Author Topic: Canon 7D Mark II  (Read 155513 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9819
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #300 on: August 17, 2016, 04:19:46 PM »
Please find a test I'd like you to run on DIGIC 6 cameras: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=17714

@JagoUK: normally, we enable the boot flag after being able to run user code on top of main firmware. I could try to enable it on the master processor from the bootloader (we did that on the old 5D), but the bricking risk is pretty high, because I have no idea what to do about the slave processor.

If any of you have a 7D2 body you don't mind tossing out, I can give it a try. It may be best to try on a cheaper DIGIC 6 body first.

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #301 on: August 17, 2016, 11:49:22 PM »
Hi A1ex

Responded to your other post, as did atonal.

As for bootflag firmware.
I was under the impression the bootflag is a simple switch using a known command ENABLEBOOTFLAG and not sending random commands?
As long as there is not a bootable card in containing an Autoexec.bin the camera should boot properly no?

I appreciate running an Autoexec.bin with bad code could be a big problem though.

I am happy to give it a try if my interpretation is correct.

Would like to get on with being able to dump firmware as I have a photodiode connected via a raspberry pi but the recordings appear very noisy (Might be due to the pi)

Anyway let me know and i'll do what I can to help. I have already managed to compile your autoexec.bin so customising the code should be ok this end.

Cheers

ddelreal

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • 7D Mark II User
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #302 on: August 18, 2016, 12:15:46 AM »
Thanks @JagoUK for all your help. You, a1ex, atonal and others working on 7D2 are greatly appreciated!

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #303 on: August 20, 2016, 05:19:06 PM »
No need to thank me, i've not done anything.

Any luck with this bootflag Alex?
I see you have a dumper for 80d, any chance of one for 7D2? Would really like to get a look at the FW. Obviously bootflag is more important as I could craft my own dumper if bootflag was enabled.

Cheers

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9819
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #304 on: August 20, 2016, 07:31:17 PM »
I've compiled the 80D dumper for 7D2 (DMPD-7D2.FIR), but given the previous tests on this camera, I don't have high hopes. But you are welcome to give it a try.

If it works, that would make the bootflag enabling process a lot easier.

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #305 on: August 20, 2016, 07:55:26 PM »
Thanks for trying. Afraid it does not work. Camera locked up and wouldn't respond to power button or card flap. Had to take battery out.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2vc6s05oi7tp0iz/7d2.png

There was an image embedded, but for some reason this forum does not like dropbox links in its own IMG tags? Untagged it now.

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #306 on: August 22, 2016, 11:31:51 AM »
I tried to use the blinker last night to get the firmware out
I seem to be having the same issue as Fraggy where every byte seems the same.



Quote
So i tested LCD Firmware... And it worked...
So next step is testing the extractor...
Got no sync...
Looks like every blink contains the same bit...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2f91dqj1xd43t5b/7d2%20dump.png

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9819
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #307 on: August 22, 2016, 02:46:25 PM »
The blinker linked above is just a simple LED test.

I've compiled a dumper for 7D2 bootloader, using the CHDK soundcard method, here: BDMP-7D2.FIR. The decoder is under contrib/led_blink_dumper in the digic6-dumper branch.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #308 on: August 22, 2016, 04:18:38 PM »
Finally got the 7D2 in my hands from a co-worker. Downloaded and installed BDMP-7D2.FIR. Ran firmware update and now I get a constant led blink (no flashing) just stays on. I plan on taking the battery out. Am I expecting anything to be written on the card?

Also let me know if you still need me to run CPUI-7D2.FIR from CHDK cpuinfo thread?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5436
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #309 on: August 22, 2016, 04:21:32 PM »
I've compiled a dumper for 7D2 bootloader, using the CHDK soundcard method

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #310 on: August 22, 2016, 04:27:54 PM »
Definitely needed coffee. Thanks for the reminder, Walter and now I gotta ask the guys around here at work to see if they have a soundcard device for me to use.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5436
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #311 on: August 22, 2016, 05:16:17 PM »
Your PC has no mic input jack?

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2899
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #312 on: August 22, 2016, 05:30:09 PM »
My MBP does have an input jack ... if I were to find a 3.5mm jack and plug one end into the 7DII whilst the other end into the MBP -- which software can I use to read the LED blinker (if any)?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #313 on: August 22, 2016, 09:42:17 PM »
The blinker linked above is just a simple LED test.

