MLV Lite - The sweet taste of MLV with none of the extra calories™

Lua scripting updated


Twitter: @autoexec_bin    Facebook: magiclantern.firmware    Live chat: [email protected]

Want to help with Magic Lantern development, but have no coding skills?

Author Topic: 5D M III - Firmware version...  (Read 19696 times)

I.C.

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
5D M III - Firmware version...
« on: January 03, 2015, 02:31:57 PM »
Hi all,

Few weeks ago I bought a 5D M III. Today I tried to install Magic Latern, but I failed. The firmware version of my camera is 1.3.3, and there was no ML installation file for this version. Then I visited Cannon's website to download firmware 1.2.3. I tried to install 1.2.3, but my camera said 'Firmware older than Ver. 1.3.0 is on memory card. Delete old file and update using later version.'. One thing I was surprised about is that there is no firmware 1.3.3 on Cannon's webpage. It is very strange that my camera is running 1.3.3 firmware.

I really need to install ML. Do you guys have any idea for me to install ML on 1.3.3 firmware, or to downgrade my firmware to 1.2.3?


walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2015, 02:47:24 PM »
Surprised to see Canon made an effort to disable downgrading. Not that surprised to see a newer version not present on Canon's official site. Happens all the time: New cams sometimes have a new firmware installed and it will take some time to find it's way to the support file servers.
And cams going to repair/maintenance will get firmware updates, too. If wanted or not.

Therefore it would be fine if you give EOS Utility a try. There is a firmware update option via USB and it might be able to bypass this barrier. Please report results.

EDIT (paranoia mode): And I hope Canon didn't "lock the doors" for ML ...
« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 02:49:39 PM by walter_schulz »

tron

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2015, 02:56:49 PM »
If they do not allow firmware downgrading it is practically the same as locking since the possibility of an updated ML is rather low.

walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2015, 03:11:29 PM »
Let's see what EOS Utility is doing.

And what mindset are you on to tell such rumours. What infos do you have leading to such BS?

tron

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2015, 03:56:26 PM »
I hope you were not referring to me saying BS as I have no intention to imply anything negative. I just feared that IF there is such a firmware we will wait for long until someone capable of ML programming ports it or by then a new 5D will exist and attention will shift to it.


walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2015, 04:04:15 PM »
You wrote "since the possibility of an updated ML is rather low" and I'm calling this BS!
« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 04:06:53 PM by walter_schulz »

tron

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2015, 04:13:55 PM »
Your response is BS! I tried to not be rude (although you are) but I cannot.

1. DO you have access to 1.3.3 firmware?

2. Is 5D3 ML updated lately?

3. I said rather low I did not say zero!
« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 04:35:16 PM by tron »

senzazn12

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 83
5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2015, 05:15:36 PM »
@Tron

It is just his personality. I thought he was rude before but he's just frank. But then again there are times where he can be a bit too much so I understand where you are coming from.

I remember I clarified to him one time that 72% NTSC color gamut covers 100% SRGB color gamut and he didn't respond back.
« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 06:16:08 PM by senzazn12 »

skrull

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2015, 09:16:16 PM »



HD Cam Team

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2015, 09:27:40 PM »
Hmmm... Canon disabling firmware downgrading doesn't look good in any way.

As far as I know it never happened before on 5D3, although I never tried to downgrade it either (I only know it did happen with 7D Mark 1)

We'll have to check carefully what they "improve" in this new firmware... And since the version is 1.3.3 and it even refers to "older than 1.3.0" when you try to downgrade it, it seems the engineering team has been working and testing many versions.

EDIT: Can someone with version 1.3.3 tell any difference in features with 1.2.3 on the Menus? Thanks!!
« Last Edit: January 03, 2015, 09:29:41 PM by HD Cam Team »
HD Cam Team
Web:
www.HDCamTeam.com | Twitter: @HDCamTeam | Facebook: HDCamTeam

anDyIII

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Casanova - Magic Lantern Italia
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2015, 01:10:48 AM »
I was wondering if there is a way to edit the 1.2.3 original firmware masking it as 1.3.0 or 1.3.3. I think it should be easy to do, maybe we only need to change the version tag inside the code and compile the .fir. But for this we need help from a1ex because encription keys are needed, but I expect that Canon changed the encription from 1.3.0 version to avoid this workaround.

