I tested and that's working. There's also the option to remove ML but I didn't test it. Should work but I cannot guarantuee that it works because I didn't try. I will test it myself later and give an answer on that. Till then I don't recommend you to use that option.
70D.111A & 100D.100B

JonOfSparta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2015, 03:04:36 PM »
The Notepad scared the crap out of me , I don't want to risk my camera but I do really need RAW for my 70D for my College work.
I hope you understand.

Anyway , when will this be "safe" to install to our camera or at-least works properly.

It says a lot of possible errors that it can damage the camera itself.


DolanAJ

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2015, 03:56:43 PM »
After several attempts I do not have a currently supported 70D but once support is added I will be testing! If you need any details from my camera to assist with building support let me know and will pull what I can.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 03:58:26 PM by DolanAJ »

snakec

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2015, 04:02:15 PM »
how to differentiate the two version 1.1.1
Canon 70D with ML Alpha6B 111A - Canon 10-22 - Canon 50 1.8 - Tamron 17-50 2.8 - Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC USD

walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2015, 04:37:35 PM »
One is working. Other one is not. Not yet.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 04:39:36 PM by walter_schulz »

DigitalVeil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • 70D, 700D
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2015, 04:38:59 PM »
Johnny, the menu override in Canon menu while selecting the option to format card works. You can switch with "Q" button to format card and retain ML on camera which I tested and that's working. There's also the option to remove ML but I didn't test it. Should work but I cannot guarantuee that it works because I didn't try. I will test it myself later and give an answer on that. Till then I don't recommend you to use that option.

Yes, removing ML this way does work.  It does leave an ML folder that only contains a config file but removes everything else, it no longer runs after doing this.

how to differentiate the two version 1.1.1

The only way to know for sure is to try the installation.  If you can enabled bootdisk, you have the new revision.  If not, the old one.  For those who have the old FW, I wonder if it's possible for one of us with the newer version to rip our FW and share it?
Glass: EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM, EF 50mm f/1.8, EF-S 55-250mm IS STM, EF-S 18-55mm IS STM

Canon-Ball

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2015, 04:44:45 PM »
Quote
Yes, removing ML this way does work. It does leave an ML folder that only contains a config file but removes everything else, it no longer runs after doing this.

The left over ML folder, where is its location? Camera file system or SD-Card?

To be more precise: Will anybody be able to see that ML had been installed?

JonOfSparta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2015, 04:44:52 PM »
I encountered

o Early stop (10)

Those recoreded videos cannot be found and ate more than 1gb of my Memory, when I installed magic lantern it  was more than 7gb of my 8gb SD Card

After those bugged recorded raw videos , I tried to find it on the Card via PC , the SD card is empty and cannot find those file that consumed about 1gb of my space

ShootMeAlready

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2015, 04:57:29 PM »
DV I sent a tech. request to Canon with concern that there was a 70D firmware release made about a year ago.
I wanted to know what bugs were fixed, and how I could download it.  I also pointed out that
having two firmware versions of ver 1.1.1, is poor software configuration management SCM practice.

I suggest you do the same, as the more that complain - hopefully they will provide an update.
My fear is that they did this covertly because they changed/upgraded h/w and didn't want to notify 1st gen. owners.

Actually Canon is ISO 9001 certified. It is a major violation of that standard to have improper SCM practice.
If their ISO auditors find out, possibly they will be forced to remedy it (however that's a longer process).
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 05:08:27 PM by ShootMeAlready »
T3i+ML & 70D+ML.111B, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8, 10-18 stm 4.5-5.6, 55-250 IS 4-5.6 "Shoot Long and Prosper"

DigitalVeil

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • 70D, 700D
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2015, 07:14:43 PM »
The left over ML folder, where is its location? Camera file system or SD-Card?

To be more precise: Will anybody be able to see that ML had been installed?

It's on the card.  When you plug the card into a computer, you'll see 3 folders: DCIM, MISC, and ML.

DV I sent a tech. request to Canon with concern that there was a 70D firmware release made about a year ago.
I wanted to know what bugs were fixed, and how I could download it.  I also pointed out that
having two firmware versions of ver 1.1.1, is poor software configuration management SCM practice.

I suggest you do the same, as the more that complain - hopefully they will provide an update.
My fear is that they did this covertly because they changed/upgraded h/w and didn't want to notify 1st gen. owners.

Actually Canon is ISO 9001 certified. It is a major violation of that standard to have improper SCM practice.
If their ISO auditors find out, possibly they will be forced to remedy it (however that's a longer process).

Yeah that does sound pretty shady.  And not really legal.  If there was a HW change then the camera needs to have a different model number.  And I would guess it was indeed a HW change, otherwise why wouldn't they publicly release a 1.1.2 FW?  So I guess that kind of eliminates the idea of sharing the "new" 1.1.1 with everyone because if there's been a HW change that probably wont work so well.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 07:17:28 PM by DigitalVeil »
Glass: EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM, EF 50mm f/1.8, EF-S 55-250mm IS STM, EF-S 18-55mm IS STM

Corto Maltese

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2015, 07:27:19 PM »
Hi, new to the all ML stuff. Really want to try it out, seems amazing.really well done.

I have a silly question, if i install ML , latter on, will i be able to switch back to the old firmware of canon, or how does it work? It only displays ML when i put in the sd card with it?

Tks in advance, and keep up the good work

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4852
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #22 on: January 15, 2015, 07:30:02 PM »
Corto, you may want to read Top of page -> User Guide -> FAQ.

@DigitalVeil + ShootMeAlready: Your suspicion only makes sense if Canon decided to never, never, never ever deliver a firmware update for 70D. Disagree?
EDIT: And if they found a way to prevent companies like Chipworks disassembling two cams down to semiconductor gate level.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 07:49:22 PM by Walter Schulz »

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2373
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #23 on: January 15, 2015, 07:34:06 PM »
@DigitalVeil & ShootMeAlready -- agreed it does seem shady of Canon to pull a stint to us early 70D owners...

However, I'll definitely try installing the alpha sometime this afternoon after work. If I don't get the blank black screen then I'll be happy to report bugs.

If in fact it does show black screen -- then I'll just have to wait for the next release.

Special thanks to @Nikfreak & KUDOS to @A1ex and the rest of the ML crew!
« Last Edit: January 17, 2015, 09:14:17 AM by DeafEyeJedi »
5D3.113 • EOS-M.202 • 7D.203 • 70D.111B • 100D.100A

albertoxie

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Takes a few minuets of a blank screen - Canon 70D
« Reply #24 on: January 15, 2015, 07:53:51 PM »
Guys, gold on getting this thing working, fair play to all involved. just to let you know it might be worth saying my camera went blank after firmware update....... first time it said there was a problem and the menu was a little screwed but a quick switch off fixes that up :) second time same thing blank screen but this time I waited & continued to read more of the forum & sure enough like MAGIC roughly about four - five minuets later BOOM!  up she came "boot disk enabled" & the smiley face. now to find eoscard for mac or install windows & get started card bootable.  anyone know off hand of an apple varient before I install windows? thanks and I hope this helps somebody.   ;D