I've compiled a dumper for 7D2 bootloader, using the CHDK soundcard method, here: BDMP-7D2.FIR. The decoder is under contrib/led_blink_dumper in the digic6-dumper branch.

Hi Alex.

Thanks for that, unfortunately I have had to order a new diode so will have to wait till tomorrow.

One thing I have noticed is that the flashing appears to stop after 5mins. Isn't this too quick for a 30MB dump?

Shame the dump to card does not work.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9819
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #314 on: August 22, 2016, 10:26:31 PM »
Bootloader is 640K, so I guess it should be fine. This is the dumper that worked on 80D, but there we had to dump the entire thing. On 7D2, I need the two bootloaders, but I only know how to dump one of them.

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #315 on: August 22, 2016, 10:34:47 PM »
Ah ok, BDMP-7D2.FIR is to dump the 1st Bootloader only (should have read closer!).

Wouldn't a dump of all the whole ROM capture both bootloaders?

ddelreal

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • 7D Mark II User
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #316 on: August 22, 2016, 10:48:57 PM »
You need a diode for the sound card method?

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #317 on: August 22, 2016, 11:03:25 PM »
You need a diode for the sound card method?

Yes, you capture the Blinks of the LED from the Card Port.

http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Obtaining_a_firmware_dump#Using_soundcard_input

I had it working with a Raspberry Pi on the GPIO port pin 18 too but this seems easier. I just cut off a 3.5mm jack off a set of old Apple headphone (4pole to match my laptop dual mic/headphone port.)

I was using an IRled that I shaved the IR coating off but it ended upbreaking after too much abuse so I just ordered a set of 20 photodiodes for £2

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #318 on: August 23, 2016, 07:34:05 PM »
Bootloader is 640K, so I guess it should be fine. This is the dumper that worked on 80D, but there we had to dump the entire thing. On 7D2, I need the two bootloaders, but I only know how to dump one of them.

Hi Alex.

New photodiodes arrived.
Almost there, having some sync errors in the decoding, but interesting stuff coming out.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qsopaubye3c5fd5/bootflag.png
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ky82acqbnnidkko/master-slaveRAM-ROM.png
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gworqqeu2zrbrem/SD-CF-SLAVE.png


JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #319 on: August 23, 2016, 08:35:48 PM »
Think I may have found the problem! AGC on my mic port. Now to find out if I can turn it off!

ddelreal

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • 7D Mark II User
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #320 on: August 23, 2016, 09:29:23 PM »
Yes, while in movie mode, you can go to the audio menu and switch to Manual.

Pelican

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #321 on: August 24, 2016, 12:44:49 AM »
Think I may have found the problem! AGC on my mic port. Now to find out if I can turn it off!
http://superuser.com/questions/362343/how-do-i-disable-microphone-volume-auto-adjusting
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS 7D, EOS 5, EOS 100 + lenses (10mm to 300mm), 600EX, 550EX, YN600EX x 3
EOScard, EOS DSLR firmwares, ARMu, NiControl, etc.: http://pel.hu/down

JagoUK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #322 on: August 24, 2016, 01:21:56 AM »
Yes, while in movie mode, you can go to the audio menu and switch to Manual.

I was referring to the Mic input on Laptop.

http://superuser.com/questions/362343/how-do-i-disable-microphone-volume-auto-adjusting
Problem is it does it in Windows and Linux.

I have managed to get a 217K dump so far

ddelreal

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • 7D Mark II User
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #323 on: August 24, 2016, 01:48:35 AM »
Quote from: JagoUK
I was referring to the Mic input on Laptop.

Ah, sorry.

Pelican

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
Re: Canon 7D Mark II
« Reply #324 on: August 24, 2016, 02:37:58 PM »
I have managed to get a 217K dump so far
Haven't you used the dumper which dumps the 0xffff000-ffffffff area? That is only 64 kB.
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS 7D, EOS 5, EOS 100 + lenses (10mm to 300mm), 600EX, 550EX, YN600EX x 3
EOScard, EOS DSLR firmwares, ARMu, NiControl, etc.: http://pel.hu/down