A1ex are you there?  :)

silverface

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2015, 01:48:45 AM »
dosent look good unless canon has decided to put everything we love on this new firmware...hey canon!
or have they just upped the value of the older cams just as they run out of 5d mk3s just before they bring out 5d mk4 with no magic lantern to date...?
« Last Edit: January 04, 2015, 01:52:09 AM by silverface »

I.C.

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2015, 03:27:32 AM »
I am downgrading the firmware to 1.2.3 using EOS utility. It seems to be successful, since I don't meet any message that prevents me from downgrading at the beginning.

Thank you all, especially for walter_schulz!

dmilligan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2861
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2015, 03:33:30 AM »
I was wondering if there is a way to edit the 1.2.3 original firmware masking it as 1.3.0 or 1.3.3. I think it should be easy to do, maybe we only need to change the version tag inside the code
That won't work, it's not just a matter of the version number. ML's functionality depends on calling functions in the Canon firmware. The addresses of these functions are found by reverse engineering the firmware dumps and are hardcoded into the ML source. With different Canon firmware versions these function address may change, so they have to be found again or ML won't function at all.
Testers Needed ->MLV Lite

walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2015, 08:41:37 AM »
I am downgrading the firmware to 1.2.3 using EOS utility. It seems to be successful, since I don't meet any message that prevents me from downgrading at the beginning.

That's a relief! Thank you for letting us know!
Can you tell us which EOS Utility version you used?
My paranoia mode is afraid Canon might deliver versions blocking such attempts in times to come ...

anDyIII

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Casanova - Magic Lantern Italia
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #15 on: January 04, 2015, 12:39:13 PM »
Quote
That won't work, it's not just a matter of the version number. ML's functionality depends on calling functions in the Canon firmware. The addresses of these functions are found by reverse engineering the firmware dumps and are hardcoded into the ML source. With different Canon firmware versions these function address may change, so they have to be found again or ML won't function at all.
I don't mean to do this to run ML on another firmware, but just try this trick to downgrade to 1.2.3. By the way... if EOS utility makes the downgrade successful, we don't need this workaround.

For who that want to downgrade from 1.3.3, before use EOS utility, why don't try to rename the .fir file as 5D300133.fir instead of 5D300123.fir?

tron

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #16 on: January 04, 2015, 01:07:35 PM »
The real version may be included in the firmware and not in its name. And its internal integrity may be protected via a hash function (CRC, MD5, SHA)...

« Last Edit: January 04, 2015, 01:13:30 PM by tron »

baccinoluigi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • 5DMK3/ML113
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2015, 06:55:20 PM »



I tried to rename the firmware 123 with 133 and the checksum it is the same  maybe can work
« Last Edit: January 10, 2015, 07:01:41 PM by baccinoluigi »

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4651
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2015, 07:03:08 PM »

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2269
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2015, 08:17:54 PM »
5D3, EOS-M, 7D, 70D.111B & 100D.100A ¶ 6.5 3.5 (Opteka APS-C), 14 T3.1 (Rokinon), 16-35L II, 22 STM, 2.8 D (Nikkor), 24 Pancake, 40 Pancake, 50 1.4 AI (Nikkor), 50L, 55 3.5 (Micro-Nikkor), 105 2.5 PC (Nikkor), 24-105L, 200 4 AI (Nikkor), 75-300 4-5.6 ¶ DIY Slider ¶ Sticks & Heads

Audionut

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3267
  • I have a 1Dx, I'm awesome.
Re: 5D M III - Firmware version...
« Reply #20 on: January 11, 2015, 12:29:33 AM »
OP's problem solved.


 

courtesy